We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the Spot in Blowing Rock”
Review of Six Pence Pub

Six Pence Pub
Ranked #5 of 48 Restaurants in Blowing Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
A TripAdvisor Member
“the Spot in Blowing Rock”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

An English Pub. Walking distance from all the local inns. Which is good, since you will probably have more than one brew at this lively little spot.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    393
    336
    82
    15
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indy
Level Contributor
130 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Nice place for a meal or to hang out at the bar”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Went here for dinner one night. The place was pretty busy even for off-season. I had chicken and the wife had a burger. Food was great and reasonably priced. The bar stays open late, and there were a lot of people there hanging out.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ravekid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just ok”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I wished we wouldn't have been so hungry when we arrived in Blowing Rock Friday afternoon. We rushed into choosing Six Pence and were disappointed with the experience.
The service was not good - our waitress should not have been serving customers, she would have been better used in the kitchen where interpersonal communication is not necessary. The food was ok - just ok. There were 7 of us, and not one thought it was anything better than just ok. We wish we would have tried the southern cooking restaurant across the street and to the left. Next time for sure.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ny2oh2nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ohio
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good grub”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Food was good. The seafood platter had the largest shrimp I've ever ate. The couple with us had the club salad which was they said was delicious. The only problem was below average service withour glasses were empty a lot. We would return again

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

After reading reviews, we called for a reservation, but they only take reservations for 6 or more. For dinner, was told they start getting busy around 7pm. Good to know! We got there ~6pm, no wait, friendly waitress. Potroast was so tender. We'll be back.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Six Pence Pub also viewed

Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Six Pence Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing