We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit disappointing”
Review of Gideon Ridge Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blowing Rock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gideon Ridge Inn
Ranked #1 of 10 Blowing Rock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This B&B turned out to be not as great as advertised. The room we had reserved smelled musty and mildewy, my sinuses began to close up immediately. The staff was great about letting us choose another room as the inn was nearly empty. BOth rooms were lovely and we did enjoy the lounge area and a pool game downstairs later in the evening. However, there was no evening gathering since we were practically the only inhabitants. Additionally, breakfast the next morning was certainly not as advertsied in the Select Registry catalog. We had one choice - eggs any way we wanted them. This was accompanied by 2 slices of some sort of quick bread. Very, very disappointing. As a side note, we had dinner in the inn at Restaurant G. While my meat was very good it was accompanied by grilled spring onions, allegedly. This turned out to be a long fibrous item that was impossible to eat. When I spoke to the waiter about it he was very apologetic. The chef, however, saw no reason to send out a different vegetable or do anyting to make amends. All in all, this was a disappointment and we would neither return to Gideon Ridge nor recommaned anyone else to do so.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terri V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (621)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

357 - 363 of 621 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed in the Sunrise Room. Total privacy and a beautiful sunrise patio with the most amazing view. Nikki was great and took care of everything. We were surprised with a 35th Anniversary champagne tray with chocolate covered strawberries, so thoughtful. Afternoon tea was nicely done with the most delicious scones and banana bread. This was our first visit and I hope we will be back soon. Thanks everyone at Gideon Ridge, you are wonderful and we enjoyed every minute. The Buchanan's

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenileighb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The staff was very nice, welcoming and accommodating! We stayed in the Sunrise View Suite that had it's own private patio and entrance separate from the house that we loved! The views were Great! They brought yummy breakfast to our room each morning. We ate dinner at the Inn's Restaurant and were blown away with the menu! The Chef was excellent! We would recommend this room and plan to go back! :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We had a fantastic time for the weekend while staying at Gideon Ridge Inn. We had a little problem on the way there and you helped resolve the problem. Our car radiator exploded about 50 yards from the Inn and Ann, the Inn Keeper, was kind enough to come and pick us up, help us arrange towing for the car and searched for a rental on our behalf. She went way out of her way. This is what we soon found was the norm for the Inn. Everyone was extremely helpful and courteous. Pretty much any question you asked they new the answer. They went above and beyond what we expected. Thanks for making our weekend what we had hoped.

Room Tip: All the rooms have different views and are of different sizes. The staff can help you tailor your v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rickol948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

A group of ten friends arrived tired and wet and received a most warm and welcoming reception including wine and a cheerful fire.
The stone building was built as a summer residence but for the past 30 plus years has been run as an Inn by one family.Views are spectacular. Each room (of the five we occupied) had a gas fire place. Beds were comfortable and rooms quiet.
The most impressive aspect is the staff. To a person they couldn't do more for us from drying drenched riding gear to finding some wire to fix a mechanical issue on one of the bikes. All done cheerfully and quickly and often without being asked.
Dinner (separate review coming) was superb.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wineo1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Wife and I have been returning to the Gideon Ridge Inn at least once a year for the past fourteen years. It is sincerely one of the highlights of our year, and we've met many couples who are as fiercely loyal to the Gideon as we are.

Peaceful. Quiet. Off the grid. Great place to reconnect. Beautiful Inn and natural surroundings set high on the mountain. Pristine, beautiful views of the Blue Ridge. Wonderful breakfasts. Unique, cozy rooms.

The staff is always friendly and attentive, happy to help with a dinner recommendation (even making the reservation!) or special requests. Strange, but it's almost a family atmosphere (I mean that in a good way). They work very hard at being sensitive to how much (or little) assistance you want.

Rooms are all unique and very well appointed. Beds are all comfortable. Gas fireplaces are a hit in the cooler months. My wife and I prefer the downstairs rooms, as they have wonderful outside stone terraces. Great for summertime lounging.

Breakfasts are a high point to the stay as well. Great featured meals, or just let them know your own request! Great views of the grounds and mountains from the dining room. Restaurant G serves multi-course dinners in the evenings and is fabulous.

The main den area has a large stone fireplace and is a great gathering place to meet folks during the afternoon for tea.

The village of Blowing Rock is a great place as well, just a short five minute ride from the Inn. Beyond the touristy elements, it has great parks and walking options, some very nice shopping and dining options.

Overall, a tremendous high country lodge experience! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JTraveler28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We were totally captivated by the inn and the placement of the inn on a ridge overlooking the Blue Ridge Mountains. The service was excellent. The rooms and common areas immaculate. We had a stone floor covered porch overlooking the mountains and the gardens of the inn. We felt like we never wanted to leave.

Room Tip: Since the inn was full the week we were there, we could not explore all the rooms. We stayed in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shapsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
1.7 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 16 in Blowing Rock
635 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 16 in Blowing Rock
475 reviews
1.6 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn
Meadowbrook Inn
#6 of 16 in Blowing Rock
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Cliff Dwellers Inn
Cliff Dwellers Inn
#8 of 16 in Blowing Rock
123 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Village Inns of Blowing Rock: Village Inn
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gideon Ridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gideon Ridge Inn

Address: 202 Gideon Ridge Rd, PO Box 1929, Blowing Rock, NC 28605-6400
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Blowing Rock
Price Range: $160 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gideon Ridge Inn is ten delightful guest rooms with mountain breezes, French doors and stone terraces. Intimate walking paths through elegant gardens. Ceiling fans and wicker chairs. Antiques and good books. Fine breakfasts to linger over. Earl Grey Tea and fresh-baked shortbread cookies to savor. Bedrooms with warm fireplaces and comfortable sitting areas. Crisp cotton bed linens and well-appointed bathrooms. And in the library, a grand piano with a breathtaking view of the mountains. Really! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gideon Ridge Hotel Blowing Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing