We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Left us wanting more”
Review of Glen Burney Trail

Glen Burney Trail
Ranked #11 of 37 things to do in Blowing Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Left us wanting more”
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

We are not experienced hikers at all, and left feeling like we had been beaten up, but it was all worth it. What a great family activity with plenty of great views. Yes bring tons of water so your legs don't cramp up that night!

Helpful?
1 Thank Odysseywoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    34
    7
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hike!”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Blowing Rock is such a great little town to spend the day. We arrived for the hike, spent 2 hours for the 1.3 mile out and back - incredible views of the waterfalls from various vantage points. The reviews are correct - steep down and steep up - a great workout. We ended up with lunch at Canyons Restaurant with the breathtaking views over the valleys with the mountains in the background.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JCSCMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fun hike great location and easy parking”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Really enjoyed doing this trail with 5 of us. Probalby too tough to bring a dog or very small children. There are some steep parts when nearing the waterfalls at the bottom. Heading out is much easier than coming back uphill. 1.5 miles out, so 3 miles roundtrip. Enjoyed finding a nice trail right near town that we could park and walk to without going out on the parkway. It was just challenging enough for 5 girls looking for a little bit of a workout. Would do this again!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank echostar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Hard Hike”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Read on TA that this was a hard but 'worth it' hike. The first 1/4-1/2 mile was OK. after that it was a rough downhill trek. I am a pretty able-bodied hiker, but this was strenouos. The falls that were to be fantastic were not as hoped. The viewing areas were at the top of the falls. I don't know where the best views were, but without being a mountain goat, I couldn't tell. The markings were non-existent, or minimal. The hike back up was tougher.
Be forewarned- bring water, and have plenty of time for breaks on the way up.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Right off the main street”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The trail was absolutely wonderful going down the falls but work on the way back up. Definitely wear appropriate foot wear for hiking. We enjoyed the trail, the falling leaves, the cool air, and the marvelous views!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JenMattZach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glen Burney Trail also viewed

Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Glen Burney Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing