We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bistro Roca”
Review of Bistro Roca

Bistro Roca
Reserve with OpenTable
Bistro Roca is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 48 Restaurants in Blowing Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: One of Blowing Rock's most popular restaurants, Bistro Roca serves inventive American Bistro cuisine from Chef Seth Parker in a rustic yet elegant setting. Bistro Roca's superb staff combines efficient service with gracious hospitality and will delight you with a great selection of wines and mixed drinks from Antlers Bar
Meadows of Dan, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bistro Roca”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Great Food! This was a great place to eat with great service. I enjoyed the scallops! My husband said it was the best steak ever!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    694
    250
    84
    21
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fine food and service in a casual atmosphere”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We liked this restaurant so much we ate here for lunch and dinner. The food is excellent as is the service. You don't have to dress up but get the upscale experience. We found the prices quite reasonable. We would eat here again!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank bch2237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
Level Contributor
95 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good food marred by too many mistakes”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Went here with friends and while the food was good--which of course is what mostly matters in a restaurant--there were so many little quibbles that interrupted our enjoyment of the food that I have to take this review from 4 stars down to 3. Our friends, who live in Blowing Rock, had requested a specific table when they made the reservation, and we got there to find the table was taken. Two people ordered salad appetizers, two ordered soup. The soups never arrived. When we asked about it, the waiter said it was taking a while to get them ready. I don't know for sure, but unless this is a super-finicky chef, most of the time soup is made in advance and it's simply ladled out of the pot, and some toppings added...."it's taking a while to get ready" sounds like an excuse for "I forgot". To be fair, they didn't charge for the soups. Two people ordered items with small changes (sauce on the side, and a switch in vegetables) and neither one was honored, although, again, the waiter did fix both oversights. The place just seemed sloppily run. And a personal pet peeve---the chairs, while super comfy, were too low for the table. I felt like a 5 year old who needed a booster seat. Loud, too.

A good place if you're a local, I suppose, but not worth a special trip if you're visiting from out of town.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EllenRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
87 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Ate with a large group”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Since we were 16 people, they asked us to choose from a limited menu - they gave a us a fabulous selection and the meal included appetizer, salad, entree' and dessert. The service was wonderful.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank PrtyGrl9014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
205 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Awesome food. Glad we ended up here!”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Our family stopped by Bistro Roca on the way back from Labor Day weekend in Boone after finding Foggy Rock closed for the Holiday. Everything was great - excellent service, tasty food that was unique and interesting and something for everyone. We especially enjoyed the eggplant frites, but everything was prepared with fresh ingredients and generous portions. I'm looking forward to visiting again next time I'm in the area. They have an informative web site (http://www.bistroroca.com) but let me add that the pictures don't do them justice. Go judge for yourself. You won't be sorry.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doc_Brower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Roca also viewed

Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Bistro Roca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing