We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant small rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Clarksville, Maryland, United States
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Pleasant small rooms”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The hotel feels like a Days Inn that has been redecorated with an Appalachian theme. The rooms are small with rustic furnishings, but the bed is very comfortable and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast area is very pleasant overlooking a tiny stream and a tiny park. The road noise is almost all eliminated by the fountains in the pond in front (it is on the main highway, even though the address is listed as the side street). If you are planning on spending a lot of time in your room, you may want to consider some other lodging choice.

Overall the owners have made a solid attempt at turning plain super 8 motel into a comfortable, sort-of-quiet, rustic looking place to sleep, and have a Quality Inn serve yourself breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    101
    42
    24
    18
See reviews for
37
188
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shepherdstown, West Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

First of all the room was clean, good size for us and great for a motel. For a low cost, good walking distance of Town activities it was better than some. However on the web it was classed as a B&B with hot breakfast. And from pictures gave the impression it was a B&B. It was not. It had a ?hot? breakfast which was microwave mini sausage biscuits, packaged hard broiled eggs and Sausage waffle corn dogs. Included cold & hot cereal, toast and bagels. If you are looking for a motel this is ok. If we are in Town again we will go B&B.

Room Tip: All the same. Walls are thin. If you have a snorer next to you, you will hear them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABuce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I'm surprised by all the high ratings of this place, and not sure where to start on my review. They call it an Inn and advertise as a B&B but this place is really a motel in form and function, with just a nicer facade. But at least most motel rooms have space to turn around in... the rooms at Village Inn are SMALL. There is a small aisle at the foot of the bed to get past it, but they hung the TV on the wall above that space so I had to duck past it every time I walked past the bed. The AC unit is also hung high on the wall and blows directly on the bed, so there's no way to get a comfortable temperature. They are a pet friendly hotel, which I'm sure is great for people with pets, but we had to deal with barking next door in the evening and again starting very early in the morning - so much for getting to sleep in on our weekend away! Most ridiculous, though, is the wine and cheese reception. We stopped in to check it out and found boxed wine and individually wrapped cheese sticks from the grocery store. My wife and I stared at it, dumfounded, for a few seconds, then laughed and left. The good news is that it's in easy walking distance to downtown Blowing Rock so we grabbed a drink before dinner.

In short, consider Village Inn the place to stay only if you're booking late in high season and it's the only place with vacancies.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chupper2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sewanee, TN
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The overall look of the Inn is very good, the interior decor is good, the only negative point of this Inn is the square footage if the room, it is probably 12x16, with one king size bed, and two over sized arm chair, there is absolutely no counter, or table space to put anything.

Same with bath room, nice looking, but no counter space, just inconvenient.

Compare to Marriott type rooms, they are spacious, Other than the "economical" footage of the room, and almost zero usable counter space, the place look nice.

Oh, I did not like the scent of the room, probably some sort of cheap air refreshener, it made me have head ache.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I chose this hotel for our stay largely because of its location, rocking chairs on the deck by the stream and good reviews. The location was definitely good, walking distance to many restaurants in Blowing Rock. Unfortunately, the road construction out front has made the surroundings less tranquil. No construction was taking place when we were there on the weekend, but the area was a big mess. Hopefully will be compleed soon.

The back deck with rocking chairs was very nice...it was great to hear the bubbling stream nearby. And the continental breakfast was quite good to me. I loved the boiled eggs, and also enjoyed the yogurt and bagels. They also had microwavealbe saugage biscuits avalable, but I didn't try those. Also enjoyed the 5-6pm evening snack of box wine, cheese and crackers. It was fun to take the snack out on the back deck of the main building where it was served, and listen to the stream. It was not fine food, but it was fun.

They have done some nice updates in our room, including a grantite shower surround, nice sink and fixtures. The trouble, though, is that it's still VERY small. We had to put our coffee pot on the floor to use it, since that was the only place with an extra plug-in. And I had to put my suitcase on the ironing board in the closet because there was nowhere else to put it. The bed was comfy but sagged to the middle, and the AC was LOUD. So $200/night seemed a bit much to me. But it is Blowing Rock.

All in all, might look around a bit more next time, but also might come back, depending on the situation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shellygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This is a nicely located and renovated hotel in a good location. The staff were helpful and friendly. We had an enjoyable dinner next door at Twigs on the evening of our arrival. It was nice to not have to walk far as we were tired when arrived. The town is very lovely and we went there for a nice lunch at Village Café and then dinner that evening at Best Cellar which we found to be excellent. The breakfast at the hotel was not to our liking nor was the wine in the afternoons (we prefer fine dining when traveling) but it was enjoyable to sit in the common room and talk to other guests and staff.

Room Tip: We were assigned a pet friendly room. My husband thought the room smelled of cleaning supplies. I di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue44044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Great little place in Blowing Rock. Stayed a night here on a "spur of the moment" trip. Wanted something on a creek or river and this worked out. Very affordable, close to great food and the little creek out back was nice. Very quiet out back and the porches with rockers and hot tubs were great. Bed was the most comfortable I've ever slept in!! Wonderful place for a couple, single, or family in my opinion!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeithnAlly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
1.2 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
441 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ridgeway Inn
Ridgeway Inn
#10 of 15 in Blowing Rock
227 reviews
0.2 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Blowing Rock
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 15 in Blowing Rock
602 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boxwood Lodge
Boxwood Lodge
#7 of 15 in Blowing Rock
110 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Inn of Blowing Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Inn of Blowing Rock

Property: Village Inn of Blowing Rock
Address: 7876 Valley Blvd, Blowing Rock, NC 28605-9259
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Inn of Blowing Rock 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Village Inn of Blowing Rock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Inn Of Blowing Rock Hotel Blowing Rock
Village Hotel Blowing Rock
Village Blowing Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing