We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, Great hosts, Great food, Great service!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blowing Rock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blowing Rock Ale House and Inn
Ranked #9 of 11 Blowing Rock B&B and Inns
Chapel Hill, NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, Great hosts, Great food, Great service!!!”
Reviewed February 11, 2009

We love visiting Blowing Rock, but had never stayed at Maple Lodge before. We were up for the Winterfest and our hosts made reservations for dinner at our favorite eatery. They also obtained tickets to a few events, which I promptly lost. Our hosts immediately got us new tickets at no additional expense, except for their time!
They took care of us, so we could enjoy our weekend.
The bed was comfortable and the room was plenty warm since we could control the heat (we have stayed at another B&B nearby and nearly froze to death - seriously, there was no heat in the bathroom and my toiletries froze!).
There was plenty to choose from for breakfast. Plus there were fresh cookies and brownies later in the day.
We had a wonderful time thanks to the great place with the great hosts!

  • Liked — great location, friendly, helpful staff
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rtpken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    14
    8
    3
    5
See reviews for
15
35
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2008

Cosy inn in the heart of the small town of Blowing Rock.

We stayed in early October and the autumn leaves were already spectacular. A fog came down in the morning and it was great to sit in the library reading books, feeling good to be indoors.

Both the innkeepers and their night manager were absolutely first class and breakfast was terrific.

The town is on the Blue Ridge Parkway and has lots of little shops and restaurants. A good stop.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexBalham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2008

My husband and I met at the Maple Lodge 26 years ago and decided it was where we wanted to celebrate our 25th anniversary along with our children and son-in-law. We requested, prior to our arrival, that a cheese and fruit platter and wine be available upon our arrival in the front living room. We also requested that reservations be made for our party of eight at the Best Cellar restaurant which is located across the street from Maple Lodge. Lisa and Hillary handled all of our request to the letter. We booked four rooms for a four day/three day night stay, the Lilac, Wildflower, Dahlia, and Daffodil. All rooms were comfortable and clean. The only complaint was that Daffoldil was a little too small for our married daughter and her husband (they are accustomed to a larger bed at home). In the sunroom, they set up several tables for our family to eat together. The breakfasts were good, especially the artichoke quiche served Sunday morning. Two of our daughters are vegan and they were able to eat the hot oatmeal and variety of fruits that are available each morning. Our son and son-in-law are hearty eaters and were quite happy with the portions.

We had a wonderful time rediscovering Blowing Rock and the surrounding mountains. All the shops, restaurants, and park are in easy walking distance. Moses Cone trail and Bass Lake are within a few minutes drive as is the shopping outlet.

We had one rainy day where we gathered in the Library and played some of the many games that are available and kept warm by the gas log fire. Coffee, tea and hot chocolate were available in the sunroom.

Lisa, Hillary, and their assistant Peggy made our stay so comfortable and enjoyable. We can't wait to go back for another family gathering.

  • Liked — Location of the inn and friendliness of owners and staff
  • Disliked — Wish they had provided a separte shampoo and conditioner rather then a shampoo and conditioner in one.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 413homeland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2007

We last stayed here about four years ago when the Batemens owned it. Our experience was so wonderful we decided to return. The Inn has changed hands and the stay didn't live up to our expectations. We stayed in Dogwood, which was a pleasant room with a separate dressing room, a very small bathroom, but there was an extra basin with vanity outside the bathroom. There was no bath and the shower was tiny, and made of preformed plastic type material. Water temperature not always easy to control. Towels very hard. No toiletries except for soap and shampoo, although there was a note to say they had toiletries availab le.
The room was extremely warm at night and we don't like the paddle fans, so we had to have it turned off and the windows open. Bed very uncomfortable. Woke up every morning with backache.Dogwood was not available for the last night of our four night stay, so we were moved to Dahlia, which was downstairs and entered outside the Inn, directly from the car park. which was about two feet away. The only windows overlooked the car park so we had to keep the blinds down. This was rather claustrophobic. We were not advised of this in advance.
Breakfast was buffet, with one hot dish. Good point was that we are vegetarian and if there was any meat or sausage it was served s eparately, so we could always eat the hot dish. On our previous stay, there was a greater choice of cold food and hot dishes were served at the table, with Mrs. Bateman coming to every table giving choices of hot dish.
Tea and coffee available all day and cookies in the afternoon.
There were two parlours. On our previous visit they were very attractive. Now they look rather bare and unwelcoming. The log fire which used to be lit in the early evening is now a gas fire - although weather was too warm to light it.

We had dinner in Crippens twice and I think if we came back we would stay there.

  • Liked — quite a pretty room
  • Disliked — too warm at night and windows hard to open
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank COUNCILLORJACK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRBrewingCo, Owner at Blowing Rock Ale House and Inn, responded to this review, January 4, 2016
*Please note that this review from 2007 was for the Maple Lodge under different management and the predecessor business in the same location where the Blowing Rock Ale House and Inn is now located.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2007

A very large disappointment. I have never stayed at a b&b where there were no soft drinks available, nor bottled water. There were no blinds on one window, the pillows were hard like rocks and the curtain on one window was torn. The food was okay, but nothing to write home about. All in all, it was a very big let down.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank belden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRBrewingCo, Owner at Blowing Rock Ale House and Inn, responded to this review, January 4, 2016
*Please note that this review from 2007 was for the Maple Lodge under different management and the predecessor business in the same location where the Blowing Rock Ale House and Inn is now located.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2007

Maple Lodge Inn is a charming property, located conveniently in Blowing Rock. We were able to walk easily to restaurants and shopping. The rooms are nicely decorated and the breakfasts are very good. The breakfast room opens onto a little patio with flowers, birdhouses, etc., and was a very nice setting for a good meal. Rooms have window unit air conditioners which are effective, but a little noisy--it wasn't too hot, so we did without most of the time and didn't feel too uncomfortable.

  • Liked — Location, decor and breakfasts
  • Disliked — Noisy air conditioning
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Roselynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
130 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2007

We booked the Maple Lodge because we were looking for a Bed and Breakfast in a walkable area that wasn't too expensive. Friends of ours had stayed there a few years back and had been satisfied.
Our room was very nice. We stayed in Hydrangea which is one of the smaller less expensive rooms, but very nicely decorated. It did have a TV, very nice, clean bathroom with a hairdryer and nice soap, shampoo and such. The bed was comfortable. The window opened to a main street but the noise did not bother us. The weather was perfect for having the window open so we didn't try the AC. The owners were pleasant and helpful as was the staff. They were not as gushy as some other B&B hosts, but we don't need gushy sugar sweet. They always had yummy cookies available. Breakfast was OK. We were only there one night. They served shirred eggs which is not one of our favorite dishes but I noticed the other couple in the dining area enjoyed it and asked to see the recipe. The sausage was not served at the correct temperature, but we didn't complain. I'm pretty sure they would have remedied that if we had. They also had oatmeal available, fresh fruit, and a nice selection of sweet breads and muffins.
All in all it was a good experience and we would consider Maple Lodge again for our next stay in Blowing Rock. It's right in the middle of town and very pleasant.

  • Liked — Location, Room, Decor
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbiewanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
1.4 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.3 mi away
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
#10 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
#4 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ridgeway Inn
Ridgeway Inn
#9 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boxwood Lodge
Boxwood Lodge
#8 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blowing Rock Ale House and Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blowing Rock Ale House and Inn

Property: Blowing Rock Ale House and Inn
Address: 152 Sunset Dr, PO Box 2678, Blowing Rock, NC 28605-7205 (Formerly Maple Lodge Bed and Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Blowing Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the center of downtown, the Blowing Rock Ale House & Inn is Blowing Rock's only fully operational micro-brewery, restaurant and lodging facility. You will find each guest room newly updated with its own special charm and furnished with either a queen or king bed. All rooms are appointed with ceiling fans, air conditioning, down-alternative comforters and ample pillows. Rooms also have flat-screen televisions, private baths, hair dryers and spa-inspired toiletries to ensure your comfort and relaxation. We invite you to join us in our restaurant to enjoy our upscale, locally sourced mountain cuisine and artisanal craft beer brewed on-site. Brewery tours are available Saturdays 1-5. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maple Hotel Blowing Rock
Maple Lodge b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing