We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good dinner in a fantastic setting”

The Restaurant at Gideon Ridge
Reserve with OpenTable
The Restaurant at Gideon Ridge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 48 Restaurants in Blowing Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Description: Located on top of Gideon Ridge, guests enjoy dining Al Fresco or in our intimate dining room. The cuisine is an eclectic blend of the freshest mountain ingredients, prepared in the classical style. Dinner served Tuesday - Saturday by reservation.
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“very good dinner in a fantastic setting”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

had the filet plate and chocolate pie for dessert and it was fantastic. Possibly the best I've had. My wife had the lamb and didn't feel it was up to the same standard. Service was fantastic. All the staff were helpful and friendly and the setting is hard to beat. Breakfasts were very good also. We'll return

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rickol948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    15
    12
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great meal, local food”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The chef trained in France for a number of years. He also owns a nearby farm and supplies some of the ingredients. The menu was diverse and food beautifully prepared and presented. Perhaps the most telling endorsements came from our French friends who proclaimed the meal "superb!" especially the beef..
Don't miss the deserts.
Beautiful views from the Inn's dining room.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank wineo1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gourmet Farm Fresh Dining”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

The inn offers a full breakfast every morning, with a choice of at least three entrees. Yummy. We had dinner in the restaurant and I never had better sushi grade Tuna as my main dish, prepared to perfection.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shapsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Creative chef, Magnificent view, High end service”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I like the idea behind the restaurant's menu: small, changing every week. Chef told us a story behind each dish. We felt like judges at Iron Chef :-)
Most of dishes have local ingredients and they have some local character in the taste: there was no traditional Italian or French dishes. Everything had a touch of American country stile cuisine. Some may see it as a down side, but we loved it. Make no mistake - it's still fine dining, so don't expect country stile portions. ;-)
Keep in ming that if you stay at the Inn - you can bring your favorite wine, no cork fee charged! And if you don't - don't worry: they have very good wine list. Although all wines are American - we managed to find a nice blend that tasted similar to some wines from Tuscany,

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, TN
Level Contributor
157 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Love the food at Gideon Ridge”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

When we stay at Gideon Ridge, we always eat there as well. It is so private/intimate...great for couples (anniversary, etc.). The food is always amazing (and I don't give a lot of 5-star reviews for food....it has to be amazing to get 5 from me). We ate here last weekend...and again, the service was nice...great advice on the wine...food was perfect....and it was a great evening.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Restaurant at Gideon Ridge also viewed

Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to The Restaurant at Gideon Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing