We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Trip!!”

High Mountain Expeditions
Ranked #1 of 25 Outdoor Activities in Boone
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to High Mountain Expeditions. We are located in the heart of the Blue Ridge Mountains, with two locations to serve you in Boone and Banner Elk, North Carolina. High Mountain Expeditions offers outdoor activities, such as whitewater rafting, caving, and hiking for every member of your group or family.The team at High Mountain Expeditions invites you to join us in the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains on one of our many outdoor adventures.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Trip!!”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

My wife and I went on the all day on the nolichucky today for our 5th anniversary. We had an awesome day. Mike, Alex and the entire staff was very knowledgeable of the river and everyones safety. As a firefighter and trained in swiftwater it jumped out to me that they were very knowledgeable of the river and knew how to create a fun and safe rafting trip. As for the comment on here about lunch, I came to raft not eat a gourmet meal but thought it was just fine. Also the few hundred yard walk through a very nice trail in the woods was great because it gave a chance to stretch your legs and take a quick break. If your to lazy for that short walk, I recommend just going to the local buffet and back home. Thanks guys for a great anniversary trip. We will certainly be back!!

Helpful?
1 Thank slooppointff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    35
    7
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Fun Day on the River”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

If you can get beyond the constant and sometimes inane chatter from the guides, you will have a great time. As an experienced white water rafter, I was somewhat challenged during the trip. This was an all day trip and was well worth the time it took to drive to the river (1hr). There was ample time to jump off the raft and float down the Nolichucky River.

It was a fun day. I recommend High Mountain Expeditions.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Evan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Great trip”
Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

We arrived at the put in for the gorge and the Nolichucky river level was 5ft and climbing,our guide Mike decided it was not save to run and planned to run the lower section instead.At first I thought this was not going to be nearly as much fun,having run the lower in a Kayak.What a surprise! It was a blast!we had a great time the waves were huge.
We found out later that one of the other rafting companies decided to go despite the high levels and all 3 rafts turned over
everyone went for a swim, all but 3 paddles were lost and the hapless paddlers had to hike out of the gorge.
Thanks Mike and High Mountain Expeditions for using good judgement and putting safety first.

Helpful?
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banner Elk, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Poor experience. Avoid High Mountain Expeditions.”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

With so many other white water rafting companies/guides out there, do yourself a huge favor and pass on HME. Our guide stuck so bad, like he had been on a 10-day drinking/puking binge and never showered. I threw up my breakfast when he raised his arms--then we were stuck smelling him all day long. Good grief. The itinerary is a joke. There are no lessons or briefing period. There is no "fitting of equipment". The trips are completely over booked and the rafts are over-filled with too many people and coolers for the gourmet lunch that is also a joke.

There is no mention as to what happens when the rafts are over loaded or if river is too low because it all boils down to the almighty buck to be made. There are great guides in the group, unfortunately we were not blessed with one of them. Mike, Bill, and small Ben were excellent. They really seem to know that they are doing and wanted to make the day enjoyable for their groups. The guy we had is probably dyslexic or just moronic because he kept yelling left when he obviously meant right and vice versa. He continuously got us grounded and stuck on rocks. We spent the day waiting on others or working to free our raft from the rocks he directed on top off. He has no idea how to find or follow his guide.

We also were never told that we had to hike through the woods for nearly 1/3 mile while the guide lead the raft up river. Three people fell "hard" on the rooted path, and one person in the group sustained serious injury but the guide made absolutely NO effort to find out if they needed first aid, even when he was told that they thought it was a serious sprain. Not even a band aid was offered for the blood draining down their leg, or ice pack for the swelling/pain. Also, two members of our group had asthma, but our guide kept their Rescue Inhaler from them while they hiked the trail in clear distress.

If you do not buy the photos after the trip or tip your guide that did not EARN a penny, you will not have the opportunity to buy the photos online later. They will NEVER be posted. The trip is not cheap, especially for a family. Gratuities are "bonuses" paid for going above and beyond what is expected of you. You do not get tips "JUST BECAUSE". We gladly would have paid each guide on the trip a bonus to purposely let our guide know that he SUCKED!!

There is no gourmet lunch that they promote. It is nothing more than loaves of bread, prepackaged lunch meat (turkey or ham), processed cheese, potato salad and a cookie with water or packages of individual lemonade packets. The lunch spot was swarming with yellow jackets and half a dozen members in the group was allergic. In fact, several members carried epipens, which was good because several people were stung.

The trip was not entirely bad----there were a couple of Class III areas (not really IVs) that were fun and exciting. The guide leader made sure that everyone in all rafts had opportunity for photos when going through them, but keep in mind, if you don't tip you don't get the photos at the end of the trip.

Our guide was asked outright how many times he had made the river trip, he said, "A few hundred at least." So funny because he certainly couldn't not remember any of the historical stories or the flow of the river to know where to be on the lookout for paddling and steering the raft clear of the huge rocks. Honesty and experience go a long way....so does a shower with soap and water (Ben).

Buyer beware.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank R E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keysville, va
2 reviews
“Great Rafting Experience”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Had a great time!! Staff was very accomadating, loved our guid Bill. Made the trip very fun and exciting. He was always aware of our safety, my sister and I both fell out the raft at same time, he had us back in the boat before we knew it. That was the most fun part of trip. You have'nt experienced rafting untill you fall out the boat!!! Great story to tell friends, never was I ever scared, just had a blast!!! Bill told stories and made jokes the whole way through. Be sure to tip your guides at the end, and make reservations for anouther trip as soon as you can!!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank susanna b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed High Mountain Expeditions also viewed

Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to High Mountain Expeditions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing