We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful view, average food”
Review of Canyons

Canyons
Ranked #21 of 48 Restaurants in Blowing Rock
Price range: $7 - $19
Cuisines: American, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Willow Springs, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“beautiful view, average food”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

First off, let me say that the view is breathtaking! They have a limited menu. I had the maui chicken sanwhich, it was interesting, but a bit dry. The chips are crunchy, but tasteless. My husband had a bacon cheese burger. He said it was average...nothing to write home about. We were the only customers in the place, and our server still managed to be inattentive. I almost had to go to the bar for a drink refill. Would not stop again. I can see the same view from multiple overlooks.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    177
    93
    39
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halton Hills, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“great value for your money”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

located in an area with beautiful views of the mountains, service is great and the food is a good value for what you get.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tetta14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“You have to go here if you're visiting the area!”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

I love Canyons. It's affordable, and the view is to die for. Especially during a sunset. I always take dates here, and always go immediately to the porch to sit on. This is a landmark to the area.

The food is decent, (not five star, but definitely good..) and the atmosphere just tops it off.

If you're visiting, make sure you come here. It's worth the scenic views while enjoying a nice meal and drinks.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mountainman1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blowing Rock, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great views, reasonable prices”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

the food was pretty good, not too bad prices, the breakfast i think is the best and the view is breathtaking. the place also has a really interesting history which can be found in tidbits throughout the menu if you take time to read it.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Wonderful_Witch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful jazz brunch!”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We have been to Canyons quite a number of times over the years and this was our first visit on Jazz Sunday, November 11, 2012. The food here has always been fantastic. Love the fish tacos! Now after brunch, the Eggs Benedict and Steak and Eggs made it to the top of my list. The jazz band was awesome. The view of course, just makes it all a little sweeter! Thanks for a great Sunday Canyons.Yes the ASU weekend did make it packed. Beware if you are in a hurry.
Wait staff did a wonderful job considering. So sit back and enjoy!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canyons also viewed

Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Canyons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing