We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Meadowbrook Inn(Blowing Rock)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/26
Book now, pay at stay
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock(Blowing Rock)(Great Value!)
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 07/25
Book now, pay at stay
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 07/25
Book now, pay at stay
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South(Blowing Rock)(Great Value!)
$94
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cliff Dwellers Inn(Blowing Rock)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boxwood Lodge(Blowing Rock)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/29
Book now, pay at stay
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas(Blowing Rock)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/27
Book now, pay at stay
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpine Village Inn(Blowing Rock)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/25
Book now, pay at stay
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Green Park Inn(Blowing Rock)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/27
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (665)
Filter reviews
665 results
Traveler rating
573
69
18
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
573
69
18
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunrise suitefrench roomcarriage roomprivate patiocolonial roomthe blue roomselect registrysoaking tubthe blue ridge mountainsbreathtaking viewschocolate covered strawberriesb bsbreakfast was deliciousturn down serviceback porchget awaymaster bedroom
Filter
Updating list...
638 - 643 of 665 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2009

Our weekend could not have been nicer. The staff was friendly and very accommodating. Breakfast in the morning was perfect. I would highly recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcs83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2009

We've been staying at Gideon Ridge for about 10 years now on our trips down the Blue Ridge Parkway. Since we stay at the Park facilities for all the rest of the trip, Gideon is always the one or two nights when we can eat and sleep in luxurious comfort. It is always quiet, always clean, always comfortable ~ and we love the little added touches, like the bedtime truffles or the chocolate covered strawberries! The views from the rooms vary, just as the personality of each room varies. And while we have our favorites, we have never been disappointed. Everyone is so pleasant, and we anxiously await the morning breakfast surprise (the blueberry stuffed French Toast being my personal favorite!) Please don't change a thing ~ other than to bring back the morning fruit smoothie! We missed that this visit! And we hope that you will be planting more flowers along the front of the building ~ it looks so different without them!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2009

We stayed at Gideon Ridge for two nights in late August to celebrte our anniversary. It was wonderful! The accommodations were great and all of the staff were extremely helpful. The food was terrific! We look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k2ands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2009

My husband and I wanted to stay in a nice place for our anniversary and we chose this B&B because it seemed to be something special. We've stayed at several B&Bs in the US and in England. Overall (and in comparison to the US B&Bs) it was a pretty good experience, but it was overpriced for the experience we had.

We stayed in the Old Master room for two nights; it was $300 a night. The room was clean and spacious and pleasantly decorated. It was a nice king bed. You could hear people in the room upstairs though. The terrace that is accessible from the room wwas pleasant; however, it was not private as it was accessible to other guests. The terrace did not have a good view. The best view is actually from the parking lot. The bathroom was sufficient, but the shower tiles still had some mildew around them. Linens and the bathroom amenities (soap and shampoo) were nice.

The community rooms/areas are handsome and inviting. Unfortunately, since this is a large B&B, we had competition to use those areas.

We were around for one afternoon tea, which was pleasant as we were outside on the terrace and looking over the better view of the mountains. Breakfast was good, but nothing exceptional. Also, breakfast was at 8:30 to 9:30 - that was a bit rigid and seemed to cause more havoc for the staff (several folks showing up at once).

The staff should have been more hospitable, especially for $300 a night. When we arrived there, no one really explained the community areas, as there are several rooms that are guest use and they did not point out the kitchenette area where guests could help themselves to drinks. There was also no other assistance from the staff as to suggestions of area activities; although, they were more than willing to bend over backwards to help with setting up a tee time for the golfing guests, of which there were several. There was one girl who was doing the checking out and waiting tables for breakfast. She was doing her best, but she was just barely managing. Again, at $300 a night, hire someone to help her!

Other B&Bs we have stayed in have some kind of information book in the room (information on things to do in the area, restaurants, history, etc.). This one did not. Instead, they had two copies of a book of the "Distinguished Inns of the US" where the Gideon Ridge was listed. That was not helpful at all and gave a bad impression.

Overall, I think the Inn is trying to be too posh. I did not think that they made you feel welcome and instead focused on the unnecessary details (cocktails, chocolates at night, afternoon tea, brag book in the room). We've had better B&B experiences for less money.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank purpleapple7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2009

I do not think you could find a better choice. The Inn is absolutely beautiful in a beautiful setting. The room was clean and would match any High End Hotel any day. This was my first trip to a B&B and I was throughly impressed. The staff was more than pleasant and took the time to talk to you with any questions you might have. Cannot wait till the next get-a-way weekend. A little pricey but well worth the experience. Don't hesitate

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtscan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews