We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best around”
Review of Outback Steakhouse

Outback Steakhouse
Ranked #25 of 48 Restaurants in Blowing Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
North Wilkesboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
327 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“One of the best around”
Reviewed September 1, 2014

I will say this particular Outback is one of the better Outback's in proximity to our home. We will always choose it over the one in Winston or Hickory hands down. Out last visit was the past weekend, we were a party of 8. We were attended to quickly, other wait staff assisted when we had a spill at our table, our food was delicious and came out very timely, overall a great experience. I'm totally unsure how some of the prior negative reviews could even be written about this location - when in Blowing Rock and wanting a great meal - this is a must stop location.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vhash77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    43
    23
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Outback is usually good but avoid this one...”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

We have always enjoyed Outback and find that it is a chain that generally has good and reliable food. However, the Outback in Blowing Rock is inconsistent at best. After a day on the trail, we wanted a good meal. We both ordered the crispy lobster tacos which comes normally with fries. Our tacos arrived at the table and we were told the fries would be out later. Okay, no problem, we said. But the tacos were absolutely tasteless with no flavor at all. My judgement at they time was that where a non-event. We finished the tacos and waited probably another 10 minutes for our fries to arrive. Annoying but things go wrong so still not a biggie. Then we ordered a chocolate Thunder from Down Under which is supposed to be a slab of brownie with a scoop of ice cream and some fudge sauce. Ours was a scoop of ice cream in a plate with some brownie crumbles around the perimeter. Not good.

I dont think we will go back. We have been disappointed at this place before so too many strikes. We will stick to Bandanas or the Hob Nob for a far better value and food,

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TOnTheRoad2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandusky, OH
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yummy!”
Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

Very good food, timely service, & Kim was awesome!!!! She brought plenty of bread, sauces, lemons, and kept our drinks filled - great service by her!

Helpful?
Thank carrinz16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
114 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Extremely average, salads expensive”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We stopped here for a early dinner/late lunch one day and we both ordered salads. My wife had an Asian type salad which tasted alright but seemed to be a small portion for what we paid. Also, the coconut shrimp were too heavily breaded and were almost burnt on the outside. I ordered a Cobb salad which was mostly lettuce with about 12-15 cherry tomato halves encircling the lettuce. There was a lot of cheese on the salad though but I would have liked to have seen some other vegetables in the salad. It really felt like I was eating lettuce with a lot of cheese on top. The chicken on top was moist and prepared well. The iced tea was good here as well. Normally, I have always enjoyed eating at Outback but this experience was not better than average.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank SirNigel58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millers Creek, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great service, great food.”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

My husband and I ate here the same weekend as graduation at Appalachian State University. I was afraid we wouldn't get a seat or the wait would be long. We were seated as soon as we walked in, our waitress was nice, food and service was great. We will certainly be going back! I highly recommend.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KellyMcLambert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Outback Steakhouse also viewed

Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Outback Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing