We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay in Boone”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites University
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Boone
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 11, 2014

We stayed here for 3 night in July, and the staff was very frindly and helpful. Our rooms where clean and nice. The pool was nice and clean a little small but was a great place cool down and relax. It is close to downtown Boone where there is lots of places to eat. It is also close to the Blue Ridge Parkway as well as Tweetsie Railroad, Blowing Rock, Grandfather Mountian,and much more... We will stay here the next we our in Boone.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank morris o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha T, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites University, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your recent review on our hotel. We appreciate your kind words and are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Our entire team works very hard to ensure that each and every one of our guests have an enjoyable stay and feel at home while here. Again thank you and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Natasha Taylor
General Manager
Best Western Blue Ridge Plaza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (473)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 473 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2014

My husband and I drove to the Boone area for a weekend getaway. We are usually Hampton Inn customers, but we decided to try this Best Western and we were very surprised. Great room, clean and well styled. The breakfast buffet was OK, offering several options including waffles and pancakes. Having a couple of different coffee choices was nice. My only negative was the indoor pool, which we were planning to use, but there was an odd haze on the water when we arrived. Later we walked by and the pool and nearby area "reeked" of chlorine so bad that I started coughing. We saw a young girl get out and her eyes were blood red from the chemicals! Needless to say we did not use the pool.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cmpmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha T, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites University, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for leaving a review here on Tripadvisor for our hotel. We all are thrilled to hear that you you enjoyed your stay. However, I do apologize for the inconvenience you had regarding our pool. Thank you for bringing this to my attention and I can assure you that this has been taken care of. Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit to the High Country!

Natasha Taylor
General Manager
Best Western Blue Ridge Plaza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Very nice hotel. Clean up to date. The entrance is easy to miss as you go by but other than that no issues with this hotel. Breakfast was decent also. The staff was helpful as well. I have nothing else to add.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bamarider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha T, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites University, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review on our hotel here on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your kind words and are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. We value our guests feedback and always love to hear from each and every one. Again thank you and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Natasha Taylor
General Manager
Best Western Blue Ridge Plaza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

This is a one of the best chain Hotels we have stayed in. From the front entrance to the rooms it was very clean and tidy. The room was large, very well appointed and spotless. The young lady on the front desk was very helpful and polite. We stayed here on two separate occasions as we travelled down and up the Blue Ridge Parkway and it was a delight to stay here both times. We did not realise that we had been upgraded on the first visit so on our second my wife asked for the same room which obviously we could not have unless we paid for the upgrade, this we did simply because the rates are so good and the room almost anywhere else would have been at least half as much again. So all the plusses, a decent breakfast very helpful staff throughout the Hotel, very clean and spacious rooms and great value for money. The one negative from our point of view is that it can be hard to find, one or two more signs would be useful.

Room Tip: Any room will do it is in a very quiet area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank phil52_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha T, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites University, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review about our hotel here on Tripadvisor. We are all thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to exceed your expectations both time that you stayed with us. We all work very hard to keep our hotel clean and to make sure that each and every one of our guests feel at home while with us. Again thank you and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Natasha Taylor
General Manager
Best Western Blue Ridge Plaza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014

My motorcycle overnighter to Boone included a stay at the Best Western. Not only was the experience top notch, I was also allowed to park my bike under the roof at the front door... Safe and out of the weather...

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Virginia009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha T, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites University, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review for our hotel here on Tripadvisor. All the staff here at the Best Western Blue Ridge Plaza work very hard to ensure that each and every one of our guests have a memorable and pleasant experience while here. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to keep your motorcycle near our front entrance out of the rain. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Natasha Taylor
General Manager
Best Western Blue Ridge Plaza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

This ranks as one of the top Best Western hotels we have stayed in over the years. We actually thought this was a new hotel until we learned at check-out that it is several years old. There were 4 of us (2 couples) who checked in 2 rooms on a trip up the Blue Ridge Parkway. All of the staff were more than friendly and polite. They showed true Southern hospitality. The rooms were immaculate and the beds and pillows were top quality. The breakfast area was clean and the staff kept it well stocked. It even had one of the new pancake printers that we had seen advertised on TV recently! This was a great stay, great value and we certainly will stay here again if we are ever back in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeachGrandmax4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha T, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites University, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review on our hotel here on Tripadvisor. We are all so excited to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to exceed your expectations. Our entire team works very hard to make sure everything is in top shape for each of our guests and that we always make them feel at home while staying with us. I will make sure to pass this along to my team to let them know that their efforts are being appreciated. Again thank you and we look forward to your next visit to the Boone area.

Natasha Taylor
General Manager
Best Western Blue Ridge Plaza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Very nice hotel. Advertised free Internet but the connection was non existent. Breakfast selection was ok. Other than that hotel very clean, quiet and nicely priced. Call hotel for pricing before you book through other sites. I found the price would have been 15.00 cheaper a night if I book directly with them. I went through Hotels.Com. Great lesson.

Room Tip: Internet has very poor connection. Not sure room location would matter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tferre62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha T, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites University, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give a review on our hotel here on Tripadvisor. We all are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us. I am sorry to hear that you had a problem with the wifi during your time here. We have had several techs out to look at our wifi and they can't seem to find the issue. We are definately on top of this issue and should have it corrected soon. Also, please do always call us directly when booking a reservation because we can almost always beat the third party websites pricing or at least match the rate. Again thank you and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Natasha Taylor
General Manager
Best Western Blue Ridge Plaza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boone hotels
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn Boone
Sleep Inn Boone
#3 of 18 in Boone
352 reviews
0.4 mi away
LaQuinta Inn & Suites Boone
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Boone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 18 in Boone
416 reviews
2 mi away
Super 8 Boone NC
Super 8 Boone NC
#10 of 18 in Boone
1,009 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites University

Address: 840 E King St, Boone, NC 28607-4233 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Blue Ridge Plaza)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Boone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Boone
#3 Business Hotel in Boone
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boone
#6 Family Hotel in Boone
Price Range: $61 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Blue Ridge Plaza Hotel Boone
Best Western Hotel Boone
Best Western Boone
Boone Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing