We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of Homestead Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Homestead Inn
Ranked #3 of 11 Blowing Rock B&B and Inns
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Loved it!”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

The grounds are beautiful and immacuately kept. The rooms are very clean, housekeeping helpful. This is a dog friendly venue but you would never know in rooms or grounds. The innkeepers are great and bestow such a friendliness felt in other guests, etc. The dog owners were also very considerate and respectful here.
It is hard to sleep with windows open because parking lot is immediately out the door, but since it is small, not a lot of traffic. No instructions for fireplace, though I could've just asked!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    43
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
82
164
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We wanted a place within walking distance to the shops and restaurants in downtown Blowing Rock and this was perfect. It couldn't have taken two minutes to walk to the heart of Main Street. Our room had just been renovated with a new floor (no carpet) and a total new bath and it was very nice and it was clean. The walls were all knotty pine which is typical for motels in the area because they try to maintain the rustic mountain feel that has drawn folks to that area for decades. We had two queens, two lazy boy style recliners, a gas fireplace, fridge, microwave, and a flat screen TV with an excellent picture. Wifi was very good also. Our only dislike was the darkness of the room. Even with all three lamps on there wasn't enough light to read by. I think all the bulbs were low wattage and even though there was also an overhead light available, we don't find overhead lighting to be pleasant. Personal preference.

Room Tip: Our room was #9. They have interior photos of all their rooms on their website and all rooms are dif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Stayed here for a Job interview. Robert and Caroline were excellent hosts. Took care of all my needs. Conveniently located in the heart of Blowing Rock you can not ask for a better place to stay. Jacuzzi tubs, wifi, cable, comfy beds, shopping less than a block away. It does not get any better for a mountain getaway.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MountainSerenity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This place is very affordable, very clean and well decorated. The gardens reminded me of my own. The gardens are fantastic. Very quiet on a side street but short walk to stores and restaurants.My only complaint was the size of the room. I was traveling alone so it was perfect for me but 2 people might be bumping or backing up a lot to get around.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Woodsylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This was our first visit to Blowing Rock. The Homestead Inn is located a short 5 second walk from Main Street so we didn't have to drive anywhere unless needed. We had a king room with a fireplace and thought the room was perfect and found the bed very comfortable. The staff is wonderful! I forgot a toothbrush and went to the front desk to ask directions to the nearest drug store. The front desk had them in stock and I was given one! A great place to stay and we are definitely making our fall trip a yearly visit at the Homestead Inn.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenMattZach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in September, Room # 11. We really enjoyed our stay. One block from downtown, updated furnishings, friendly staff. Super nice bathroom with storage, jet tub. Nice fireplace. The beds were super firm though, so if you don't like a firm mattress, then this room might not be right for you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed in room 5 for a quick weekend getaway. The room was exactly as pictured on the website, a tad small, but very clean and cozy. Beautifully maintained gardens and within walking distance to shops and restaurants, The Homestead Inn is perfect for a visit to Blowing Rock. The owners are on site and very helpful with restaurant recommendations and they will assist with dinner reservations. I always ask others if they would stay at a hotel/inn again and my answer to that question would be yes for The Homestead Inn.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolinaGirl704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
1.3 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
441 reviews
0.2 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Blowing Rock
345 reviews
0.3 mi away
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
#9 of 15 in Blowing Rock
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 15 in Blowing Rock
602 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boxwood Lodge
Boxwood Lodge
#7 of 15 in Blowing Rock
110 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas
#6 of 15 in Blowing Rock
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homestead Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestead Inn

Property: Homestead Inn
Address: 153 Morris St, PO Box 1030, Blowing Rock, NC 28605-9026
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Blowing Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Homestead Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homestead Inn is awesome! Rooms are quaint, cozy, and immaculate! Rooms include Highspeed internet fridge, micro, coffee pot,flat screen tv with DVD players, hairdryer. Some rooms have fireplace, and or jacuzzi, efficiency. All newly remodeled rooms for 2011. We are located in a beautiful setting in walking distance to downtown. minutes from the ski slopes and all other Blowing Rock attractions,including the Blue Ridge Parkway We provide a swing, gazebo, picnic table and grill area.We are known for our award winning gardens and flowers. Come stay at the Homestead, your "home away from home". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Homestead Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Hotel Blowing Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing