We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would eat there everyday!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coyote Kitchen

Coyote Kitchen
Ranked #4 of 148 Restaurants in Boone
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Caribbean, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
apollo beach, florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Would eat there everyday!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I was I boone, nc a few weeks ago and the front desk at the comfort suites recommended the coyote kitchen. They were really busy, so the service wasn't great but I think they were short handed. The food was excellent and they had great sauces as well. Stop in if you're ever in that area. Great southwest food. Yum yum

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sharon h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    391
    170
    46
    13
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boone, NC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Local Favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Everything in this restaurant is fresh and delicious. My favorite meals to get their are the shrimp tacos or the Taos Boat. Their plantains and their chipotle cream cheese are amazing! I have lived in Boone for 5 years and have always received stellar service and food. Thanks for your awesome food! I would recommend them to anyone looking for great local food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Emurf033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent Food & Prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We decided to try this restaurant based on reviews. We weren't disappointed. We were all very happy with the food we ordered.

We were a party of six. We came here to eat lunch last June 2013. Each of us ordered a different entree (sorry, I forgot what we ordered) -- none of us were disappointed. We were all full, but not stuffed. The price was very good too -- for six entrees, our total bill cost $82.

I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NatureLover82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Gluten-Free Offerings!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

I actually stopped here twice when in town on business and both times the food and service were incredible! The first time I went, I got the Taos Boat (they exchange the cornbread with rice to make it Gluten-Free) and one of their fabulous sangrias. They both had incredible flavors (you may want to ask for the chipotle cream cheese on the side - it has quite a kick!). The second time I had a bit more time so I asked the waitress what she recommended for a person needing GF. She explained how they have a dedicated GF fryer so most of the menu was good. I ended up with the best GF fried shrimp that I have ever had, a side of plantains, and their awesome russet and sweet potato fries appetizer. She also offered a strawberry cake for dessert that was AMAZING. I honestly wish this restaurant was near my hometown - I would be there every week!

The value of the food is also great, definitely inexpensive for the amount and quality of the food that you are getting. The seating area is small and I have seen it packed - so get there early!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Howling Good!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Its easy to see how Coyote Kitchen is a favorite with folks who enjoy eclectic type fare and preparations that are built with LAYERS of FLAVOR. We were not disappointed! The food here is referred to as "Southwest Caribbean Soul Food". But while they don't offer cooked greens, they do offer a wide array of entrees, burritos and "boats" (a complete meal with tasty, layered ingredients served in a casserole dish) including such choices as chicken,beef, sausage, shrimp, tofu, tempe & salmon. Obviously, they offer vegetarian & vegan fare as well. I tried the Marley (a burrito stuffed full with coconut rice, jerk chicken, butter beans, roasted sweet potatoes, sour cream, fried plantains, grilled pineapple, and roasted red pepper), and chose the cranberry/chipotle salsa to go with it. I loved every bite! My sweetheart raved about the Taos... a "boat" constructed with cornbread, sweet potatoes, black beans, rosemary chicken, fried plantains, and tomatoes, piled with Monterey Jack and habanero cream cheese. See what I mean about layers of flavor?? She chose the mango/lime salsa as an accompaniment to her boat, but there are many other salsas to choose from. We easily could have shared 1 of these offerings & been full, as the serving sizes are pretty remarkable. This, along with the food quality, makes CK a good value. There is outdoor seating, but the deck is basically built out into the parking lot. Not much atmosphere there. The inside is comfortable, SW, and very casual. Our server was polite, friendly, and helpful,

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BuddDr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coyote Kitchen also viewed

Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Coyote Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing