We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A "do not miss" family mountain experience”
Review of Horn in the West

Horn in the West
Ranked #1 of 7 Nature & Parks in Boone
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Produced since 1952 by Southern Appalachian Historical Association, Inc. 501(C)3, "Horn in the West" is a tale of the birth of a great nation and the courageous efforts of the founding pioneers. Southern Appalachian Historical Association celebrates and preserves the diverse cultural heritage of the Blue Ridge Mountain region. Centered around Daniel Boone and the fight for American Independence, SAHA engages individuals through historical education and cultural entertainment.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access
West Jefferson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A "do not miss" family mountain experience”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Bring the family and share a delightful evening here. You will learn about mountain history in a great outdoor setting. Entertaining for all ages.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Lori G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    53
    10
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gastonia, NC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Most enjoyable show”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I've been to this show about 5-6 times over the years and still love it. I have seen other outdoor dramas with more glitz and glamour and more professional actors but keep coming back to here. I find the production most entertaining and the large number of college students from ASU comprising the bulk of the cast are very high energy. Great value. Sit down front though because it is not amplified relying only on acoustics of nature.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank nomad4dixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A great show for the whole family”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Outdoor theater is great and this show is well worth it. New to Boone and keen to learn more about its history, this show was fantastic.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank uncleRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwell NC
Level Contributor
84 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Family Weekend”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

The drama was a little different that what I remembered from years ago but it was still good. It was very well put together, good fight scenes and the hanging act was so real. We enjoyed walking through the older houses prior to the show. THe seats were ok with the cusions that you can rent for .50. I would suggest bringing a cushion if you have one or just rent 2 because they are thin.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank MothertRockwellNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“We all enjoyed if so much!”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We arrived in Boone late in the afternoon on July 31 and after seeing a sign in the lobby of the hotel for the play, we decided to go that night. What a pleasant surprise we were in for. We had no idea that we would have the opportunity to walk around and tour period log cabins and hear about what life was like for a family in a cabin, it was all very informative. As we gathered to enter the amphitheater for our seats, we were entertained by cast members that sang some traditional songs for us. Our grandchildren, ages 13, 11, 9 & 7, became engaged in the historical points of the play and we were all entertained throughout the entire performance. It did begin to rain lightly about half way through and the children were concerned that we wouldn't be able to stay until the end but we did and it was so well worth it. This is a great, great value for you money, don't miss it.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank tampaandbeyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Horn in the West also viewed

Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Horn in the West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing