We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“French Broad Full Day Rafting”

River and Earth Adventures, Inc
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Quality not quantity is the the only way to float. River and Earth Adventures, Inc is dedicated to adventure, eco-education, and healthy living. Connect with your friends and family while challenging yourself and enjoying some of the best natural areas in the Appalachian Mountains. River and Earth Adventures offers rafting, caving, hiking, canoeing, kayaking, rock climbing, and gem mining.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We had a great time on our day rafting with lunch. Our guide Lucas was awesome and kept us safe and entertained the whole time! It was a great experience and I hope to come back again!

1  Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grantseldomridge, Manager at River and Earth Adventures, Inc, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Thanks for rafting with REA! Lucas is one of our best guides and thank you for your 5 star review!!! See you on the river!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (375)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

274 - 278 of 375 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2012

We arived at facility on time for our trip and had to wait while everyone else that arived after us was waited on (aprox. 1hr). Once we were taken to the boat launch we found a leak in what appeared to be the cheapest line of canoe that mad river makes, the van driver asked if we wanted to wait for him to drive back and exchange the canoe for a different mad river piece of junk so we weighed out the option of having to wait another hour for him to return and decided that it would be better to procced with the leaky canoe. The trip down river was terrible the canoe handeled poorly even after dumping all the water out of it, we flipped over twice and after we made it to the first take out ( only 1/3 of the trip we had planned to make ) we waited for almost an hour for the driver to pick us up. This was a bad expirence, and would not recomend it to anyone else.

Thank Vash77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grantseldomridge, Manager at River and Earth Adventures, Inc, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Thank you for your feed back. The only way we can improve our services and provide a quality experience is through your feed back. We do hope that you will have a better experience the next time you come out with REA. When our boats become damaged we do pull that equipment from service as we did with the canoe in question. During the peak of the river season we do occasionally become busy. We do try to keep waiting to a minimum. Please join us for a trip in the future and we would be glad to give you a complimentary canoe rental.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We went on this same cave trip 2 years ago and liked it so much we decided to do it again. My son who is 11 loved this trip. This is a real cave, where you climb, slide and get very dirty. It's not particularly hard or demanding but it is a lot of fun. The guides are very knowledgeable and make the trip very enjoyable. We had a great time and would recommend this trip to anyone.

1  Thank JOHN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grantseldomridge, Manager at River and Earth Adventures, Inc, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Tank you for your feed back and for your years of patraniage. I hope that you will continue to enjoy our cave trip for years to come. See you in the cave!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We rented tubes at 15.00 per tube... way overpriced! It was river hell. First of all, we were told a life jacket was not needed for tubing because the water was only ankle deep- my husband was over his head in places (6 ft man) and well up to his waist in lots of other places. My children were 3 and 7 and both were miserable. Very little current for the tubes to float with. Lots (LOTS) of peddling with our arms and kicking with our feet to move. The river itself was horrible with nothing but rocks. I cut my hand, husband broke his new sandle on a rock and cut his feet after his sandle broke. It was seriously- overall- not a good time and I wised I had my 60 bucks back. I would not recommend this for small children, and this river is not tube friendly. We also got stuck so many times we eventually just walked in the river dragging the tube behind us.

2  Thank mechelle s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grantseldomridge, Manager at River and Earth Adventures, Inc, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Each day the river water level is different. However on an average day the river has places that are only an inch or two in depth and deep swimming holes that are 10 feet deep in places. It can be challenging to stay in the main current if there are strong head winds on that day. We do have PFD's available for all ages. We do strive to provide a quality experience and would be glad to give you a complementary river trip on your next visit to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

I canoe regually in Florida and really enjoyed a flowing river for a change. But don't get your hopes to high. The New River where we were put in was very shallow with a few exciting rapids. The employees at R&E are very attentive and informative. It was a bit pricey at $65 but I haven't rented a canoe in years.

1  Thank run-run-run
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grantseldomridge, Manager at River and Earth Adventures, Inc, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Thank you for canoeing the New River with REA!!!! See you on the river!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River and Earth Adventures, Inc also viewed

Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to River and Earth Adventures, Inc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing