We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to camp!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Honey Bear Campground
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Camped here multiple times over last 5 years...Close to Boone, Blowing Rock area and ASU..Nice quiet location with beautiful scenery, creeks, ponds and hiking trails on site..Large bathhouse has been updated and is always clean and well stocked..Last couple times camping here with new owners, we have seen lots of improvements...Clean and newly graveled sites, new playground equipment, Brand new coffee shop with specialty coffee, Weekend entertainment such as concerts, outdoor family friendly movies, cookouts, etc,.
Friendly and very helpful staff seem to go out of their way to help...Saw one young employee help move an elderly couple into the site next to us...they couldn't stop saying how impressed they were with him and the office staff who helped them...
overall great experience..we will definitely be back again and again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 460lindad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 96 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2013

This campsite is clean, the staff is helpful and polite, and the extra activities that they had over the weekend were family friendly. They bring your wood and ice to your site, and they pick up your trash in the later morning if you leave it by the road. The WiFi actually picked up from our site (C16) even though it was a little weak. The campsite is really close to shops and restaurants, but still far enough to be quiet.

There were only three minor issues that we came across. (1) The bathrooms (both the mens and women's) ran out of paper towels and toilet paper, (2) the two trails were not kept up and/or marked, and (3) coffee at the coffee bar was weak :)

I would recommend that tent campers bring an additional mat or floor covering for the tent to cushion the gravel, bring some paper products with you in case the bathrooms run out, and bring some kind of trash receptacle to keep the critters out if you keep trash at your site overnight.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 71PuraVida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Wow!! I can not believe the changes made since I was here last summer! I found out the grounds changed ownership they added a coffee bar added new games to the game room and its cleaner. I have a child and they have organized activities.
I'm so excited to book another visit!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Haup88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Staff is very unhelpful and not pleasant. Tent sites are too close together and right next to a raid which takes away from it all. Only thing nice was the stream by the camp. "Arcade" room is lacking to say the least. Drunks all over being loud. The playground was run down. They did have nice bath houses I will give them that. Just didn't feel welcome here and there's not much to do within the campground. Not impressed. Save your money and go elsewhere!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Katieamanda9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at honey bear camp ground with my 6 year old, our camp side was great and the renovated restroom made the trip even better. It a good location and very reasonable. This is a private campground, on raining days you can us the community hall to watch TV or have a complementary coffee. Camping sites are up against the hill, single sites are a bit smaller than the standard national park camping site.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

In October 2012 we stayed at site A-19 towards the front of the campground. It is situated near the 'family room' and close to all the action. A-19 is a flat pull through site with full hookup and sewage. The site was perfect for our large Fleetwood pop-up that needs a black water hookup.

We found Honey Bear a fantastic playground for our kids (7 and 9). They could have spent all weekend on the double swings at the entrance. We were there for Honey Bear's fall festival and had an absolute blast!

Room Tip: A and C loops are perfect. C has a number of sites on one of the creeks going through the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

This October would have been our 3rd year at Honey Bear. We made our reservations last Oct. for site A2 where we had previously camped. When I called to confirm this week, I found we had been moved to another site because a Work Camper was in that site and the campground was under new ownership. I asked if we could switch with the work camper and was told no! We cancelled our month reservations and will not go back. It should have been obvious to the owner if someone makes a reservation a year in advance each year, they want a certain site. I hope they learn some customer service. You make money from a customer! A work camper is costing you money.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boone
21.3 mi away
Linville Falls Campground RV Park & Cabins
2.8 mi away
LaQuinta Inn & Suites Boone
2.7 mi away
Sleep Inn Boone
Sleep Inn Boone
#5 of 18 in Boone
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites University
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Boone
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 18 in Boone
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honey Bear Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honey Bear Campground

Address: 229 Honey Bear Campground Rd, Boone, NC 28607-8390
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Boone
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Boone
Number of rooms: 84

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing