We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our favorite "Go To" place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Coyote Kitchen

Coyote Kitchen
Ranked #4 of 148 Restaurants in Boone
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Caribbean, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Our favorite "Go To" place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

This is our favorite regular place to go. The food is fresh and delicious and different from anything you can get anywhere else. Good service and you can sit on the patio in good weather.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    399
    171
    46
    13
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A Great Surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

Arrived in Boone, NC today and it was time to get something to eat. Checked the tripadvisor restaurant listings and found this place and based on the reviews, it sounded like just what I was looking for.
We walked in at about 4:00 and were seated immediately. After looking at the menu for a few minutes, I asked our delightful server what she recommended. After hearing her suggestion I ordered the "Cactus Boat" and my wife had the "Phoenix Bowl." Both meals were absolutely delicious. I have never had a dish that was bursting with so many flavors. They ought to get a patent on this food.
I won't go into detail about the dishes, as others have already described it many times. But I will definitely make it a point to stop here and eat the next time I pass through Boone.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank XD9packer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Most embarrassing moment!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

.I moved a chair! Their tables are square and meant to seat 4 people, one on each side. Their were three of us so I pulled a chair around to the side to sit more comfortably. A waitress walked over and stood three feet away and announced that I would have to move the chair back to it's original position. There was only one other couple in the place at the time but I was completely humiliated. I could have understood her approaching our table and discreetly ASKING me to PLEASE move the chair back and informing my of their fire code violation. But to have it announced to the whole restaurant, and to be told! We actually stayed for dinner, hard to believe. My shrimp tacos were very good but my daughter said she could get better fish tacos across town. My husband was not happy with the trout at all. looking back I see now we should have taken our first incident as a warning!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank larzmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Howls of Joy - What a Great Place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

Low-key, down-to-earth, and unpretentious. This is a great little restaurant. Our food and the service was excellent. Our visit was also a great value! Howls of joy!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Archdale, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Quaint and Worth the Experience ...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

Cute little restaurant with a big menu! Very small and quaint inside but we did not have to wait for seating. You can sit outside or inside. Food was very good ... Beer wasn't quite cold enough but that didn't seem to stop it from disappearing. Large selection and great spot to try - just a little too "small and tight for seating inside".

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KPS410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coyote Kitchen also viewed

Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Coyote Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing