We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location/price”
Review of Hemlock Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hemlock Inn
Ranked #3 of 10 Blowing Rock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 24, 2008

The location could not be better - half a block away from Main Street, and 2 blocks from Sunset. The price is extremely reasonable for the area. The rooms (only ~20 of them) are basic--good bed, table, desk, bathroom, small fridge and microwave--but clean and decent. The heating/cooling unit didn't go a good job for us during the freezing weather, though. It didn't seem to be able to maintain a constant temperature, so we had to keep turning it off and then back on.

Unless you're looking for a full-service hotel with all the bells and whistles, I recommend the Hemlock Inn. You really can't beat the location and price.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank IreneKrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (463)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

457 - 463 of 463 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2008

Very nice and quaint hotel located in the center of Blowing Rock. The room was extremely clean and the staff was very friendly.

The price was extremely reasonable and the family had a good time, especially being able to walk to everything in town.

The only negative we noticed was that the room could use a little more storage space.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank torter95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2008

GREAT location....50' walk from the "main drag"....10 min. walk to restaurants, city park, a great hike to waterfalls, galleries, shopping; "old school" country comfort; park your vehicle right in front of your door; bed was super; small TV, clean fridge, coffee po, desk; bathroom clean and hot water.....reminds me of my grandmothers tiled bathroom complete with a heat lamp; room #9 had view of pasture; front desk not open before 8AM; no maid service; Mgr. was SUPER nice....gave us free tickets to wine festival event; would stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChadwickiopSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2008

Cute little place situated right in the center of Blowing Rock. Didn't give it five stars as the walls were a little thin at times and the shower head was shoulder/chest high. The room was a nice size and the bed comfortable. The front desk were very friendly and helpful. Overall, it was a nice place to stay, very convenient to everything.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank micsack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2007

We stayed 2 nights at the Hemlock Inn, the Thursday after Christmas until Saturday. Me, Hubby, and our two kids, one in 20's and the other a teenager. We had room 18 on the second floor, double queen room. The room was beautiful and spotless, the beds had quilts on them, the room had a cabin decor or country decor. The bathroom looked new and both the bathroom and bedroom was very spacious. There is a ceiling fan and cathedral ceiling. The high ceiling made the room feel especially big. The location is in the middle of downtown Blowing Rock, where all the shops are, it's on a side street (Morris St.) which is a few steps to the shopping. Cute shops, a cool modern shop is called "Neaco", check it out. It's a great "strolling" town. We booked our hotel through the Appalacian Ski Mountain so we could get a snowboard package including lift tickets and a lesson for the kids. We would stay here again for sure, it's a quaint, cozy, clean and nice place. We arrived a couple of hours early but our room was ready so they let us check in. The staff are all so very nice.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NCFolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2006

Very modest, but comfortable place - perfect for a romantic or just a peaceful getaway. Large room (ours was 19 I think) just off of main street. Went for my birthday and couldn't have had a more pleasant stay. We will definitely visit the Hemlock again and again.

The only drawback was the location of the television - it was mounted high up in the corner of the room - same wall as the beds so impossible to see from there. But we had a gorgeous picture window and lovely Blowing rock - who needs TV? Highly recommend...especially for the price.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank South_is_Heaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2004

The room was clean and very comfortable. The setting is quiet but less than a block from what you want to see in town. The host were friendly and knowledgable of there town. They even provided menues of good resteraunts in walking distance. We have stayed here twice.

4  Thank beatwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
0.5 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 16 in Blowing Rock
650 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Village Inns Of Blowing Rock: The Ridgeway Inn
1.3 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 16 in Blowing Rock
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
0.2 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn
Meadowbrook Inn
#7 of 16 in Blowing Rock
377 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cliff Dwellers Inn
Cliff Dwellers Inn
#8 of 16 in Blowing Rock
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hemlock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hemlock Inn

Address: 134 Morris St, PO Box 422, Blowing Rock, NC 28605-9026
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Blowing Rock
Price Range: $86 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hemlock Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A Blowing Rock Tradition," open all year. One of downtown's best locations. One building off main street, walking distance to shops, restaurants, and city park. Kings, queens, double kings and two room suites. All rooms have cable TV, A/C, phone, microwaves, refrigerator, coffee pot and wireless. All non smoking rooms, no pets allowed. Gazebo with sitting area and fountain outside. Come join us for your mountain adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Hemlock Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hemlock Hotel Blowing Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing