We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An amazing vacation at Hawks View House”
other travelers have booked this property
Our mountain top cabin. Come enjoy the beautiful VIEWS, garden + hammock
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our mountain top cabin. Come enjoy the beautiful VIEWS, garden + hammock
Have a glass of wine or cup of coffee on the porch and enjoy the VIEWS Living room with cathedral ceiling and handcrafted stone walls
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
89 reviews
Our mountain top cabin. Come enjoy the beautiful VIEWS, garden + hammock
Have a glass of wine or cup of coffee on the porch and enjoy the VIEWS
Living room with cathedral ceiling and handcrafted stone walls
Living room with stair to 2nd floor bedroom/bathroom and loft
View from our front porch
Spring red-bud in bloom
Misty view from our 700 sq ft covered wrap around porch. Come enjoy the porch rain or shine
Panoramic, 5 STAR, long range views from Living Room, Dining + Bedrooms
Come enjoy our hammock in the sky
Sea of Clouds - View from the deck
You dog will love Hawks View as much as you
Come make memories with you loved ones
View from porch -stunning fall colors
Come relax in the hammock
Summer time garden
Misty summer view from the porch
Living room - open plan kitchen, dining.
Kitchen and dining room adjacent to living room space. Easy access to covered porch
Dine with a VIEW
Kitchen is fully stocked with everything that you will need.
Misty Morning VIEW from our porch.
Fall colors + rainbow from the porch
Spectacular sunset..each one unique
Another incredible sunset
Majestic stormy views from the balcony
2nd floor bedroom with queen bed and private balcony
2nd floor bedroom
2nd floor private baloney
Long range views of the Black Mountain Range from 2nd floor balcony
2nd floor bathroom
Handmade sink by local ceramic artist
2nd floor bathroom
Fall Views from our porch
Misty sunset from the porch
Relax in our rocking chairs. Enjoy the FANTASTIC views, sound of running water from our fountain
SUMMER - our handcrafted iron teapot fountain. Enjoy the sound of running water with a VIEW
One of the many spectacular sunsets from our porch
Where does the rainbow end, in your soul or on the horizon?” Pablo Neruda
1st floor bedroom with queen size bed and view of mountains
1st floor bathroom Handmade sink by local ceramic artist
1st floor bathroom Handmade sink by local ceramic artist
Your pet pooch will love our porch too
2nd floor loft with game /computer table. Lots of games and books available for guests
Loft futon converts to full size bed
Loft that over looks living space below. Game/computer table. Games, puzzles and books provided
Misty sunset from the porch
Each sunset is unique
Firewood and kindling provided for your stay and enjoyment of wood stove
Zorro our fur baby enjoy the cozy wood stove.
Hummingbirds abound at the porch feeders
Our views are ancient...the experiences all new
Private and Secluded. Hawks Views in on 4 acres w/no adjacent houses or public road ways
Beautiful winter morning from our porch
Winter at Hawks View
Sky afire - winter sunset
Beautiful late March snow day
Snow day
Winter snow VIEW
Winter
Winter
Winter VIEW from the  porch
Zorro our fur baby enjoying the fresh snow
Sip your favorite beverage by our cozy Lopi woodstove. Firewood provided
As artists we love to collect and make unique  things. This a handmade  folk art flag that we made.
Stone wall by front door
Misty morning VIEW
Red Sky Sailors Delight
Fall VIEW of the Black Mountain Range from our porch. On a clear day you can see Mount Mitchell
View from porch - stunning fall colors
Blue bird day with blanket of fog still hanging in the valley below
Mountain VIEWS in full color from our porch
Fall views from our deck
We welcome your pets. Zorro our basenji dog loves Hawks View.
Fall view from the porch
Sea of Clouds
Fall colors and rainbow
Fall Foilage at Hawks View House. Driveway approach to house
2nd Floor Balcony overlooking the Black Mtn Range
Another awesome sunset from the porch
Rainbows, whirligigs and bottle trees at Hawks View House
Night Time on the Porch at Hawks View
Morning sunrise
Wild turkeys on the drive way
Blue bird sky with VIEWS
Come enjoy one of the many waterfalls near Hawks View. This is Crabtree Falls
Take a relaxing hike on near by Roan Mountain
We are just a few miles from the Blue Ridge Parkway at MP 331.
So many fun things to do in the area like horse back riding
Near by Grassy Creek Falls
Near by Roan Mountain in Bloom a great place to visit during your stay
Roan High Bluff Overlook
Craggy Gardens Trail
Awesome views at the top of Craggy Pinnacle Overlook
Dillinger Gist Mill in Bakersville
Near by Mt Mitchell the highest point east of the Mississippi
Penland Gallery
Orchard at Altapass
Cycling on the Parkway
Come enjoy a balloon ride in the mountains?
Ziplining
Mica Gallery in Bakersville
Did you know there is only 1 tunnel in VA and 25 in NC. Near by  Craggy Pinnacle Tunnel
Near by Chestoa overview off the Blue Ridge Parkway
Rafting
Emerald Mine. Spruce Pine 'The Mineral City' lots of local gem mines to explore
Fishing on the North Toe River that runs through our town of Spruce Pine
Near by Little Switzerland, just a short drive down the parkway
Mountain Farm is a sustainable, 24-acre lavender, blueberry and dairy goat farm
Grandfather Mountain swinging bridge
Mineral Museum in Spruce Pine at Mp 331 at  Blue Ridge Parkway
Visit the Biltmore Estate 49 miles away in Asheville
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Blowing Rock, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 89 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Champagne...
SC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An amazing vacation at Hawks View House”
Reviewed September 27, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

After an extensive search of cottages to rent in the Blowing Rock/Asheville area we decided to stay at Hawks View House. We were LONG overdue for a vacation and wanted to relax and enjoy some "down time." We were so happy with our choice.

Driving up the mountain we were hoping to have a great view of the mountains. Our wIsh came through ten fold. The photographs of the view do not depict the actual beauty of the vista when you experience it first hand.

The cottage is warm and inviting. It is filled with whimsical art work that you discover over the course of your stay. As others have stated the home is well stocked with everything you could possibly need.

We spent the first few days unwinding from the stress of our hectic lives. We enjoyed reading, napping, walking and breathing the fresh air. If you want a good workout try walking or jogging to the main road and back.

We loved the hike to the Linville falls and met many friendly people along the way. We also took the parkway to Blowing Rock which is one of our favorite spots to visit. We ran out of time before we could drive to Asheville which is another wonderful town.

There are several great places to eat in nearby Spruce Pine as well as shops with everything from antiques to modern artwork. What we loved best was waking up and deciding how the day would play out. Stay at the cottage or go on an adventure or maybe a little of both.

The owner Cynthia Stone is very easy to talk to and responsive. She was available to help us during our stay and offered many helpful tips. The Stone's have labored intensively to make Hawk's View House a beautiful, well designed and constructed home.

The only negative I have to share is that time flies much to quickly when you visit this enchanting place one minute you are driving up the driveway for the first time and the next it is time to pack up and head home. I went back and forth as to post this review or not as I would like to keep this gem hidden, but as Pope Francis stated, "Do unto others have you would as you would have them do unto you." I hope that future guests relish their stay as much as we did.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnny A
1 review
“Hideway in the Mountains”
Reviewed August 19, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This home provide the privacy one expects when traveling in the mountains. It is just large enough for a family of 3, though it can actually sleep many more with the additional rooms. We loved touches such as sunscreens, porch twinkle lights and combination of industrial/rustic architecture. Near Spruce Pine, Little Switzerland, and many other mountain hot spots. We will visit here again in the near future. Just enough toiletries and paper towels to start a vacation, and it is a very good pet friendly choice!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pet Friendly!! and the View!!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim S
Orlando, Florida
1 review
“Beautiful as always”
Reviewed July 26, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

So good to return to this wonderful mountain house. Always a joy to stay in a place where so much thought and attention to detail exists. Not to mention the spectacular view 24/7. Outstanding!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel L
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Haws View heaven!”
Reviewed June 15, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Everything about this place is perfect, from the breath taking views to the quirky art in every corner. We kept discovering some new piece around the place! The cabin had a well stocked kitchen with thoughtful extras, (like plastic picnic boxes and foil, salt & pepper). We also appreciated the printed hints and tips.

There are DVDs, games and books, but you'll find yourself too busy gazing out, distracted by the views, watching the changing skies, the hawks soaring majestically overhead, and the humming birds feeding. It was almost too beautiful to leave each day, but there are some wonderful attractions within an easy drive. We loved the hiking on Roan Mountain and at Linville Falls, and the scenic drive along the Blue Ridge Parkway.

We would recommend DT's Coffee Shop for lunch, and Knife and Fork for dinner, both in Spruce Pine.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adagio_Tr...
Champaign, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Outstanding house and view!”
Reviewed June 10, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Hawk's View is a wonderful home to visit. We stayed for a week and enjoyed every minute. The house was well equipped with everything you would need. Bedrooms had comfortable beds. Art was sprinkled throughout the house and everything was most tastefully decorated. The kitchen was fully equipped with everything you might need to prepare your meals. The view was outstanding! We visited Penland School, Crossnore School, NC Arboretum, Crabtree Falls and took the TRAC studio tour. After visiting the sites, it was always a pleasure to go "home" to Hawk's View! Although we had rain almost daily, we had a super time. The spacious porch was a great place to unwind at the end of the day and watch the weather develop in the valley below. Everything was exactly as listed on the website- there were no surprises. The house was perfect and we would definitely visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House, view and location
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B B
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect spot to enjoy family, quiet, and the beauty of nature.”
Reviewed May 6, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We pulled up to this adorable cottage and instantly our crazy busy life came to a screeching halt! The views beyond words and that was just the beginning. The wrap around porch was so welcoming and just an appetizer for our incredible space. There is plenty of comfortable seating, the cutest hummingbird whirligigs to catch your eye, great shades for the afternoon sun, and a very nice grill. Then the cabin-we found a great kitchen stocked with everything you will need to feel right at home. Everything was labeled and nicely organized. The dining area has an incredible live-edge table and plenty of space for prep and seating. The living room, again, was super comfy with an amazing stove where we enjoyed warm fires, relaxing every evening playing cards, enjoying music, and telling stories. There is a large television, but who needs that when surrounded by plenty of great family and conversation. The bedrooms were just right and the beds very comfortable. The bathrooms were super cute and included great local artist's touches, as did the entire space. The entire cabin was an eclectic collection of perfectly unmatched matched unique pieces!
The cabin is close to great hiking, antique shopping, and the Penland School. The grocery is not far either in the quaint town of Spruce Pine. Checkout the micro brewery and pizza, The Pizza Shop and Dry County Brewing Company, there as well. It was definitely a pleasant surprise!
Watch and listen for the morning visitors-we enjoyed the turkey, deer, and the bluebirds working on their nest every morning.
We will certainly visit again and recommend this mountain get-away to any and all looking to put the hustle bustle of life aside and just relax!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbsan1
1 review
“This Is Heaven!”
Reviewed April 29, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This charming, eclectic, architect- designed home is just the perfect retreat for anyone seeking inspiring long-range vistas and total relaxation. Well-appointed with all the conveniences, its interesting details - inside and out - will make you want to stay forever. The peace and solitude of the mountain are well-balanced with shops and restaurants in nearby towns, local potters and craftsmen in the area and nearby hiking/fishing opportunities. I'll definitely return - especially to be entertained by the "resident" hummingbirds!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing