We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very small rooms, but clean” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Village Inn of Blowing Rock

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very small rooms, but clean”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights. Rooms were much smaller than other similar places we have stayed in BR. Rooms were very clean and had nice ammenities. Walls in the rooms are a little thin - can hear the tv of your neighbor. And cleaning crew was a little loud in the mornings walking by the room. Front desk lady at check-in was not very friendly, but the younger lady that was there later in the evening was very pleasant. Will probably try somewhere else next time. The Homestead Inn was very nice and the rooms were much larger. And it was a shorter walk to Main Street. Seemed expensive for the size and location.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Melissa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    93
    41
    24
    18
See reviews for
36
177
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holly Springs, North Carolina
Level Contributor
310 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

This was our second stay; last one over 7 years ago so was anxious to arrive. There was a mishap with the reservations but it did get straightened out. The room was clean and comfortable and loved the oversized chairs. The room feels like a bed and breakfast room. Wine and cheese reception was welcoming with a fire. Breakfast choices was more than adequate. Would return for sure but would keep in mind to call a few weeks ago to confirm reservation.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by the hotel for the price we paid. It is in a great location. It was clean and nicely appointed. The room did not feel like a hotel, and more like a home. The young lady at the front desk was so helpful, i think her name was Ellis. The snack time at 5 was a very pleasant surprise with nice snacks and wine! It was also cozy there. Only reason i'm not rating this a 5 is because at night it was a little loud. As the management office closes at 9pm, there really isn't anyone at charge. May have just been the night i was there, just a lot of people running and felt like we could hear a lot of noise. Overall though, great and I would go back. Responding to another post, we did arrive early and were able to get into our room.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aditya T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenoir, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

Booked room online for "king bed two person hot tub on private deck" When we arrived our room had no deck or hot tub. When we asked the desk clerk she stated the hotel was over booked even though the parking lot was less than half full. After some complaining she finally reduced our rate by 20%.The next day I asked a different clerk which specific rooms had a hot tub for our next visit, she danced around the question and never answered me. I looked all around the property for two days and have yet to find any hot tub at all.

Room Tip: Booked room online for "king bed, two person hot tub on private deck" When we arrived our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scott d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillageInnsManager, General Manager at Village Inn of Blowing Rock, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
This guest's comments are not justifiable. This reservation was booked online just hours before arrival and due to the limited number of hot tub rooms available (only 4 total) and the increased demand, we sold out in that one evening. Although this rarely happens, when a guest is overbooked, we will upgrade them, as well as extend a discount for their trouble. This guest was placed in our nicest suite which has a Jacuzzi tub, which normally rents for a much higher rate than the suite originally booked, and even discounted it further. This guest was also offered a gift certificate so they would be able to enjoy one of our rooms with the hot tub on the deck at another time. Due to concerns of the safety of the other guests staying in our hot tub rooms, we did not disclose the location of those units, and true to the description of 'private' hot tub, they are not easily seen from the back of the property. We are sorry that this guest was still not appeased by our generous offers to make this unfortunate situation 'right'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

This reveiw is based on my husband's stay at the Inn. The room was booked 3 months in advance, he arrived after 3 pm and the room was still not ready and once checked in the cleanliness of the room was unexceptable, he had to call the front desk to have someone come and clean the microwave that was a total mess.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

This was a cozy, clean and affordable place to stay. Very roomy and only a 3 block walk into town. Would highly recommend it. Other places in Blowing Rock have a better view but I would rather stay somewhere close enough to town that we could easily walk.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NCgirl460_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawleys Island, SC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

After driving roughly 5 hours from Pawleys Island, SC to Blowing Rock, we arrived at the Village Inn during a down pour!!! But we were welcomed by Shannon...our room was ready and it was great to settle in. We were meeting our best friends from Ohio (roughly half way for both of us) and we also brought our Boykin Spaniel Brandi who was very welcome at the Inn. Our room was spacious and very clean....nicely re-decorated per the ad. Hard wood floors, king size bed, great bathroom and two huge comfy chairs. Plus a great deck with two rockers...but the weather changed for the worse. Our friends arrived shortly after we did and we met in the reception area....which was spacious and very welcoming. The inn offered a lovely happy hour with wine and snacks. Gave us time to catch up. Shannon suggested some excellent restaurants close by (thank goodness, since the temperature was dropping and the wind was hollering!). Only disappointment....the lodge/reception area was closed at 9, so we couldn't go back to there to unwind after dinner and our rooms weren't really large enough for us to hang out and play cards. Next morning(after at least three inches of snow and COLD temperatures) we met back at the lodge/reception area and had a marvelous "continental" breakfast...plenty of coffee, french toast, breakfast sandwiches, apples, yogurt, muffins, oatmeal, cereal , orange juice.....it was great! We were only a couple of blocks from downtown, but it was too cold to walk there!:( And most of the shops (Wednesday before Thanksgiving) were closed because of the weather....Tangier Mall was even closed!!!!! We spent three nights there, even brought our dog up to the reception area while we played cards. We spent 3 nights there and it was very nice. Because of the weather, the housekeeping didn't make it one day.....it wasn't really a problem for us. We had our Thanksgiving dinner near by....bottom line, marvelous quiet location (even though on the major route), homey rooms, welcoming staff...AND pet friendly...we will definitely go back!

Room Tip: Because we have a dog, we asked for the end unit-120...IF our dog barked, she didn't bother any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mlovestennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
1.2 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ridgeway Inn
Ridgeway Inn
#9 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.2 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
0.5 mi away
Cliff Dwellers Inn
Cliff Dwellers Inn
#11 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Inn of Blowing Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Inn of Blowing Rock

Property: Village Inn of Blowing Rock
Address: 7876 Valley Blvd, Blowing Rock, NC 28605-9259
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Inn of Blowing Rock 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Village Inn of Blowing Rock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Inn Of Blowing Rock Hotel Blowing Rock
Village Hotel Blowing Rock
Village Blowing Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing