We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful visit!”
Review of Homestead Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Homestead Inn
Ranked #2 of 10 Blowing Rock B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed here for the first time and will definitely stay here again. First, we were caught in a snow storm in traffic and Caroline offered to come pick us up with their big truck. Then when we finally got to the hotel Rob cleared the snow covered ground so our little dogs would have a place to use the bathroom. They are so accommodating and make you feel so welcomed! The rooms are so clean and very cozy. It is very apparent they work very had to maintain this wonderful place! Great location too less than a block to Main Street. We fell in love with this place and can't wait to visit again!! Thanks for a wonderful stay! The Carter's

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4Carters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (400)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

318 - 324 of 401 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend in January(this was our second trip here) and we loved it! We were allowed to bring our 110 pound dog for a very small fee which is great because he is not welcome at most pet friendly places because of his size. Our dog didn't respond well to being left alone in the room and the owners volunteered to babysit him. Very amazing and trustworthy people who truly care about their guests, both two and four legged ones! The owner's even gave us a bag of dog treats! Prices are great, rooms are very clean and updated, walking distance to everything, and above all pet friendly! We will be staying here every time we come to blowing rock!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Visited The Homestead Inn with husband and two teenage boys for a long ski weekend. Rooms were clean, beds were comfortable, night time was quiet for a good nights sleep, owners & other guests were super friendly and loved that it was dog friendly. Walking distance to Mellow Mushroom, Six Pence Pub, Kojays for morning breakfast/coffee and a great wine & cheese store, plus so much more. Ten minutes to Appalachian Mtn, 30 minutes to Sugar Mtn. We're already planning our next ski weekend, spring visit, summer visit...Highly recommended. Thank you Homestead Inn.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
Thank Jeannette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

The Homestead Inn is always my first choice for staying in the mountains. Reasonable prices, variety of room options, great comfort and they treat me like family! The inn is less than one block from the main street with shopping, restaurants and people watching. About a mile away is Bass Lake with a walking path, fishing, geese, and restrooms. Just further on is the Blue Ridge Parkway. This visit I booked one of the bigger rooms with a fireplace and large TV. It was so nice to sit in front of the fireplace, watching DVD's that I had brought. When I arrived, a couple were sitting outside their room in the sun having wine and crackers. They invited me over and we just sat there talking and greeting people as they came and went from the inn. This is the place to get away from it all, while still keeping that feeling of home!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

It cost $10 for our 70 lb dog to stay with us. For another $20 (totally optional), the owner’s teenage son took our dog out for a good long walk/run & remained with him while we went out to dinner.

If you take a left out of the motel driveway, you’ll walk toward a residential area. It’s a good work out as it’s uphill.

If you take a right you’ll head back up to Main St. Take a right on Main St & the Six Pence Tavern is a short walk up on the right. If it’s a nice day you & your dog can sit out on the patio.
Across from the Six Pence is Laurel Ave. A short distance down this street is a park on either side. The park on the left is small but the one on the right is a larger with a very nice paved walking trail for humans & plenty of green space on either side for canine sniffing.

As nice as Blowing Rock is, the best part is getting there via the Blue Ridge Parkway. Everyone likes to go in the Fall to see the colors but in the winter you can really see the landscape. Be sure to stop at the lookouts & appreciate the vistas.

Room Tip: When traveling with a dog always check with management first. Not every room allows pets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank BeccaLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Great Inn, comfy beds, doggies treats in the room was a nice touch, reasonable prices, pet friendly, very clean and nice owners, walking distance to everything. We will return anytime we are in the area. The Drye's 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed at the Homestead inn for New Years and had the best time ever Caroline made reservations at best cellar had a wonderful meal I would have Caroline make reservation for you everything was perfect her husband Rob was driving other customers to canyons we had him drive us to twigs so we could have a glass of champagne for new year Rob picked us up at one and on the way home the police had someone pulled giving them a test . It was great knowing we were save . Wat a Great time again if you are going to Blowingrock this is the only place to stay thanks again Caroline and Rob happy new year you will see us again John and Cindy

Room Tip: Get a room with fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
0.5 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 16 in Blowing Rock
635 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
0.3 mi away
The Village Inns of Blowing Rock: Village Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 16 in Blowing Rock
476 reviews
0.2 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn
Meadowbrook Inn
#7 of 16 in Blowing Rock
371 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Village Inns of Blowing Rock: Hillwinds Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homestead Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestead Inn

Address: 153 Morris St, PO Box 1030, Blowing Rock, NC 28605-9026
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Blowing Rock
Price Range: $75 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Homestead Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homestead Inn is awesome! Rooms are quaint, cozy, and immaculate! Rooms include Highspeed internet fridge, micro, coffee pot,flat screen tv with DVD players, hairdryer. Some rooms have fireplace, and or jacuzzi, efficiency. All newly remodeled rooms for 2011. We are located in a beautiful setting in walking distance to downtown. minutes from the ski slopes and all other Blowing Rock attractions,including the Blue Ridge Parkway We provide a swing, gazebo, picnic table and grill area.We are known for our award winning gardens and flowers. Come stay at the Homestead, your "home away from home". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Homestead Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Hotel Blowing Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing