We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and service, needs cleaning”
Review of Ridgeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ridgeway Inn
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Lake Lure, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location and service, needs cleaning”
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Lavender two bedroom suite. It is very charming with a kitchen, living room with gas fireplace, 1 bathroom with jetted tub. One bedroom upstairs and one on first floor.

The suite is in need of spring cleaning. We moved two of the chairs and found quite a bit of dirt and crumbs. The leather foot stool is in dire need of a vacuum.

The remote control in the bedroom is for different TV and therefore didn't work.

We didn't attend the wine and cheese event, but we take advantage of the free breakfast. It was better than I expected. Cold cereals, packets of oatmeal, yogurt, toast and pastries and boiled eggs, juice and coffee, mini sausage sandwiches.

The jetted tub was quite large and big enough for two. This was very nice. The only disappointment is the shower head is over the jetted tub so no separate shower and no shower curtain so water tends to get on the floor.

There were tables and chairs to sit outside.

Overall, I would come back again if I were assured it was thoroughly cleaned.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    93
    20
    18
    15
See reviews for
80
99
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We recently stayed at the Ridgeway Inn wanting to go for a night to Blowing Rock & reading the other reviews on this site. We choose the Perfect Little Cottage because it had a large bed room and a king size bed with a seperate sitting room where we were able to watch tv after putting my 3 year old son to sleep. The sofa in that room actually folds out into a twin bed, which I didn't realize so you could sleep someone there as well. there is a tv in that room and one in the bedroom. the bathroom was very large, which suprised me. Not the best use of space but a great room overall. The warm fire stove heated up the room so cozy. The breakfast was great, lots of options and drink selection. They even had TAZO hot tea, which I love. Staff was very friendly and accomidating. We will be back! Loved being able to walk downtown and had enough space that went it was cold and windy we didn't feel cramped in a hotel room. Quiet, wonderful little getaway.

Room Tip: Perfect Little Cotttage is great for families, that seperate sitting room allow for kids to go to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Angela362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluff City, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Great room for the value with a very helpful and friendly staff! The honeymoon suite was spacious, clean and comfortable. Very convenient to downtown Blowing Rock and within walking distance to many restaurants. We will not hesitate staying again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumberton, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Every year my wife and a friend and I visit Blowing Rock on the 1st weekend of December. As always we stay at the Ridgeway Inn. It is an excellent place to stay. The rooms are comfortable and clean, the service is great, the continental breakfast, as well as cookies and wine Hour were all good. Staying in the Lavender Twilight Cottage is an excellent choice. Located within walking distance to all of the shops and restaurants. A must stay.

Room Tip: The Lavender Twilight Cottage is very cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monroe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I was disappointed in the cleanliness this stay. Usually this place is kept quite clean, but not this
time. There was a coffee stirrer in the kitchen floor when we checked in, and it was still there
when we left. There were also crumbs all around from previous quests, and a ball behind the
couch. How often is this room vacuumed? There is also not enough seating in the common room where breakfast and evening wine is served. It is a great location, but we feel the overall quality
may be slipping.

Room Tip: room was nice,,,,House keeping was slack,,,,,not very good,,,,,for the price they should at least va...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This was our third time staying at the Ridgeway Inn. It's always been a little pricey but worth it for a quality room within rught off of main street in Blowing Rock.

When making our last reservations, we mentioned that we were celebrating my husband's birthday this weekend. When we arrived, we were thrilled to learn that they had upgraded us to a suite! It was roomy and beautiful. The two bedrooms, fireplace, full kitchen, and tub with jets made this an extra special experience for our family. As repeat customers, they went the extra mile to take care of us.

We can't wait to come back here. I will never want to stay anywhere else in Blowing Rock!

C. Alton
Greensboro,NC

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teachergirl40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh NC
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed at Ridgeway Inn in July of 2012 for the very first time. The location is awesome as it is basically right on main street. The rooms were very quaint and it gave you that cottage feeling. The deck area is neat ot be abel to sit outside and enjoy the evening or the morning. Rates are a little pricey but then again most of them are in Blowing Rock. We wanted to stay in town on this visit so we gave it a chance. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Get an upper leveler room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NC-Camperman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
0.4 mi away
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
#9 of 15 in Blowing Rock
278 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
441 reviews
0.2 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Blowing Rock
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
0.2 mi away
Boxwood Lodge
Boxwood Lodge
#7 of 15 in Blowing Rock
110 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas
#6 of 15 in Blowing Rock
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ridgeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ridgeway Inn

Property: Ridgeway Inn
Address: 131 Yonahlossee Rd, PO Box 1809, Blowing Rock, NC 28605-9845
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ridgeway Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Ridgeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ridgeway Hotel Blowing Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing