We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gideon Ridge Inn
Nearby Hotels
Meadowbrook Inn(Blowing Rock)(Great Value!)
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South(Blowing Rock)(Great Value!)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas(Blowing Rock)(Great Value!)
$99
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cliff Dwellers Inn(Blowing Rock)(Great Value!)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boxwood Lodge(Blowing Rock)(Great Value!)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Green Park Inn(Blowing Rock)(Great Value!)
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock(Blowing Rock)(Great Value!)
$179
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (648)
Filter reviews
648 results
Traveler rating
558
68
17
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
558
68
17
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunrise suitefrench roomcarriage roomprivate patiocolonial roomthe blue roomselect registrysoaking tubthe blue ridge mountainsbreathtaking viewsbreakfast was deliciousturn down serviceback porchget awaymaster bedroomgas fireplacewe've stayed
Filter
Updating list...
321 - 326 of 648 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We were visiting a friend in North Carolina and he arranged for us to stay here. We had no expectations since our friend made the arrangements but we were very pleasantly surprised. The grounds are beautiful as well as the view of the mountains. We stayed in the Grandfather View room and it was very spacious for our family of 3. We could see Grandfather Mountain from our room. We checked in, had afternoon tea, played pool in the basement with cocktails, then had a wonderful dinner. The chef even came out to check on us. When we told him we were from California he prepared some foie gras for us since we cannot have it back home. That night was so quiet and peaceful, even though it is an old structure, we really could not hear people in the neighboring rooms. The rooms have all been updated with modern amenities. The following morning we had a wonderful breakfast, walked the grounds, and checked out.

The staff here is so attentive providing very personalized care to all of the guests. We had a truly unforgettable time here. Recommended as a great place to get away and just enjoy the peaceful and quiet surroundings.

Room Tip: Grandfather View room is the largest room so perfect for a young family. My 11 year old daughter slept on the pullout sofa while my wife and I were on the luxurious king bed.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luckydog28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Wonderful Inn. Beautifully maintained, top notch amenities, and staff that is available and willing to help to do anything to make your stay perfect. everything we needed to have a relaxing time was provided. We even received an acknowledgement of our anniversary when we arrived. This is the second time we have stayed here and it was as wonderful as they last time we stayed.

Room Tip: The sunrise suite is very private and has amazing views of the mountains from both the room and the private patio.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Love this inn - celebrated a college graduation and Mother's Day and there is no better place to stay in my opinion! The breakfasts in the sunny breakfast room are lovely, and the beds are comfortable. It is peaceful and quiet - truly restorative!

Room Tip: All the rooms are fabulous.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reeblinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We've returned after 4 years for another stay at the Gideon Ridge. It's as lovely as we remembered it with beautifully appointed rooms, breakfast made with the freshest ingredients, afternoon tea to restore, and marvelous quiet rooms to read, chat, share a bottle of wine…..the views are lovely and the grounds delightful.

The road works in Blowing Rock must be a trial for all who have to live with it this long. That said, it's not as quiet as it usually is at Gideon Ridge because the noise from the road works seems to climb right up the mountain. Certainly not the fault of the good people at the B&B and there's nothing to be done for it. I wish them well as they will one day return to the peace they've always provided for those of us lucky enough to return….hopefully sooooon.

Room Tip: The Grandfather Suite is so comfortable with the bonus of a large private porch.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancster070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

This place is just perfect for a getaway. My husband and I were taking a spring trip through the mountains and I had searched pretty intensly in finding the perfect spot, and boy did I. This was just perfect. The staff is really helpful and assist with any needs. They show you around and let you know this is an old house but has been restored as a great stay. The views are amazing.
It has no elevator as it is a home, so be careful as to not overpack when staying in one of the upstair rooms. We had the Grandfather Room, and once I sat down in that chair looking over Grandfather mountain, I did not want to get up, it was mezmerising to say the least. Has a huge soaking tub, and a really nice stone shower with nice amenities. The rooms have no phone but offer one at the check in area, and cell service they said was spotty, but mine seemed to be fine during our stay, but you not there to be on a phone anyway. This is just nothing but perfect and the staff was simply outstanding. Would not hesitate to ever stay here again.

Room Tip: I think any room would be a good room, but I have to say the Grandfather Room was perfect for us.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dkroberson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews