We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming inn right at heart of charming town.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ridgeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ridgeway Inn
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Cary, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming inn right at heart of charming town.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2010

This motel is comfortable and centrally located right off of the main street of this adorable town. The room was clean and the staff friendly. There is continental breakfast served, but we didn't use it because we were visiting family and ate all our meals with them elsewhere. The rooms are a little small for a family with 2 teenagers, but the beds are comfortable and there was plenty of hot water with excellent water pressure.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne49007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillageInnsManager, General Manager at Ridgeway Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2010
How wonderful to find that our guests appreciate our wonderful inn! Blowing Rock is such a great little town and we are so lucky to be located right in the heart of downtown! I am disappointed that this particular guest was not able to take part in our excellent continental breakfast...we have recently enhanced our selection to include several hot items. We also serve a complimentary wine tasting in the afternoon. I would encourage this guest (and any other guest looking for a bit more space) to inquire about our suites and cottages. We have one in particular with 2 full bedrooms, huge kitchen, and very large living area. We also believe that the sleep quality of our beds is a top priority. We look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    88
    19
    17
    14
See reviews for
77
94
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2010

We stayed at the Ridgeway in June, 2010. We were in the Yonahlossee suite which was perfect for the two of us. The King bed was quite comfortable and we appreciated the free wireless internet, the semi-separate sitting area and the flat screen TV. The inn was quaint and our suite showed evidence of having perhaps once been part of a family home located in the front of this long-established "Mom & Pop" Blowing Rock hotel. There was a little noise transfer from the adjacent check-in area on the other side of the bathroom wall but that was not a problem as the desk does not stay open all night. The young woman who checked us in, a hospitality major at nearby Appalachian State University in Boone, was very knowledgeable about the local restaurants and gave us an excellent dinner recommendation. While the staff had already added an extension onto the faucet for the jacuzzi tub in the bathroom, it was not long enough to keep the water from spilling out over the edge of the tub onto the floor so I had to fill the tub via the shower head in order to use the jacuzzi; a minor inconvenience in an otherwise very nice one-night stay. I look forward to returning to the Ridgeway Inn when we can stay a little longer in this delightful North Carolina mountain town.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaldri01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillageInnsManager, General Manager at Ridgeway Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2010
We are so happy to find that our guests thoroughly enjoyed their stay with us! The Ridgeway Inn has several suites and cottages, in addition to our already well-appointed guest rooms. The Ridgeway Inn actually encompasses the first 5 guest rooms that were built in beautiful downtown Blowing Rock. The integrity of the Mountain Inn has been kept in tact through several different owners, and even through our complete renovation which took place 5 years ago. Our staff is also ready to assist in planning the best vacation our guests have ever had! There are many upscale shops and fine dining establishments just steps from our door. We look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Supply, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2010

The Ridgeway is very convenient to downtown Blowing Rock, an easy 1-1/2 blocks. Room and bathroom were spotlessly clean and the breakfast choices were pretty extensive considering the room rate. If you don't havea lot of money to spend on a bed and breakfast, this place is a great choice and value. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank milfordjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillageInnsManager, General Manager at Ridgeway Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2010
We are so encouraged to find that the value associated with the complete lodging experience at The Ridgeway Inn is appreciated by our guests. We strive to provide the best value for our guests, and reach a standard that far exceeds other lodging establishments. The rates are very competitive with neighboring properties, however, The Ridgeway Inn offers an extensive breakfast selection (which has recently been enhanced further), and an afternoon snack reception with complimentary wine tasting, as well as providing free Wi-Fi, free long distance calling, pool access and much more! We look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidson, nc
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2010

Great location downtown. Everything within walking distance. Minutes from the parkway. Stayed in the "Perfect Moment" suite. Complete kitchenette, big soft king bed and big bathroom.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swilman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillageInnsManager, General Manager at Ridgeway Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2010
The Ridgeway Inn is one of the only Inns in downtown that is just steps away from fine dining and elegant boutiques in beautiful Blowing Rock. It is also located within a mile of the Blue Ridge Parkway, and just a few miles to many attractions in the High Country. We have many suites and cottages to choose from to suit the needs of just about everyone!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hickory nc
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2009

Beautifully decorated room with leisure decks to wine and dine and meet new friends!
Stay here and walk to shops and restaurants....park your car at the motel and you may not need it again until you're ready to go home...something you will find hard to do!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank recoveryHickoryNc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager1978, Manager at Ridgeway Inn, responded to this review, October 6, 2009
Thank you for your wonderful comment. We appreciate hearing about our guest experiences while staying at our hotel and value their opinions. Please come back anytime you are back in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte nc
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2009

We booked 2 rooms adjoining traveling with family. When we arrive it was centrally located as described. However, the rooms were dark and smelled like mold. The front desk attempted to cover up the smell with carpet freshner. It didn't work. We look at two other rooms upstairs and it was the same thing. They reaccomodated us to their sister propery Hillwinds at the same rate with out any problem. Hillwinds rooms were very nice and short walk to Main St. Would never stay in Ridgeway, especially if you have allergies.

Also none of the Village Inn's properties no longer have WINE with the cheese in the afternoon. They don't have a liquer license but they still advertise this on all websites.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IGREY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager1978, Manager at Ridgeway Inn, responded to this review, June 22, 2009
I sincerely regret the author of this review was dissatisfied with the accommodations at the Ridgeway Inn. It is always our desire to provide exceptional service and quality to our guests during their stays. It is true that our properties no longer serve alcoholic beverages and we have removed all advertisement of wine from our websites. A replacement afternoon family snack reception is now maintained and is being widely accepted and complimented by our guests. The Ridgeway Inn remains an excellent accommodation choice for Blowing Rock and provides guests with many valuable amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charleston
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2009

Love this hotel! The location is perfect; close to the park, shopping and restaurants and many attractions. The staff was professional and knowledgeable. Our room had two king beds, full kitchen, washer & dryer and flat screen TV. It had plenty of room to move around. I would highly recommend this Inn for any family.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gskb04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
0.4 mi away
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
#10 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.2 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
#6 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
0.6 mi away
Cliff Dwellers Inn
Cliff Dwellers Inn
#11 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ridgeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ridgeway Inn

Property: Ridgeway Inn
Address: 131 Yonahlossee Rd, PO Box 1809, Blowing Rock, NC 28605-9845
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ridgeway Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Ridgeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ridgeway Hotel Blowing Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing