We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vacation in Quaint Town!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Village Inns of Blowing Rock: Hillwinds Inn
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We certainly enjoyed our stay at the Hillwinds Inn right in the middle of Blowing Rock. Nice hotel with great staff. We had a great time and will stay there again!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 49463Michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 171 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2011

Overall, we had a nice one night stay this past weekend. The front desk attendant was friendly and provided good service. The wine and cheese hour from 5-6pm was nice and breakfast then next morning was better than I expected. Only negatives were that the toilets flushed VERY loudly and continued to make noise for about a minute after flushing and the walls were fairly thin so you could hear noises from other rooms.

The location was convenient to the Main St shopping area (about a 3 block walk)

All in all, a nice place that I would consider staying in again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vabrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We stayed in the Davidson Suite, and it was wonderful! The pictures on the Hillwinds website were accurate, it was clean, warm, and a nice mix of modern/quaint. There is also a full kitchen. The hotel is right downtown, and you can walk everywhere that you need to go. I can't speak to the regular rooms because I didn't see them, but if you're willing to cough up the extra for the Davidson Suite, you will definitely enjoy it!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timothy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We were on a Goldwing Trip with another couple just traveling along the Blue Ridge Parkway and taking our time enjoying all of the sights. As the sun started to set, we decided it was time to find a place for dinner and a good nights rest. Our next exit was Blowing Rock, so we got off the exit and discovered the most amazing and quaint little town in North Carolina. We stayed at a place called Charming Inns and they were just little cottages within walking distance to the town and restaurants. Charming Inns is the perfect name for this place as everyone (especially Lisa!) was very welcoming and invited us to their wine and cheese party which was a wonderful treat after riding all day. We would definitely encourage anyone looking for charming people and a great resting place to visit Charming Inns of Blowing Rock. We hope to come back again very soon!

Room Tip: Peaceful and clean country cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelnutz95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

Enjoyed our stay. Clean comfortable rooms. Immaculate grounds. Pleasant, helpful & well informed staff. Will return.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jordiebaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Little Anniversary get a way.....
Lovely romantic accommodations. We had a great time. The property is well maintained and the staff is AMAZING!

We will be going back again and again.

Thank you Jessica, Jenna and Chelsea!!!!
Great meeting you all!

D&R Mueller

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank painsopainful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

Blowing Rock deserves the oft-overused term "charming," and Hillwinds Inn exemplifies the best of the warm Blue Ridge mountains hospitality. Wonderful staff (many of them well-trained, competent students from Appalachian University in nearby Boone), good complimentary breakfast and evening snacks, walking distance to numerous good restaurants and "downtown" with its little shops selling art, crafts, ICE CREAM, sports memorabilia, clothing and all the expected resort-town merchandise. There's no substitute for hands-on family-owned inns, in our opinion, and Hillwinds is among the best.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbessonette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
0.2 mi away
The Village Inns of Blowing Rock: Village Inn
0.1 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn
Meadowbrook Inn
#7 of 16 in Blowing Rock
371 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 16 in Blowing Rock
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Village Inns Of Blowing Rock: The Ridgeway Inn
0.3 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 16 in Blowing Rock
637 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Inns of Blowing Rock: Hillwinds Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Inns of Blowing Rock: Hillwinds Inn

Address: 315 Sunset Dr, Blowing Rock, NC 28605-7207
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Price Range: $86 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Village Inns of Blowing Rock: Hillwinds Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our inn helps to cultivate memorable travel experiences for guests, families, and even furry family members. Discover a wide range of exceptional room amenities including living spaces, flat-screen televisions, and rocking chairs. For a getaway within your getaway, plan to spend time with the family at the Swedenborg Lodge where you can enjoy an Afternoon Reception complete with savory and sweet morsels as well as refreshing glasses of wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your The Village Inns of Blowing Rock: Hillwinds Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillwinds Hotel Blowing Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing