We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming in Every Way”
Review of Gideon Ridge Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blowing Rock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gideon Ridge Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Blowing Rock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Menifee, CA
Level Contributor
114 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Charming in Every Way”
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We can't begin to tell you how pleased we were with our stay. After a very long day's drive (due to getting lost twice and encountering a detour), we were so happy to arrive at Gideon Ridge Inn. The welcome was extremely warm (kudos to Thea!), and the accommodations and food were both excellent. We stayed in The Studio and loved the fireplace, the numerous views from the room... even from the very large bathroom. The downstairs sitting area with its large fireplace was a natural gathering spot, and we enjoyed visiting with the other guests over the yummy high tea. The screened porch must be terrific in the summer. Definitely eat dinner there if they are serving; we both had duck which was perfectly cooked and served. And breakfast was varied and delicious with a free floor show of the squirrels and chipmunks racing around the yard. Wonderful mountain location... only wish the Gideon Ridge Inn wasn't on the other side of the continent, or we'd be back in a flash!

Room Tip: The Studio has a king-sized bed and an extra twin should you need it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    58
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
43
462
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winston-Salem, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

The staff was outstanding, the breakfast and tea delicious, and the accomodations so comfortable. Wonderful opportunity to visit with interesting people from other places and to shop in Blowing Rock. We highly recommend this treasure.

Room Tip: No bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

We had an amazing stay at this inn. Highly recommend the Sunrise room, fantastic views of the sun coming up from your bed! The room also had a sitting area inside the room, and a private patio overlooking the mountains just outside the door.

The food was outstanding. Definitely have dinner at the inn, fine food, only a handful of tables, and great sunset views while you wait for your dinner. There are three options for breakfast which is nice, cheese scones at tea time the day we stayed there.

Blowing Rock is a charming town, and the surrounding area is really magnificent for driving, hiking in the mountains.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank visitorfromDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We loved our stay at the beautiful Gideon Ridge Inn and thoroughly enjoyed the gracious hospitality. We stayed in two different rooms, the French room and the Grandfather suite, and were pleased with both. This inn has views of both the sunrise and sunset. What more could you ask for in the mountains?! We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cberry55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed in the Victorian Room. It had a lot of natural light and and a nice deck attached to the room. The bathroom was pretty dated though. The experience was great, we are already planning our trip back next year!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pharo68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

We stayed in the Sunrise View Suite which is the only room/suite on the left side of the inn and so very private. The view was indeed spectacular and we got some amazing photos. The room was luxurious and rustic, roomy and cozy, all at once. (One note of suggestion: I'm just under 5' and could have used a little step-stool to get into the cloud-like king-sized bed. Also, we didn't expect a TV in the suite, which would have been fine with us; but there is a flatscreen, DVD player and small DVD library.) The hospitality was wonderful and all the food was excellent. We had one of the best meals ever at the onsite Restaurant G. Order the St. Germain/orange cocktail to enjoy in the library or your room ...heaven. Next time, we hope Christopher isn't taking off for vacation. We met him the night we arrived and he seemed just delightful.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tada1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2012

This inn enjoys a great location with exceptional views. The grounds were particularly beautiful, and the dinner at Restaurant G was outstanding.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwilkin3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
1.7 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
1.6 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
#4 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
#10 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ridgeway Inn
Ridgeway Inn
#9 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gideon Ridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gideon Ridge Inn

Property: Gideon Ridge Inn
Address: 202 Gideon Ridge Rd, PO Box 1929, Blowing Rock, NC 28605-6400
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Blowing Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gideon Ridge Inn is ten delightful guest rooms with mountain breezes, French doors and stone terraces. Intimate walking paths through elegant gardens. Ceiling fans and wicker chairs. Antiques and good books. Fine breakfasts to linger over. Earl Grey Tea and fresh-baked shortbread cookies to savor. Bedrooms with warm fireplaces and comfortable sitting areas. Crisp cotton bed linens and well-appointed bathrooms. And in the library, a grand piano with a breathtaking view of the mountains. Really! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gideon Ridge Hotel Blowing Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing