We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay for a College Road Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites University
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Boone
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed for an overnight visit to Appalachian State and was happy I made a wise choice! The accommodations were nice; comfortable bed and the room was spacious. The breakfast bar was great and the room price was excellent! My only challenge was the the spotty internet service. I had to continuously logon, but would not hold this against the hotel per se.
Look forward to staying again when visiting my daughter at App State!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Indigo55Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya N, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn & Suites University, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We always look forward to hearing what our guests have to say about their stay here with us. We are so happy that you enjoyed your time here and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Natasha Taylor
Front Desk Manager
Best Western Plus Blue Ridge Plaza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (468)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

337 - 343 of 468 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2013

18 people; 8 adults and 10 kids. What do kids want to do when staying at a hotel? You got it, head to the pool. Well, the pool's heater is out and in Boone, at this time of the year, it gets cold at night. The solution; walk a short distance outside to the hotel next door and use their pool and hot-tub. That's fine until it's time to leave the pool and head back to your room. Chilly!!
This is the third time we have experienced problems with the pool (no hot-tub here).

Other than that, the staff is very nice and helpful. The breakfast was good with waffles, yogurt, and sausage egg and cheese sandwiches, cereal and a few other items. Very little in the way of fresh fruit.

The room was clean and the bed comfortable. The shower was very nice but they need to do something about the bathroom door as it is very large and swings inward and is always in the way.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheCosmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya N, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn & Suites University, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so sorry that you encountered problems with our pool during your stay here with us. It is now back in working order and I hope that you will consider coming back to see us.

Thanks again,
Natasha Taylor
Front Desk Manager
Best Western Plus Blue Ridge Plaza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Given that it's a Best Western, I went in with a mantra something similar to "this isn't hilton, this isn't hilton". It worked! The hotel was comfortable, clean, close to town, had free internet (which nicer hotels now love to charge for), a pool, relatively updated bathrooms (not SUPER updated, but I didn't cringe), and to top it off--super friendly staff. Well worth it!

Room Tip: I had a room that faced the back of the hotel (it was much more quiet)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya N, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn & Suites University, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel and we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay here with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Natasha Taylor
Front Desk Manager
Best Western Plus Blue Ridge Plaza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank alaskanjackal
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sonya N, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn & Suites University, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed at the Best Western in Boone, NC in March 2013 during the ASA conference at Appalachian State University. The hotel and rooms were clean and the staff polite and helpful. We had no problems during our stay and found the beds to be comfortable. The hotel is convenient to the university and downtown but you will need to drive to get to both locations. I enjoyed the free breakfast provided and found the selection good. I love to make waffles from scratch and you can do that here!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Srothu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya N, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn & Suites University, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for giving us a wonderful review on tripadvisor. We appreciate your kind words and are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you again and be sure to come visit us again the next time you are in the Boone area.

Thank you,
Natasha Taylor
Front Desk Manager
Best Western Plus Blue Ridge Plaza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed here for one night while enjoying a couple of days at Tweetsie Railroad in Blowing Rock. The beds were comfortable. The room was very clean. We really enjoyed the pool. The lady at the front desk was very nice. My only con was there wasn't much of a selection at breakfast. Everything else was great and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaylaandfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya N, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn & Suites University, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. We are all so happy that you enjoyed your stay here with us at the Best Western Plus Blue Ridge Plaza. I do apologize that we didnt have a better selection at breakfast that met your needs but we are currently working on trying to get different items so that all of our guests will be satisfied. Again Thank you and we look forward to seeing again soon.

Natasha Taylor
Front Desk Manager
Best Western Plus Blue Ridge Plaza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

My husband & I needed a room for one night that was close to Sugar Mountain Snow Ski Resort. We paid $60 for a nice, clean, comfortable room only 15 minutes from Sugar Mountain. We had an early check in & received two coupons for French Swiss Ski Rental near the mountain. We were fitted for ski gear for $13 each for the day (instead of $16)... and dropped the gear off in a locked shed after hours. The folks there were very nice. Also, Sugar Mountain was a blast! Why pay more when you can stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS... The staff at BEST WESTERN PLUS were very friendly! Breakfast was yummy too!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarenLynn7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya N, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites University, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us here at the Best Western Plus Blue Ridge Plaza. Thank you so much for your wonderful review and we hope to see you again soon.

Sonya Newberry
General Manager
Best Western Plus Blue Ridge Plaza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boone hotels
0.4 mi away
LaQuinta Inn & Suites Boone
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn Boone
Sleep Inn Boone
#5 of 18 in Boone
341 reviews
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Boone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boone
1.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 18 in Boone
410 reviews
2.0 mi away
Super 8 Boone NC
Super 8 Boone NC
#12 of 18 in Boone
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites University

Address: 840 E King St, Boone, NC 28607 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Blue Ridge Plaza)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Boone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Boone
#3 Business Hotel in Boone
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boone
#6 Family Hotel in Boone
Price Range: $62 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Blue Ridge Plaza Hotel Boone
Best Western Hotel Boone
Best Western Boone
Boone Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing