We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find in a quaint setting!”

The New Public House
Reserve with OpenTable
The New Public House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 48 Restaurants in Blowing Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hill St.
Description: Big Flavors - Casual Dining. The New Public House restaurant offers reasonably priced, delicious favorites in a relaxed, comfortable, and exciting environment. The New food concept was created by-renowned chef Michael Foreman. He supports local purveyors, regional flavors and offers a "NC farm to table" experience. The restaurant's bar is available for meeting friends and enjoying a drink or a meal in more casual setting. Offerings include our small plates specialties, as well as local NC beers; great wines by the glass and exotic, specialty cocktails by our own mixologist
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great find in a quaint setting!”
Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

The meal was excellent! The wings were worth every penny! Drinks were good as well! The meatloaf was amazing! Great atmosphere! Desserts were just okay...we tried the brownie and the cheesecake.

Helpful?
Thank 101Judy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    93
    23
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
276 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“what a fortunate find!”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We knew we'd be coming through Blowing Rock around dinnertime so we did a quick search for a place to eat and chose The New. Thank goodness it jumped out at us because our meal was marvelous. We ate early and were the only ones there at first, and that was fine with us. The decor is great--very simple but sophisticated. Our waitress was great, very personable and helpful. They had a great beer list and offered a few hard-to-find options. We decided to split one entree and two appetizers. To start, we chose their dirty south wings and vegetable succotash, and both were excellent. The wings were coated in a fabulous sweet and spicy blackberry bourbon glaze and it was so good, we wished for a piece of bread to wipe the leftover glaze off the plate. The succotash was very fresh and the dressing was flavorful and made the whole thing extra special. Our entree was a lobster and scallop hot pot, complete with a wonderful broth and some very creamy grits. The seafood was delicious and I think we both wished we hadn't had to share it with each other. My boyfriend and I agreed that it was some of the best food we'd ever had in a restaurant. Because we were so impressed, we decided to give dessert a shot. We got the apple and golden raisin dumpling, and while it wasn't the best dessert ever, it was solid and we both really liked the fleur de sel ice cream that accompanied it. All in all, this restaurant is a gem and people need to know about it!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grace m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exceptional experience by tough critics!”
Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

We recently dined for the first time and were blown away by the service, food and drink quality, and price. This was a rare great experience from start to finish. Jenna was attentive to my life threatening food allergy; preparing for my allergy before my arrival which put me at ease all night. We ordered some small dishes which were all extremely generous portions and all very well executed. We also ordered a sandwich and wings- all fabulous, timed well, and super fresh ingredients. I love the option to order half glasses of wine so you can really pair the wine with each course you try. The manager on duty went out of his way to quietly ensure we had a great night. I was a hospitality major and worked in restaurants for many years so I am not easily impressed from start to finish! Congratulations New Public House on getting it all RIGHT! You will be very successful and we will look forward to our visit next time we are in town.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Linds95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dinner at The New Public House was a success”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We decided to try the New Public House, since we had dined many times at the same location when it was a different name and management. The dining room was refreshed and was very comfortable. The menu looked wonderful and we had a tough time deciding. This restaurant emphasizes local sourcing for its food, which we find to be a clue that the chef and owners care a lot about both the food and the dining experience. My husband had the wild boar meatloaf, I had a seafood special pasta, and we split the appetizer. Be warned - the portions are fairly large. I had enough to carry home and have for lunch the next day. The food was very good and we will definitely be back to enjoy this. Once the season starts up, you will need to get reservations or be prepared to wait a long time. We really liked being able to taste the wine prior to choosing it. What a great idea! Wish more places offered that.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kentucky
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Comfortable atmosphere - good food - excellent service”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We decided to try the New Public House as it was a new restaurant in town. Also being a Tuesday, we tried Bistro Roca first but it was closed. The atmosphere looks comfy and nice.

Our server was really great. Attentive but not rushing us. Loved that we got to taste a sample of the wine to see if that's what we wanted.

Calamari appetizer was fabulous! Dessert was great - banana split.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 270kentuckywoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The New Public House also viewed

Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to The New Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing