We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK BBQ, good price, great experience!”

Woodlands Barbecue and Pickin Parlor
Ranked #12 of 48 Restaurants in Blowing Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“OK BBQ, good price, great experience!”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

This is a BBQ place, so let's just get this out of the way first: the BBQ itself is just OK to above average. I've had better, but I've had much, much worse. We had sliced pork, shredded chicken, and ribs. The sides were very good (collard greens and cornbread). We also got an order of fresh pork rinds (the large is LARGE). One of my kids had a grilled cheese from the kids menu. It was buttery and good.

Woodlands earns four stars because the food is cheap, the service is good, and because you can hear live bluegrass seven nights a week while dining (music starts at 6pm).

The place was pretty crowded, but we didn't have to wait for a table. If you are in the Blowing Rock area and like BBQ and/or live music, you must stop in to Woodlands!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bluestruck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    183
    68
    26
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
60 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Won't recommend”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

This used to be my "go to" place for BBQ here in Blowing Rock. Not so any more. Interestlingly, their catering food is actually very good.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Whole Lotta Food for a Little Price”
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Great food, laid back atmosphere and a bunch of food. If you are a light eater you can easily share a plate. My eight month old enjoyed the live music and flirtinf with our sweet waitress. ;) We will return!

Helpful?
Thank SaraVard V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Yummy BBQ”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Had intertainment in the main dinning room. Hot sauce was great, i had the pulled pork which was awesome. Jalepeno cornbread was dry

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
151 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good food, uncomfortable seats”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

I love the pulled BBQ chicken at Woodlands. The sides are also very good. But the backless bench seats are very uncomfortable, especially for people with bad backs.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steffenzei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Woodlands Barbecue and Pickin Parlor also viewed

Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Woodlands Barbecue and Pickin Parlor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing