We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant Accommodations in a Fabulous Setting”
Review of Gideon Ridge Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blowing Rock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gideon Ridge Inn
Ranked #1 of 10 Blowing Rock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 5, 2009

On a driving trip through North Carolina's mountains, we were fortunate enough to get a one-night weekday stay at Gideon Ridge. We had a beautiful, elegant bedroom on the first floor of this former private home of a wealthy family, and we felt as though we were guests of the family in a bygone era. We enjoyed afternoon tea with teasandwiches and scones in the parlor in front of the roaring fireplace while the wind swayed the trees outside. Although dinner wasn't being served at the inn the evening we were there, the innkeeper was very helpful in making reservations for us at the Bistro Roca just a short drive away in Blowing Rock. We had a great meal there, and a wonderful night's sleep to the wind in the trees-the inn is very near the famous "blowing rock," and is indeed on a ridge, so there are views all around. In the morning we enjoyed a delicious breakfast in the bright sunny dining room. There were juices and cereals on a buffet to start, then we were served a fruit smoothie and then delicious plated breakfast, along with all the coffee we cared for. We would highly recommend Gideon Ridge Inn to travellers to Blowing Rock.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank berwind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (631)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

620 - 626 of 631 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2009

The Gideon Inn is the favorite get-a-way location for my wife and I. We have stayed multiple times now and love it. It's location on top of a 3,990 foot mountain and proximity to the village of Blowing Rock, NC is perfect for us. It is an refurbished estate home that offers outstanding views of the mountains from its homey great room and the relaxing veranda and sculptured gardens. The guest rooms are well appointed, the beds comfortable and offers your own private bathroom. Additionally, the Inn boasts a locally well regarded restaurant with an innovative top-notch chef and great service. The breakfast and tea in the afternoon are a treat as well. Simply put, we regard this Inn as the best that we have ever visited--and we have been to a few. We'll be back again, too!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donja2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2009

Wow! Incredible inn! Fabulous staff! Wonderful breakfast! The view is amazing. The decor is stunning. Even if you only lived in Boone (a few minutes away), you would feel like you were at a resort o the other side of the world.

Voted the best hotel on the entire Banff Mountain Film Festival World Tour (and those people spend up to 6 months in a hotel, checking into a new place every couple nights).

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlamae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2009

My husband gave me this wonderful getaway for Christmas. It was a great surprise, but we had stayed in the inn back in the fall. Although the weather was rainy and very, very foggy it was a perfect weekend. We ate, shopped, played, slept and read books by our fireplace. I am really glad we had this chance to get away. The inn is beautiful and most accommodating. The service is impeccable, the dinner at the inn was delicious and just the best atmosphere to enjoy one anothers company. We have reservations again in the fall.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TennesseeBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2009

The Grandfather Mountain room was beatiful and very comfortable. The view from our balcony was incredible. The service and all the little extras were very well planned and the staff was just as awesome! We ate dinner at the restaraunt, "G" which is also part of the inn. It was yummy, delicious, tasty, spectacular, and any ather good tasting words you might think of. I know I will got back to visit in the spring, summer, and fall to experience all four seasons of beauty the Gideon Ridge will have to offer!

Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank BillFrizel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2009

I couldn't have imagined a more amazing experience. My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay - the accommodations were exceptionally comfortable, the food was exquisitely delectable, the atmosphere was extraordinarily tranquil, and the staff was incomparable! I think we've found our "home away from home".

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauralove719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2009

My husband and I were looking for a quick weekend getaway in the North Carolina mountains and after reviewing B&B websites and reading reviews on TripAdvisor we chose Gideon Ridge. We were not disappointed as the location was convenient but quiet and remote (just a quick drive to Main Street), the grounds were beautiful, and the B&B was clean and beautifully decorated. We appreciated the little things at Gideon Ridge; such as making sodas, waters and tea easily accessible to guests at all hours, and providing good quality travel toiletries (Aveda) as we forgot to pack our own shampoo/conditioner. We returned from dinner to find our fireplace lit and our bed turned down. The bed was very comfortable, and breakfast was very yummy.

We've been to more than a few B&B's, and many struggle with finding a balance between homey and historic, and feeling like you're staying at your Grandma's house. Gideon Ridge offered the upscale feel of a luxury hotel with all the warmth and charm of a B&B. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jenniwithani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
1.7 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 16 in Blowing Rock
645 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 16 in Blowing Rock
492 reviews
1.6 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn
Meadowbrook Inn
#7 of 16 in Blowing Rock
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
1.7 mi away
Cliff Dwellers Inn
Cliff Dwellers Inn
#8 of 16 in Blowing Rock
126 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Village Inns Of Blowing Rock: The Ridgeway Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gideon Ridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gideon Ridge Inn

Address: 202 Gideon Ridge Rd, PO Box 1929, Blowing Rock, NC 28605-6400
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Blowing Rock
Price Range: $160 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gideon Ridge Inn is ten delightful guest rooms with mountain breezes, French doors and stone terraces. Intimate walking paths through elegant gardens. Ceiling fans and wicker chairs. Antiques and good books. Fine breakfasts to linger over. Earl Grey Tea and fresh-baked shortbread cookies to savor. Bedrooms with warm fireplaces and comfortable sitting areas. Crisp cotton bed linens and well-appointed bathrooms. And in the library, a grand piano with a breathtaking view of the mountains. Really! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gideon Ridge Hotel Blowing Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing