We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, cool, peaceful, friendly staff”
Review of Gideon Ridge Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blowing Rock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gideon Ridge Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Blowing Rock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiet, cool, peaceful, friendly staff”
Reviewed June 17, 2011

First time, nice place. Beautiful old stone home with nice rooms,great views, quiet. Several nice places in the gardens to walk around and sit and relax,enjoy the views and check out the birds in the yard. Nice breakfast, afternoon tea, great dinner and wine list.

Room Tip: Check out their web site for pictures.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveW0217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    513
    61
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
45
470
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2011

Relaxing, welcoming, beautiful, comfortable.

My favorite room is the Sunrise View. Wonderful bed, views and privacy.

Blowing Rock is a wonderful little town, hiking at Moses Cone park, shopping on Main Street and many good restaurants.

Room Tip: They do offer pet friendly rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusieK53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Stayed one night. Arrived about 4:00 pm Friday and did not leave Inn until checkout on Saturday at noon. Enjoyed a delightful tea upon arrival, found a good mystery to read from the library, followed by a nap in the lovely Victorian room with fireplace and picture view of garden from room and balcony. Enjoyed a nice, quite dinner at the Inn on a rainy, foggy night then had a peaceful sleep with fresh
mountain air. The next morning had a delicious and hardy breakfast served in the room and enjoyed reading the mystery book. Restful and great service. Donna, the manager and the Innkeeers were kind to fulfill our requests. After checkout we then took a long mountain hike and picnic lunch at the nearby Cone estate. The Gideon Ridge Inn also has an interesting history which the innkeepers are very knowledgeable about.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catholi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed May 24, 2011

Relaxing atmosphere, superb staff. You will be a welcomed family member.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agrtextile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2011

We have been coming to the Gideon Ridge Inn for getaway weekends for over ten years. It is still as lovely and well-run as ever. We usually stay in the "Cedar Cottage," which is the only room in a separate building. The view from the veranda of the main building is spectacular. Generally, our experience is that the clientele skews a bit older, and often includes a couple who is renovating their own mountain getaway in the area. My husband is a big fan of the afternoon tea. The breakfast is great, and it is well worth having dinner at the inn one evening. There isn't a better restaurant in town, and you can drink all the wine you want without worrying about driving on windy roads!

Room Tip: The bigger rooms are also the most private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maybeinerror
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2011

I don't spend much time writing reviews, but after staying here for two nights, I couldn't resist. I came across Gideon Ridge on my way from Charlotte to Johnson City on business and was referred here by a friend.

It might be the cleanest, quaintest and peaceful places I have had the opportunity to visit in years! Filled with history and great views I would recommend this to anyone. I have visited many bed and breakfasts and Inns over the years but not one could hold a candle to Gideon Ridge.

I look forward to getting back there as soon as I can!

Make sure to ask for Christopher, he is a pleasure to meet and makes the visit a real treat.

GD

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nctraveler40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

This really is the most wonderful place to stay. As very weary travellers who had driven for 9 hours the welcome we received made the whole trip worthwhile. We were greeted with kindness, consideration and wine, and taken to the MOST beautiful cabin room which just made you want to curl up and stay for weeks. Our dinner reservations (sadly we were not there on a day when the inn serves dinner themselves) were in place and altered to suit our timings at a sister restaurant in town and Chris could not have done more to make us feel looked after.
The sad part was we had to leave the next morning, but we will definitely be back to enjoy the inn and its sublime location with views all around for much longer.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WDandAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
0.3 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
441 reviews
1.7 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 15 in Blowing Rock
603 reviews
1.6 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Blowing Rock
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
#9 of 15 in Blowing Rock
277 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
1.7 mi away
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas
#6 of 15 in Blowing Rock
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gideon Ridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gideon Ridge Inn

Property: Gideon Ridge Inn
Address: 202 Gideon Ridge Rd, PO Box 1929, Blowing Rock, NC 28605-6400
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Blowing Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gideon Ridge Inn is ten delightful guest rooms with mountain breezes, French doors and stone terraces. Intimate walking paths through elegant gardens. Ceiling fans and wicker chairs. Antiques and good books. Fine breakfasts to linger over. Earl Grey Tea and fresh-baked shortbread cookies to savor. Bedrooms with warm fireplaces and comfortable sitting areas. Crisp cotton bed linens and well-appointed bathrooms. And in the library, a grand piano with a breathtaking view of the mountains. Really! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gideon Ridge Hotel Blowing Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing