We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Hillwinds Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hillwinds Inn
Ranked #10 of 11 Blowing Rock B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 23, 2010

We stayed for three nights, and had a great time, Breakfast was very good and afternoon wines & cheese were excellant. Very roomy and clean, we will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frankbwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
There are newer reviews for Hillwinds Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 169 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2010

Our child was out of school for Veterans Day so we made the decision to take a quick trip to the mountains. Since it was going to be a short stay of just one night, we needed a pet-friendly property and the Hillwinds Inn fit the bill. We loved the convenience of the hotel to downtown Blowing Rock--one could stay here, park the car and not have to drive for their entire stay. The room was clean--cleaner than I expected for one designated for pets. There was an afternoon reception the day we checked in, as well as a continental breakfast that was really more than one would expect from a "continental breakfast". We were treated well by Lisa who made us feel truly at home during our stay. The beds were very comfortable with plenty of pillows--many more-expensive properties assume one pillow per head is enough. All in all, we were extremely pleased with the quality of our stay wnd will certainly return on our next trip to Blowing Rock.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChanceNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2010

My wife and I have been visiting the Blowing Rock, NC area for the past 16 years and have stayed in a number of spots around the charming town. For our annual excursion this past weekend, we decided to stay in the Hillwinds Inn. We found it to be a delightful place that I would highly recommend. It is in town (actually sits next to the Blowing Rock Café if you’re familiar w/that spot) so easy walking distance to all the shops downtown, etc. Because of the location, we did not have to trouble ourselves with moving the car and attempting to find a parking spot closer to the shops. The rate included hot build-your-own breakfast. It was a great start to our day. Delicious coffee. In general, a most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mtn_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2010

I have stayed once before and it was fine....this trip the room had a few issues, bathroom sink not draining , telephone not working...(poor cel service in BR) window blinds on the front do not close properly. Also, noisy, could hear every little thing from the other rooms. Rooms are cute and adequate but over priced. I recommend Mountainaire Inn, also in town, no breakfast though but restaurant right across the street.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusieK53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

Previous TA reviews have done a great job of describing Hillwinds: rooms are cute, cozy and fairly well appointed, staff are very friendly, fast free wi-fi, and the location is great--within walking distance of everything. As already noted, the bathroom (while nice) is small with a pedestal sink that leaves precious little room for toiletries and appliances, and a dark shower. The breakfast was OK, but didn't have a lot of options, and staff are not on-site after 10pm.

However, my primary complaint is that there was a fairly constant and surprisingly loud dripping or tapping noise coming from the ceiling of our room all night. We were told that this is due to copper piping and occurs primarily in rooms on one end when the inn is near full capacity. The staff were very apologetic about it and offered us a portion off our next stay, but I doubt we will take the risk of staying there again unless we can be assured the problem is fixed.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CRSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillageInnsManager, General Manager at Hillwinds Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2010

We appreciate all comments from our guests as we are always looking for ways to improve our product and service offering. We are sorry to hear that they were not able to fully enjoy their stay because of the noise in the pipes. We were able determine the source of the problem and have just reached a solution to the problem, so it should not occur again.

While we do not have the inn staffed after 10pm, we do provide an emergency contact number to reach a representative that is on duty after business hours who is available in downtown Blowing Rock.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

Everything about our stay was wonderful! Marvelous cloud-like bed, rockers outside the door, and The Lodge with late afternoon reception of cheese, wine and cookies was an optimum time to meet all kinds of nice people! A full continental breakfast that had some protein on the table also provided opportunity to meet more people. We could walk uptown and to 2 fantastic restaurants right on our street! We were convenient to Boone and attractions in that area. WE would definitely come again and stay at Hillwinds!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willywach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillageInnsManager, General Manager at Hillwinds Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2010

How wonderful to find that our guests are able to fully enjoy their stay with us while visiting this beautiful area! We pride ourselves in providing the highest quality of customer service and are in a constant effort to further enhance our property and amenities selection. The Hillwinds Inn is located just a short walk to all of the wonderful dining establishments and upscale shops of downtown Blowing Rock. We are also just a short drive to all of the attractions the High Country has to offer! We look forward to seeing you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2010

Quaint inn within walking distance of restaurants and shopping in Blowing Rock. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast was good. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barharbor08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillageInnsManager, General Manager at Hillwinds Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2010

How wonderful to find that our guests enjoy their stay so much that they would recommend our property to others! We are so blessed to have such wonderful staff working with us, in all departments! We strive to provide an unbeatable experience to our guests through our excellent customer service, room quality, and expansive amenities (generous continental breakfast and complimentary wine tasting, free Wi-Fi and long distant calling, just to name a few)!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
0.1 mi away
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
#8 of 15 in Blowing Rock
285 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ridgeway Inn
Ridgeway Inn
#11 of 15 in Blowing Rock
233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn
Meadowbrook Inn
#7 of 15 in Blowing Rock
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
461 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
0.3 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 15 in Blowing Rock
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillwinds Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillwinds Inn

Address: Sunset Drive at Ransom Street, PO Box 1809, Blowing Rock, NC 28605
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Blowing Rock
Price Range: $91 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hillwinds Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hillwinds Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillwinds Hotel Blowing Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing