We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Guiness beef!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Six Pence Pub

Six Pence Pub
Ranked #5 of 48 Restaurants in Blowing Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Guiness beef!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in on a whim. Food was great, we had the Stuffed Banger app. I had the Guiness Beef which was awesome and my wife had a really nice burger with some amazing fries. They had a nice selection of English and Irish beers and some local brews. I got a local brew the server described as an IPA... it was a Porter. Good, just not what I w

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank josh4240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    378
    332
    80
    15
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stanley, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is a neat little pub with a nice atmosphere and great food. My husband and I shared the turkey club and couldn't believe how big it was when it came out. No way anyone could eat it by them selves. Very good.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank aaatrophies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schwarzwald
Level Contributor
84 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great authentic food and lovely service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

The food is wonderful, the staff easy going, no stress with a complicated menu. The waiters are very friendly. For an uncomplicated night out this the place.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Uliki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
293 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“I was in the mood for a burger...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

So we went to this pub. I got a sweet tea and the pub burger and my husband got the Ruben and cup of potato bacon cheddar soup. My burger totally hit the spot and the coleslaw was pretty good too. My husband said he is "over" the ruben and needs to stop getting them (not their fault) and wished he just got 2 bowls of soup which he absolutely loved! My first and second cups of sweet tea were good, then the last refill came, it tasted like chlorine, I don't know if they had used filtered water before and that was tap water but that was NOT good, my husband said he could tasted it too. The service was fine, our server didn't seem overly friendly or happy but he got the job done no complaints about that.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Valerie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanley, NC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Little Pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

The beer selection is very good with a nice variety of imports and craft beer on draft. They also have a nice bottle selection. The food is classic pub fare like pot roast and shepherds pie. The fish and chips is delicious so are the pub chips with bacon and cheese. Service is always excellent and the atmosphere is cozy and authentic.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank mordorring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Six Pence Pub also viewed

Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Six Pence Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing