We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere, mediocre food”
Review of Bistro Roca

Bistro Roca
Reserve with OpenTable
Bistro Roca is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 48 Restaurants in Blowing Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: One of Blowing Rock's most popular restaurants, Bistro Roca serves inventive American Bistro cuisine from Chef Seth Parker in a rustic yet elegant setting. Bistro Roca's superb staff combines efficient service with gracious hospitality and will delight you with a great selection of wines and mixed drinks from Antlers Bar
Boone, NC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, mediocre food”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I don't eat meat so this is a rather subjective review. If you're vegetarian, I don't recommend the entrees at all - especially during the weekends. I've eaten there many times, trying different fish or vegetarian options and have been very disappointed the majority of the time. I paid $18 for the absolute worst vegetarian entree I've ever had: cold potato salad, and the rest was unrecognizable.The accompanying salad is good, however. Lunches are somewhat better. The atmosphere is unbeatable in Blowing Rock though - that's what brings me back on a snowy evening. And the wine selection is great.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank g0gurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    705
    255
    84
    21
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
57 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful atmosphere, service, and FOOD!”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

on a Saturday night you can expect a wait, but it's worth it, and if you can wait in the bar area, you will be surrounded by hundreds of black and white photographs of pups, a couple of cats, and a couple of horses. Wonderful! I had the mountain trout special, which I ordered with hesitation because of a bad experience with fishy trout (at a different restaurant). Our cute as a button waitress assured me it was not fishy, and she was right. Very mild, cooked to perfection, served with grits and asparagus. I also had the good sense to upgrade to a wedge salad (it was $4 extra, which is steep) but oh so delish. YUMMY. Will go back here for sure! A one and a half block off of main street walk, and it was lovely too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“I could eat there every day!”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

What a beautiful setting and the restaurant was so cozy inside. Loved the food and very reasonably priced. Service was outstanding.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cricket W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Blown away in Blowing Rock”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is a great restaurant tucked away in a neighborhood off the beaten path of Blowing Rock and it is worth looking for. There were 6 very unique appetites in our party and all were impressed. We were there for the brunch menu which I think is only served on Sunday's. Great menu with lots of options. Service was fantastic. Atmosphere was quaint and lodge-like.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joan0213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
243 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

This is my favorite place to eat in Blowing Rock. It is an unexpected restaurant on a street of houses, The menu is unique. The service is good. I had the Kobe Tri tip tonight. It was so flavorful with an nice accompaniment of fingerling potatoe and flavorful greens. The wine selection is nice, We ate late at 8pm and it was packed. Make reservations.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carync6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Roca also viewed

Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Bistro Roca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing