We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummy Nachos”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Six Pence Pub

Six Pence Pub
Ranked #5 of 48 Restaurants in Blowing Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yummy Nachos”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

We stopped in for a light lunch and a drink. Prices were a little high but service was great and they had a large bar selection.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Casey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    378
    332
    80
    15
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aydlett, North Carolina
Level Contributor
63 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“It was so good last year, we came back!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

And it was just as good the second time around!!! Had lunch with lots of friends and ordered a variety off the menu and everyone enjoyed their meal! Ate outside on a wonderful spring day! Delicious food - wonderful company - attentive waitstaff - who could ask for more??!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darlene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
169 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Really great fish and chips”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

It was a wet cold day, and took me back to London.....I was skeptical of eating fish and chips this far out, but they were really great....fish was excellent.

Had a couple of pints of Boddingtons and that was even a good surprise, not the usual gassy US version, but smooth and the right temperature.....

Recommend

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Beacon94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
96 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Love the Fish & Chips and Shepherd's Pie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

We found it refreshing to find this British style pub located along the main tourist strip in the heart of Blowing Rock. The atmosphere is typical pub with a bar area to the right and a separate seating area to the left. There is also a nice outside seating area in which we have seen people bring their dogs on a leash. Parking is always trying in this part of town but we always find a space and walk. We visit the shops along the way. We visit this pub on our trips to the mountains as it reminds us of our travels. It is often crowded especially around peak times so you may have to wait a bit. The staff is friendly and proficient. I have never had to wait long to order our drinks and food. Their bar menu is extensive and includes a huge variety of beers. They also fry all of their foods in peanut oil. We enjoy the Fish & Chips, Shepherd's Pie and Beef Guinness. The food is great and the fish was cod fried perfectly. The chips were rounds that were crispy on the outside and creamy in the middle. It is served with a tasty tartar sauce and malt vinegar upon request. The Shepherd's Pie may look small but is very filling. It tastes so good. The Beef Guinness is another favorite. Beef tips marinated in Guinness cooked in a brown sauce with peas, carrots and onions. Served with a small salad. On this trip, we had to sit in a booth in the bar area back by the restrooms as it was the only place available. Even sitting here, our experience was great.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kvb4717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
Level Contributor
137 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

It was good not very good. We were near the kitchen which is never good when you can see the trash when the came through it. Everything closes very early so we cut it real close and the were super nice and did not rush anyone. Had fish and chips which I had had before and they were just as good as last time.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Djstoy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Six Pence Pub also viewed

Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Six Pence Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing