We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hit the Mark!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Cellar Incorporated

Best Cellar Incorporated
Ranked #16 of 48 Restaurants in Blowing Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $40
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hit the Mark!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

After having several not so great meals on a recent trip to Boone/Blowing Rock, my husband went to TripAdvisor and found this great little restaurant right in downtown Blowing Rock. Aside from the fact that it is on Sunset street and there is no sunset to see, everything else was very good. The amostphere was very relaxing. We sat outside in the crisp summer evening weather (got to love Blowing Rock for cool summer temps). Our waitress was both efficient but also took the time to describe dishes, make recommendations and ask us about our visit.
As indicated by the name, the wine list is extensive and we found a reasonably priced bottle to accompany our meal. My husband had the Sea Scallops and I had the Chicken, Goat Cheese and Chirizo dish. Both were cooked to perfection and very enjoyable. Good size portions and I took half of mine home.
After our meal, our server gave us a tour of the lovely facility which reminded me of a miniature version of the Grove Park Inn. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ksisario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    43
    23
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food and views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

My husband and I went here for our special night out in Blowing Rock. It was a great experience in every way. When I made the reservation 2 weeks before, I asked for a table by the garden window. They said they would do that, and they did. Good start! The view was lovely and tranquil, with beautiful flowers. The waitress was great, as was my veal (there was a bit of a fatty part, but the serving was so large there was plenty for me). My husband's duck was great too. We also had the chocolate cake for desert, which was HUGE. I think we ate about a quarter of it at most. Would definitely come back again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shellygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Your Best Bet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

After a disastrous fire a few years ago, the Best Cellar has relocated to the Ragged Garden Inn in Blowing Rock, a small hotel in a lovely location. For years the Best Cellar has retained its reputation as the best special place to dine in the High Country. The good food complements the rustic setting. Prices are on the high side of reasonable, and the atmosphere is rustic Victorian. If that's your preference, this is your place.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank rupprh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful service and steaks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

My husband is a very picky eater and especially about his steak. We are from Texas. We both ordered a steak and had crab cake appetizer. Everything was perfect.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue44044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Absolutely divine!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Fabulous meal! I had grouper with a delicious Gouda cheese sauce with a great salad, zucchini, wild rice. My husband has beef tenderloin medallions, garlic mashed potatoes, grilled veggies. Bread & Banana Cream Pie was delicious as well. Beautiful setting -nice seat by the window overlooking the luscious flower gardens. Could also hear live music on the lawn (provided on Friday nights- weather permitting. My favorite place in BR!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Best Cellar Incorporated also viewed

Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Best Cellar Incorporated? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing