We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great”

Best Cellar Incorporated
Ranked #16 of 48 Restaurants in Blowing Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $40
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not great”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Went to best cellar for a graduation/ mothers day dinner celebration. We had a 630 reservation. There was an arrogance about the hostess and greeters. The waiter was friendly and knowledgable about food, wine pairings, etc. They had no children's menu at all... Buttered noodles I believe was the option we were given. Food wasn't great... Especially for the price. Have had much better!!! Don't mind spending good money on good food but this was a let down. The atmosphere was nice. At 830, after apps, multiple bottles of wine, entrees and desserts, we were finishing our wine and the hostess came and told us we needed to finish our wine in the bar area as our "two hour limit" was over on our table. Seriously?!?! After dropping a lot of money- we couldn't sit another 10 minutes to finish our wine?! Very rude. Won't be back.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank L D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    44
    24
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Soooo good!”
Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

Walked by on a whim and decided to eat there, we were lucky to get a table (reservations recommended), the food, service, and atmosphere are amazing! A quirky historical building, and beautiful! The rack of lamb, sirloin medallions, & banana creme pie are fantastic! And a great wine selection as well.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carthage, tn
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Fine Dining”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Have eaten at this restaurant for many years on many special occasions. It should be classified under 5 stars. The food is just amazing!!!!!! Have to reccomend the Oysters Rockefeller, Best anywhere! Also the Steak Oscar!!!!!!Best Ever!!!!!!Service is excellent, manager sees to it, and atmosphere is pure mountain air heaven when you can be seated on the veranda and watch the sunset. NEVER have we been disappointed.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dollie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good for dinner . . . better for lunch”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

A very beautiful place . . . especially during lunch or early evening on the front porch where you can enjoy the gardens . . . lunch menu is very reasonable and varied . . . dinner is not quite as reasonable . . . but the food is excellent

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank SeasonedTraveler088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“homemade and delicious”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Located in The Inn at Ragged Gardens, the Best Cellar is definitely a locals favorite as written in a visitor guide. It was mentioned by several store owners as the place to go. We were not disappointed. The crab cakes were the best i have ever had. They were light and crispy with a fresh crab taste but not overwhelming. The salad dressing was homemade. Try the blue cheese.Staff was attentive and very professional in their appearance and service. Tip:call ahead and reserve an outside table overlooking the garden.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank traveldocsx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Best Cellar Incorporated also viewed

Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Best Cellar Incorporated? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing