We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and Romantic”
Review of Gideon Ridge Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blowing Rock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gideon Ridge Inn
Ranked #1 of 10 Blowing Rock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We have stayed at Gideon Ridge many times, and have never been disappointed! Each room has its own special charm and appeal, and all provide the ultimate in comfort. Little things make for big surprises ~ the nightly turn down service, the plate of special cookies or candies, the weather forecast print out for the next few days. Bigger things make for even bigger delights ~ the fluffy robes, the huge bath sheets, the heavenly comfort of the bedding, the gas fireplaces.
Gideon Ridge is the only place we consider when in the Blowing Rock area ~ and when making a Blue Ridge Parkway trip end to end, staying at parkway concessions the whole way, Gideon Ridge is where we take a day or two to totally pamper and indulge ourselves!! The setting of the Inn is private and secluded but only a couple of minutes from downtown Blowing Rock ~ porches just beg for you to sit and drink in the vistas or the peace and quiet. We have loved each visit, and plan to enjoy many more!

Room Tip: The Blue Room has great cross ventilation in the summers, the Victorian is very romantic, the Studio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (613)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 613 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013

This was our second year in a row at Gideon Ridge and we plan to return many more times. Gideon Ridge was a home built in the 1930s. It has a rustic-elegant feel about it that makes one feel right at home - very comfortable. The most spectular thing is the uninterrupted views of the beautiful rolling Blue Ridge Mountains at every vantage point on the property. My favorite thing to do is relax on the back covered patio sipping my tea and just taking in the views. It's a wonderful place to relax and unwind. I always appreciate their 4:00 tea each day. The food is very well thought out - much of it from local farms. Another thoughtful amenity is the pantry with a stocked refridgerator of sodas and bottled water. Our room was big with a gas fireplace and private bath and the most amazing views of the mountains. The staff was kind and friendly and always helpful when we had questions. This really is a gem of a B&B and we hope to return again and again.

Room Tip: The Old Master and the Blue Room are fantastic rooms with fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Overall, extremely pleased with the Gideon Ridge Inn. This is a great place to stay if you want the B&B experience without being bothered and/or having to engage with other guests. Although the staff were eager to provide recommendations and directions, we never quite felt like we were getting the "insider's guide" to Blowing Rock. Our room (sunrise view) was very nice and had spectacular views! We could have spent most of our time just sitting outside on the private patio looking at the mountains. Dinner at the restaurant is NOT to be missed-- well thought out menu which changes bi-monthly and is sourced locally. You can walk to "the" blowing rock which provided a great view of nearby Grandfather mountain.

Our only disappointment was tea time which did not seem to provide enough tea or treats for all the guests attending. Small detail however, for the price I expected a bit more. We never met the innkeepers and never fully engaged with any of the guests. Perhaps it was just the nature of the guests at the time (mostly older couples).

Overall, great little gem in Blowing Rock and I would return!

Room Tip: Sunrise room has a spectacular view and a private entrance. Beware, you can hear the commotion from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mredfea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We felt cared for by the staff, and unwound on the back porch gazing at the stellar view of the Blue Ridge Mountains. Very relaxing lounge areas here, and the beds are very comfortable.

The breakfast options are limited for vegetarians, and even though I called twice before we arrived to make sure there would be vegetarian options, we arrived at breakfast with very limited options. There is a lot of ham on the menu, and the grits we tried tasted like they were cooked in pork. The first morning there was no fruit available, only shredded wheat cereal and the oatmeal on the menu for vegetarians. Would have liked a bit more for the cost of staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdventureHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend at Gideon Ridge. The management and service staffs were warm, friendly and professional. The accommodations, views and dining experiences were exceptional. We thoroughly enjoyed hanging out and getting to know everyone. The cozy, yet spacious, dining, library and terrace arrangements were ideal for mingling with an eclectic group of guests. We will return many times for sure.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ST8MAN78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

My husband and I did not stay at the Inn, but dined in the restaurant one Saturday night. The views from the terrace are breathtaking, so my husband indulged me in agreeing to dine at a restaurant with a limited menu. We had a choice of only 4 entrees. Both of us chose the Beef Tenderloin. We started off with two appetizers, a duck crostini and a flank steak tortilla. Both were good. Not to die for, but good. Then the Tenderloin arrived, and for me, it was fine. For my husband (and at 32 dollars), it was a portion size that was too small. I'd say, maybe 6oz cooked. A bit too precious for the cost, in our opinion. The preparation was good, with polenta and a delicious sauce to accompany the beef. That left room for dessert. We ordered a chocolate cake that had cinnamon in it. Too dry. No off-setting cream or ice cream to go with it; that was disappointing. Along with a bottle of wine (Cabernet) that was about $50 -- the going price for most bottles on the wine list-- the entire meal was over $150. Pricey for our satisfaction level. We have spent over $300 before on a meal at another restaurant that is to this day, memorable. While this setting was memorable, the meal was not. We would not return.

Room Tip: Daylight hours will give you a view from the terrace. That view is not to be missed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank SAVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed for three nights in the Old Masters room during the last week of Aug. We love this inn! The Old Masters room is very large, with a fireplace, beautiful furnishings, a comfortable bed, and a large private terrace. I had the opportunity to view many of the other rooms one day while we were there - and while each room is different, each is very special in its own way. I don't think you could be disappointed in any room. The breakfasts were heavenly with many choices, and the best coffee! They have a nice, help yourself butler's pantry with everything you could need and they serve afternoon tea and appetizers in the late afternoon. The restaurant is open tues - sat so we ate there 2 nights and the food, service and setting were wonderful. I also love their beautifully maintained gardens. Nooks and paths leading to private settings in every direction. Just gorgeous. The staff is outstanding and very attentive. The staff made recommendations on things to do during the day and wow - never heard of Moses Cohen park before, but what wonderful hiking - thanks for the info! We needed to leave early on the last day - so they even prepared a breakfast and put it in the butler's pantry for us. Someone has put a lot of thought into the design and maintenance of this inn, this is what a luxury B&B/ small inn should be. Thanks for the great stay.

Room Tip: I don't think you could pick a bad room- go on line and look at the pictures. Next time I want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmbjdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
1.7 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 16 in Blowing Rock
629 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 16 in Blowing Rock
471 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Village Inns of Blowing Rock: Village Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
1.6 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn
Meadowbrook Inn
#6 of 16 in Blowing Rock
368 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cliff Dwellers Inn
Cliff Dwellers Inn
#8 of 16 in Blowing Rock
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gideon Ridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gideon Ridge Inn

Address: 202 Gideon Ridge Rd, PO Box 1929, Blowing Rock, NC 28605-6400
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Blowing Rock
Price Range: $160 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gideon Ridge Inn is ten delightful guest rooms with mountain breezes, French doors and stone terraces. Intimate walking paths through elegant gardens. Ceiling fans and wicker chairs. Antiques and good books. Fine breakfasts to linger over. Earl Grey Tea and fresh-baked shortbread cookies to savor. Bedrooms with warm fireplaces and comfortable sitting areas. Crisp cotton bed linens and well-appointed bathrooms. And in the library, a grand piano with a breathtaking view of the mountains. Really! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gideon Ridge Hotel Blowing Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing