We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner Public House”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blowing Rock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The New Public House & Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Blowing Rock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dinner Public House”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Owners need to go on line or to the Chart House to understand what is a chopped salad. Public House a chopped salad is a tossed salad. If you want to have a simple dinner in Blowing Rock with ambience go to Bistro Roca not Public House. What a disappointment. Gideon Ridge is the best for a excellent dinner and Bistro Roca is the best for a casual or very nice dinner but have a drink and possibly an appetizer at Public House but leave after that.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peachespair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    33
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
20
101
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
IlkleyWYorksEngland
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We were staying with relatives in Salisbury NC and decided to drive to Blowing Rock for a two night stay. We chose The New Public House and Hotel and it was excellent. Our room, No 2 was large, beautifully furnished, had a super bathroom and the most comfortable bed. The staff were most friendly, especially Jackie who welcomed us warmly. There was lots of choice at breakfast and everything we had was cooked and served to perfection. It's within a 2-3 minute walk of the Main Street in this pretty little town with some excellent restaurants. We hope to be back to stay with you when we next visit America.

Room Tip: All rooms looked lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MairinaandTonyWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2014

I can't say enough about this place. From the staff (Jackie especially), to the rooms, the front porch, the cleanliness, it was awesome! I am so picky about places and honestly I can't say anything negative. We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naomi211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Land O Lakes, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We selected the New Public House to experience downtown Blowing Rock for an evening and were not disapointed. Located right in the heart of shopping and dinning. The Inn offers a small off street parking lot and curbside in front. The first floor of the Inn is split between a lounge, dinning area and kitchen. Lodging for us was on the second floor, so be prepared to carry your bags up a flight of stairs. Our room was #3 and generous in size with a king size bed, which was very comfortable to say the least. Bathroom was clean and utilized a shower stall and plenty of amenities. It should be noted that this is and old wooden framed building with some creaking floor boards, so if a squeek of someone walking outside your door is anoying, then you are now aware. Our room rate included a breakfast that was really well done. We ordered a two egg (scrambled), toast and sausage as one and the pancakes with ham as another. Both were expertly done and very satisfying. We very much enjoyed our stay and so should you.

Room Tip: Pick a room farther from the stairway, noise level is lower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Amazing stay at a beautiful little "hotel" with a most accommodating staff and a trendy, delicious restaurant! The room was soothing and inviting. We stayed in a large king (Room 2) that was much larger than it appeared on the website. It was huge and comfortable. It was also spotless. The linens are very high quality and Aveda bathroom products are provided. We had dinner at the restaurant which was excellent, both food and service. Breakfast is included with your room! Will, the manager was very attentive to our needs and helpful with suggestions about shopping downtown which is just a block or so away. I look forward to returning to The New.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rlottin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Staff is wonderful and accommodating. Rooms are top of the line , tastefully decorated and some of the cleanest I have ever seen! Easy walk to everything in town. Breakfast is a dont miss with an ever changing souther Benedict!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mountaintimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

I planned a small getaway for our anniversary, we weren't going to arrive by 5pm so Jackie was so kind enough to wait for us. She was all smiles and showed us to our room, which looks exactly like the pictures. It was beautiful! The beds are very comfy and it is probably the cleanest place I have ever stayed. I recommend The New Public House and Hotel to anyone! You will not be disappointed. We will be back and I will encourage all my friends to stay there! Great experience, thanks Jackie!

Room Tip: All the rooms are spacious and decorated beautifully.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank April H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
0.1 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Blowing Rock
345 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 15 in Blowing Rock
603 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
#9 of 15 in Blowing Rock
278 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas
#6 of 15 in Blowing Rock
113 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boxwood Lodge
Boxwood Lodge
#7 of 15 in Blowing Rock
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Public House & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Public House & Hotel

Property: The New Public House & Hotel
Address: 239 Sunset Dr, Blowing Rock, NC 28605-7206
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Blowing Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Hotel has seven beautiful, light and airy guest rooms with an informal weathered interior bathed in natural sunlight. The fully renovated baths have big walk-in showers, modern sinks, luxury big towels and amenities.The king beds are new Kingsdown best hotel matresses. Sheeting is Frette Hotel all cotton.The furnishings are an informal weathered wood with plenty of light. Rooms include a LED flatscreen TV and super wifi connectivity. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing