We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pet Friendly, but Thin Walls”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Village Inns of Blowing Rock: Village Inn
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Reviewed September 15, 2012

My husband and I recently spent a long weekend in the area with our two dogs. We chose to stay at the Village Inn in Blowing Rock because of how pet friendly they are. The service was excellent, everything was clean, the kitchen was stocked, and there was even a stream behind the cottage for the dogs to play in! We definitely enjoyed our stay, but I'm not sure if we would return with our dogs. The only issue we found was that the walls are paper thin. You can hear EVERYTHING your neighbor says and does. While this is not a deal breaker for us, it certainly doesn't create a comfortable environment for our dogs. They travel with us all the time, and they are accustomed to staying in hotels and other vacation rentals. They, however, do not handle hearing other people talking as if they are in the room with them when we aren't there. We got a call the first night that they had been barking, and we couldn't understand why until we realized the next morning that they could hear everything in both of the adjoining cottages as well as the fire pit area in front of the cottages. Because we want our dogs to be just as comfortable as we are, we wouldn't return with them, but wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if it was just he two of us.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with pets and the Inn isn't full, as for a room where you won't have ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FurMommyPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (297)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 297 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed here last weekend for our anniversary/Labor Day. Inn is very cute, clean & interesting- it looked just like the pictures on the website. I really liked the hardwood floors, the cute deck & the stone tiled bathroom. It is small, as many have said, but not too small- and it felt quaint & cozy. we were upgraded to a King "suite" which included a dressing area/armoire and 2 chairs and I think that made it feel roomier. My main concern in a room is always the bed/bedding- the linens were soft, fresh & white, with a light down comforter in between crisp sheets, lots of pillows and the mattress was comfortable. There is a large armchair/ottoman to lounge in, a nice flat screen tv & it had character, unlike most chain hotels/motels for the same price. There was no "damp" or musty smell in our room (unlike previous reviews) & I thought it was very well cleaned and prepared for our arrival. The staff were friendly especially at check in and breakfast. Breakfast was fine- there were some hot items (or at least things to heat up in the microwave or toaster oven- french toast, egg sandwich), nothing homemade but it was adequate & varied (fruit, yogurt, cereal, hard boiled eggs, bagels, etc.). The manager was very kind to upgrade us when I told her it was our anniversary. There is a nice restaurant/bar next door- Twigs & a cute bar/grill (Foggy Rock) just down the road. The downtown area is just a few blocks away and easily walkable. If we stay here again I'll request a hot tub room, especially if its cooler weather. If you are looking for an amazing meal- go to Crippen's (walking distance)- and get the chocolate infused filet or the venison- both were out of this world! Definitely an expensive dinner, but if you're prepared to splurge you won't regret it.

Room Tip: Room 104 looks out onto the new "cottages" rather than the brook- I recommend a room on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cica1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

My wife and I stayed here one night. On a short stop over in Blowing Rock. The room though kind of small is on a very nice property. A very comfortable bed wth rustic furniture. Hardwood floors also. The bathroom was small and not in the greatest of shape. The shower was fine. We had a nice deck. The property has lots of area to walk around, a nice pon out front, anafternoon wine & chesse reception. We had a nice check in. Room was clean. One story, car parked out front. A short walk into town which was very nice. We will return when in the area.

Room Tip: A nice little stop when driving the Parkway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoeSchwartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We had a somewhat similar experience as that described in 'Just OK.' The hotel, actually a motel, website shows that all rooms had patios. We booked for three nights which is a long stay for us. Our room did not have a patio and when we complained to the desk clerk we were told that since we booked through an online travel site we got last choice of rooms. Turned out that ours was the only one in the motel that did not have a patio. She told me that 'in the future' I should book directly with them but that won't happen.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GulfCoaster001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

The rooms are not as nice as pictured on website. They have a damp smell that was in my luggage and clothes when I got home. We had booked a King Room however when we checked in we were placed in a Queen Room. After complaining I was told "everything got mixed up and someone else was put in the King but we are sold out so there's nothing we can do". When we checked out the lady couldn't find our name because guess what- we were registered in the King Room for which we didn't receive. So all the receipts had another room number on them. So overall not the experience we were looking for but not a terrible place either. Just Average.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stacy950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Memorial Day weekend. We are avid hikers and booked this hotel in Blowing Rock because it is dog friendly. Office hours for the hotel are 7AM till 9PM we checked in at 8:45PM Friday night. When we entered the room it didn't smell great but it did not smell like smoke and any non-smoker, which we are, can identify smoke smell. Next morning we are out of there by 6:20AM for an early breakfast and to be on the trail early. We arrive back at the hotel around 4:30PM after hiking 13 miles and doing a road bike shuttle to find a nasty note attached to our door accusing us of smoking in the room and stating that there is a $150 clean-up fee. WE DO NOT SMOKE. The manager with authority is gone till Tuesday, we were informed by the ineffectual person left in charge. Now we are mad and insist she find this manager and take care of this nonsense. So we are eventually told there will not be a charge. We would have appreciated a written apology. We called Tuesday morning to talk to the manager, who was not available Memorial Day weekend, and have been told there will not be a charge. To add insult to injury we discovered, after checking in and after the office was closed, that the bathroom's hair dryer had been ripped from the wall and there was not a replacement hair dryer. This bathroom is so small that there is only a towel rack above the toilet for hand towels and washcloths, the one bath towel was folded on the edge of the tub with the bath mat. We eventually found other bath towels is the closet which is not handy to the bathroom. These people do not understand the hospitality industry and they are hurting the tourist industry in Blowing Rock and we suspect that these "redone" rooms are masking a good many problems.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
5  Thank TravelerDueWest_SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillageInnsManager, General Manager at The Village Inns of Blowing Rock: Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

In our 8 years of operation, these are the first and only guests that are NOT ALLOWED to come back to any of our properties. They damaged our hotel by the using tobacco and/or illegal drugs in the room as evidenced by ashes in the bed sheets and lingering smell. This cost us lost dearly because the room can not be rented during the extensive and expensive cleaning process. To make matters worse, they were both physically and verbally threatening to several of our staff members, causing more than one to cry. They were never charged the $150 fee (our office staff feared for their lives) and continue to post negative comments despite our best efforts to resolve the issue. This is one pair we wish had never darkened our doorway and best of luck to the next business that has an issue with these folks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

This Inn is located very conveniently to the town of Blowing Rock, actually walking distance. The Inn, recently remodeled is rustic but very clean. The Inn has a cute pond in front and although the inn is close to the road, we heard no road noise during the night. We chose the pet friendly room and the room had a back door to the yard where our pet could relieve herself and a porch where we could sit. Evenings there is wine and cheese and in the morning there is a breakfast.
There are a couple of cottages for families but I did not see their interior. The Inn has another sister site near town, but again I did not see the facility.
Only criticism is the drapes in the bathroom and back door don't fit quite right and needed simple rehanging to make the room pretty much perfect. A simple fix their housekeepers should attend to.
For the price and the fact it is pet friendly this is a great place to stay while visiting Blowing Rock.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moxie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
0.2 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn
Meadowbrook Inn
#7 of 16 in Blowing Rock
371 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 16 in Blowing Rock
477 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 16 in Blowing Rock
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
0.4 mi away
Ridgeway Inn
Ridgeway Inn
#11 of 16 in Blowing Rock
237 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cliff Dwellers Inn
Cliff Dwellers Inn
#9 of 16 in Blowing Rock
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Inns of Blowing Rock: Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Inns of Blowing Rock: Village Inn

Address: 7876 Valley Blvd, Blowing Rock, NC 28605-9259
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Price Range: $85 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Village Inns of Blowing Rock: Village Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Village Inns of Blowing Rock: Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Inn Of Blowing Rock Hotel Blowing Rock
Village Hotel Blowing Rock
Village Blowing Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing