We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no breakfast?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Village Inns of Blowing Rock: Hillwinds Inn
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed 1/6/2013 and got a good rate at $79 a night. Town was dead; I guess it is off-season. Room was clean and adequate. Refrigerator in room was convenient. The problem was that the complimentary breakfast didn't start till 8am to 10am. We waited around till 8:15 and still no one had shown up to even unlock the main office where the breakfast was suppose to be. We were craving our morning coffee and finally left to find some elsewhere. There was a 2 cup coffeepot in the room that we drank around 6am; but we were still disappointed to wait around for the comp breakfast that never occurred (unless later than 8:15am). Ted from Matthews

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluedevilted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillageInnsManager, General Manager at The Village Inns of Blowing Rock: Hillwinds Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

We are sorry to hear that this guest was not able to enjoy our complimentary breakfast. Our lodge opens at 8am daily and we do serve a very generous continental breakfast each and every morning. I have investigated this guest's complaint, and have confirmed that the Guest Service representative on duty that day did have the lodge open and breakfast ready to be served promptly at 8am. We have determined, however, due to the below freezing temperatures our front door door knob was causing some issues and may have appeared to have been locked. We are sorry for any confusion this maintenance issue caused for these guests, but the issue has been resolved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 171 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is a quaint inn with people who were eager to please working there. The rooms were nice and clean, but a little dated. If you ever believed in location, location, location, this would be a reason to stay here. It is in the heart of Blowing rock. You can walk to any place in Blowing rock from here. All hotel options within walking distance are a little dated, but the Hillwinds is cute and the people very accommodating. The stay included breakfast which I did not eat as we were planning on a brunch, but people in our party did and were pleasantly surprised. Just a continental, but more than just cereal and fruit.

Room Tip: There are two villas with a balcony that are beautiful if they are not booked. They have a sitting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GNRoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

It was peak viewing for The Blue Ridge Parkway fall colors, so everywhere from Boone, to Blowing Rock was booked solid on Oct. 13th,2012. So Hillwinds had 2 rooms left and we booked for the high season rate of $209. They did honor our Military discount though without question.
We stayed in rm109. It has a shabby chic decor, dark lit though. It's small with 2 queens, but clean. The carpet could use updating and the wall paper in the bathroom is peeling slightly due to condensation but the shower pressure was awesome. The Heat and a/c seemed temper mental but not miserable. Beds were comfy.
It's located in the middle of town, so walking to Main street is only a few streets up. We have a teen and a toddler so there is a park right on Main street. The hotel is more geared for the older travler though as there is a Wine/Cheese hour. It's Boxed wine but the little dinning area is cute and quaint.
The gentlemen who recieved us the desk(can't remember his name) was more than nice. He was the only one working there though, but was certainly helpful, patient, & friendly. A lady's battery went dead, and he helped with everything he could while he also set out breakfast. Overall a decent place to stay for Location and friendly service.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ckmyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

When we arrived we were told no one had entered our 2-night reservation(we had copies of the confirmation) Then we were told the only room left was #115. This room had a filthy carpet, the paint on the toilet seat was worn off. The paint is peeling from the bathroom ceiling. The toilet ran all night. A brand new(!) shower curtain is dark maroon and since the bath has no overhead light, you shower in total darkness.
When we went to the desk to depart early, we were told that we could have been upgraded to a better room!( But we were told there were no available rooms the night before). You can stay up the road at a clean Holiday Inn Express for LESS money. You might also try the brand new Courtyard in Boone, also for less money. Go somewhere else. Hillwinds is just shabby.

Room Tip: Don't stay in any of the rooms. A fire would be a big improvement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bluto011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I have stayed in other inns in Blowing Rock but I must say this was the cleanest room I've been in! Even under the beds!! It is pet friendly which is a must, and the staff was super friendly also! This was my second time at this particular Inn and I hope to get to visit again very soon. Charming is a perfect word!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JennyJuneGen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

This was our 4th stay at Hillwinds. Its very close to uptown Blowing Rock, so we just walked uptown, I liked the relaxed enviorment, the Breakfast Bar, and the room was clean. The staff is always friendly and nice. The only complaint I have is that the rooms need updating. This was the 4th one I have been in, so I can say that they all need a little remodel, especially for the price.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
0.2 mi away
The Village Inns of Blowing Rock: Village Inn
0.1 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn
Meadowbrook Inn
#7 of 16 in Blowing Rock
371 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 16 in Blowing Rock
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Village Inns Of Blowing Rock: The Ridgeway Inn
0.3 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 16 in Blowing Rock
637 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Inns of Blowing Rock: Hillwinds Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Inns of Blowing Rock: Hillwinds Inn

Address: 315 Sunset Dr, Blowing Rock, NC 28605-7207
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Price Range: $86 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Village Inns of Blowing Rock: Hillwinds Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our inn helps to cultivate memorable travel experiences for guests, families, and even furry family members. Discover a wide range of exceptional room amenities including living spaces, flat-screen televisions, and rocking chairs. For a getaway within your getaway, plan to spend time with the family at the Swedenborg Lodge where you can enjoy an Afternoon Reception complete with savory and sweet morsels as well as refreshing glasses of wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Village Inns of Blowing Rock: Hillwinds Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillwinds Hotel Blowing Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing