We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big disappointment.”
Review of Papa Joe's

Papa Joe's
Ranked #35 of 48 Restaurants in Blowing Rock
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Big disappointment.”
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

A friend suggested that we stopped by Papa Joe's for a quick lunch. My wife ordered the soup of the day, Onion Soup and Egg Plant Parmesan. I ordered the house special Lasagna. The Onion Soup was bland. No flavor. The Egg Plant Parmesan was laid on top of some room temperature spaghetti with canned "marinara" sauce. My lasagna was cold inside like if it had been in a refrigerator and run fast by the oven. The meals were not expensive just poor kitchen. The waitress was courteous and apologetic. I told my wife never coming back. Sorry!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trnsamcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    20
    16
    20
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Media, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
132 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Not well run”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We ordered 10 pizzas to go and one sandwich. The pizza was on somthing like pita bread and was overdone with oregano. The fish sandwich was very bland. When we went to pick it up, the staff was talking about some issue they had and it took awhile for them to give us attention and run our card. Then the bag they said had the sandwich did not have it, so I called and they very nicely brought it to the hotel. All in all I would not choose to eat there again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kim30Chip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Tired and dirty. Pizza was ok but will not be back.”
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

This place needs a major overhaul. The pizza was ok but looked like they just quickly threw on the toppings randomly. The service was ok. The place was dirty and my wife's plate had a large amount of liquid drain off it, hopefully from fresh washing. Not recommended. You are better off picking up Hungry Howies in Boone.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jrambo316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monticello, Indiana
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Overpriced mediocrity”
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Ordered pizza and after a long wait received a mediocre pizza with over 50 percent of the bottom blackened. Coke was flat. Service was good. Large fan caused background noise resulting in conversation being a problem since a member of the party had hearing aides.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grnthumb30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
83 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good pizza, no frills”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We are visiting Blowing Rock for the first time and were feeling like pizza. When traveling, we prefer to find local places we can't eat at every day. This appears to be the only local pizza joint in Blowing Rock. It's not fancy, but many of the best pizza places are not. We had a basic pizza - really good thin crust, tasty sauce and toppings. Service was good as well. If you are looking for something other than pizza, Papa Joe's had a pretty full menu of other Italian treats. We will visit again when in Blowing Rock.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BluegrassBrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papa Joe's also viewed

Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Papa Joe's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing