We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous little Campground!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Honey Bear Campground
NC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Fabulous little Campground!”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Let me start by saying I am not a camper - its not my thing; however, my husband was
running the Grandfather Mountain Marathon and we decided to to just camp here. It was
awesome - It's so close to Boone & ASU, you can tell the grounds have been lovingly cared
for - it really shows with all the beautiful flowers & herbs, the bath house was incredibly clean
and stocked well, it was quite and the staff were incredibly friendly & go out of their way to
make your stay enjoyable. If I HAVE to camp again, I certainly would go back here!! Thank you Honey Bear!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MUR5RUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    23
    10
    6
    12
See reviews for
48
22
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
La Porte, Texas
Level Contributor
145 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We spent 3 nights here during a major heat wave! The park was having power issues due to the heat when we arrived and they let us know...we only had one outage that night and that was it.

I found the office staff friendly and helpful. They delivered firewood and ice to our site within a half hour of our arrival!

I agree with other reviewers...some sites are more desirable than others. We got lucky and had a nice site. There were some sites that you would not have even been able to park a small popup in and some sites right on top of each other.

We had some rain while we were there so the little creek actually had some water in it and the kids enjoyed wading around in it.

The highlight of the park for the kids were the tree swings at the front of the park. They had sooooo much fun!!!!

Room Tip: There is not a swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Revkev93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2012

I agree with my husband's review but wanted to add my two cents plus I have pictures to share. We arrived on a Sunday afternoon and the campground was not crowded at all. The owner said they had had 27 people check out that afternoon. We enjoyed our one night visit at a very nice site right by the creek. Enjoyed sitting by our little campfire and watching the water run over the rock. Wish we would have had more time to spend there. The owner was a very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: C5 was a very nice campsite with the up close view of the creek.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmblackw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Be careful if you look online and think that your campsite will be private. NO! You will be on top of everyone else. We had dog poop on our site so it must not have been picked up. The staff had no idea about purchasing firewood, ordering food for delivery, or anything else we asked them. The "fishing stream" is a trickle of water that has no fish in it. The other guests said the fishing pond had no fish either. We were told when making reservations that we couldn't put two tents on a site and had to buy two sites. A lot of other campers were putting two tents on their site. The shower/bathrooms were very clean though. We were mislead. Never again we will camp here! KOA is so much better!Campers beware!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ihearttraveling18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed one night in a very nice spot along the creek. Helpful, down-to-earth staff. Sites range from not-so-great to great, but mostly good with good hook-ups and mostly level. Game room with internet terminal and wireless access, flat panel TV, and games. Activity room for group movie viewing (Saturday nights, I think) with ping-pong and a selection of books from the cheesy to the sublime (Alistair Cooke's "America"!). Large rest room facility was very clean and bright. We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davisek524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at Honey Bear Campground and LOVED the place!! Great family atmosphere.

The campground is located right on the edge of Boone city limits, far enough from the college atmosphere but close enough if you would like to visit the cute shops and dinning in downtown Boone.

The reason we picked Honey Bear were based off previous reviews of the bath house. We were going to a wedding in Valle Cruise but wanted to visit the Mountains on a budget, so we found Honey Bear Campground. The bath house did stand up to the awesome reviews: large, always clean and plenty of hot water. The toilets even had their own rooms!

On site there is a cute pond to fish (catch and release), a running stream you could hear anywhere on the campground (very relaxing to sleep to), however we were a little surprised at the camp site size. Our site C-10 was cozy, but cute. Fit perfectly for the two of us and our tent, but it would not do well for a family. There are plenty of other sites that are plenty large. I would suggest going to the B area. Primitive sites along the creek were very pretty! All sites were not too far from the bath house.

Complementary coffee in the mornings, internet access, and plenty of information of what to do in the area. We visited Grandfather Mountain, which is only a short 20-30 min drive from the campground.

We would go back again and again!! One thing we would bring with us is a grill, we tried to grill steaks over the fire, but the fire pits are lacking grate covers.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dreamtravelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed June 14, 2012

this was our first visit and it will be on our must visits every year. The site was extremely well thought out. The restroom and shower facilities first class. The staff couldn't be more friendly if they were trained by disney. Plenty or area for pets. I marvelled at the variety of stuff in the camp store. The overall cleanliness of the grounds, facilities, and camp sites make this camp a sure winner . We hope the crotens are doing well. Friendly staff and friendly campers.

Room Tip: loook at site before selecting one, if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boone hotels
2.7 mi away
Sleep Inn Boone
Sleep Inn Boone
#4 of 18 in Boone
323 reviews
1.1 mi away
Super 8 Boone NC
Super 8 Boone NC
#12 of 18 in Boone
866 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Boone
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#5 of 18 in Boone
380 reviews
3.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Boone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honey Bear Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honey Bear Campground

Property: Honey Bear Campground
Address: 229 Honey Bear Campground Rd, Boone, NC 28607-8390
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Boone
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Boone
Number of rooms: 84

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing