We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Early Small Plate Dinner”

The New Public House
Reserve with OpenTable
The New Public House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 48 Restaurants in Blowing Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hill St.
Description: Big Flavors - Casual Dining. The New Public House restaurant offers reasonably priced, delicious favorites in a relaxed, comfortable, and exciting environment. The New food concept was created by-renowned chef Michael Foreman. He supports local purveyors, regional flavors and offers a "NC farm to table" experience. The restaurant's bar is available for meeting friends and enjoying a drink or a meal in more casual setting. Offerings include our small plates specialties, as well as local NC beers; great wines by the glass and exotic, specialty cocktails by our own mixologist
Boone
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delightful Early Small Plate Dinner”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Owners Cobb and Cindy Milner have created a new small plate concept for High Country with lovely appointments and top-notch staff. We had wild mushrooms served in a skillet with cottage cheese and green onions - deep woody flavor. Swordfish tacos were my choice - more than ample portion with exceptional seasoning. My companion had a pork shank that was pleasing as was the banana/apple pie with buttermilk ice cream. I am eager to return for breakfast. I noticed silk curtains that separate rooms for private parties.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    97
    23
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The public house is right on time”
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Visited the old crippens spot on a foggy Friday night. From the second we walked in we felt welcomed and at home. We were greeted at the front door and quickly found a table. The small plate approach makes for a very diverse experience and we honestly love everything. Great food and a fun time.

Helpful?
Thank tommygalloway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookeville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Small Sizes & Expensive”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I didn't care for tapas as done at the New Public House although I have eaten such meals in Morocco and other locals. The prices were too high for the food served and the table too small for the number of plates used. Until now I would have laughed at the suggestion to get up from a restaurant meal and go directly to another restaurant. That is what everyone in our party did. Two couples went to the New Public House. We started with the sweet potato chips ($3.5) which had a very sweet maple glaze on top. None of us enjoyed it – too sweet. This was followed by a raw kale and apple salad ($8) which was excellent but very small. One salad per person would have been about right to start a meal for this group, who are not heavy eaters. Then we each tried a seafood/meat plate. I had the recommended seafood hushpuppies ($11) which had 5 small hushpuppies on a corn remoulade. There was no detectable seafood and they were too dry. My husband’s homemade hushpuppies are much better. Two plates of tenderloin were ordered ($14.50 each). The tenderloin was delicious but there was perhaps 2 ozs on the plate, a small portion of excellent fries and undressed lettuce. The final item was the grilled shrimp and grits ($12.50) which was excellent. The wait staff did a fine job except for the disappointing recommendation on the hushpuppies. None of the four of us expect to make a return visit preferring the Village Café and other such local eateries in Blowing Rock

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LabCruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blowing Rock, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful addition to Blowing Rock”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

What a transformation from the former Crippens! I absolutely love the creative menu! Staff is friendly , warm and knowledgable ! A can't miss in this area! Try the shrimp and grits!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic small plates”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

After reading reviews on TripAdvisor we decided to try this spot on a recent trip to Blowing Rock. What a find! The bar area in the front is cozy and inviting with a fireplace to chase the chill of the night. The menu consists of small plates, some of which are more substantial than others. Everything we tried was artfully presented and delicious. They were not busy the two nights we were there but the food was consistently good. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable, and they have a varied wine list. Would definitely return!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beachlover261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The New Public House also viewed

Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to The New Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing