We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a blast! Fun and educational!”

Foggy Mountain Gem Mine
Ranked #1 of 44 things to do in Boone
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Had a blast! Fun and educational!”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We capped off a winter ski visit to NC with a trip here in February 2013. The flume is indoors, and we had a great time sifting through the rock buckets. Afterwards a staff member goes through your findings and explains what type of mineral, crystal or gem was found and gives you approximate values. We bought a $30 bucket and found sapphires, rubies and emeralds. They were not necessarily high quality but gems nonetheless! Where they do get you is that to actually get the gems polished or made into jewelry is very expensive...about $100-$200.

That said it was a highlight of my 6 year old daughter's trip to North Carolina. We would go again!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Orlandolawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foggymountaingems, Manager at Foggy Mountain Gem Mine, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Cutting prices start at $15 per stone up to $65 per stone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    91
    14
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun and educational!”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We had a great time sifting through the water to find our little treasures! The showroom was full of gems and unique minerals that were reasonably priced! The employees were very friendly and knowledgeable about each of the minerals we found. We plan on visiting again on Friday before we head back to Florida!

Helpful?
Thank HarpSocial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Second time.”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

My son loves findings gems. Wish you did'nt have to pay for huge buckets to find the huge gems. If you buy the 17 dollar bucket, you mostly get very tiny gems.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PaigeRw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
158 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Neat place...worth the trip for something differ”
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

We took our two boys, 7and 9 years old and they had fun. They enjoyed finding stones and picking out the good ones. The cutting and settings will get you for some more cash if you are not careful...but overall, It was an educational and enjoyable time. We will be back.

Helpful?
1 Thank Elmcityboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fun time, helpful staff”
Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

We had a great time. This was something new and interesting. We found quite a few gems and the staff explained what each piece was. They even have the option to have your gems polished and set in jewelry.

Helpful?
1 Thank jeanmarie1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Foggy Mountain Gem Mine also viewed

Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Foggy Mountain Gem Mine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing