We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”
Review of Hemlock Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hemlock Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Blowing Rock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Galax, Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our MLK weekend visit. Nice, rustic room; hardwood floors, king bed, and wonderful location. Staff courteous and helpful. Had trouble connecting to, and staying connected to hotel wifi. We definitely will stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mongo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abby7987, Owner at Hemlock Inn, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for the kind review of us. We are glad you had a good time while in Blowing Rock. The very corner rooms sometimes do have problems connecting to the wifi even though we have added a extra modem. We will call charter communications and see if they have a booster for the corner room. Hope to see you soon. Remember our repeat guest get 10% off.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    99
    17
    5
    3
See reviews for
85
207
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We had two amazing nights at the Hemlock and will definitely be back again. We had one of the small Murphy rooms and it was adorable! Tiny but well-equipped and decorated so cute! We cooked dinner using the kitchenette both nights and it had literally every piece of cookware I could think of. Plus, a wine opener for the wine we bought in the market and wine shop. The bed was small but we knew that before booking the room (our room was an add-on for a larger room). The tv is small by most people's standards but it worked for us.

We were within a 5 minute walk from all the shops and a small drive to the ski resort. We also drove to Boone one night to see a movie.

I highly recommend the Hemlock Inn! Quaint, affordable, great location, and has everything you need!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Hannah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abby7987, Owner at Hemlock Inn, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. It really means a lot to us to hear someone so happy with their stay. We are glad you enjoyed Blowing Rock. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Wylie, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

My husband and I have traveled to Blowing Rock for over 25 years and have stayed at the Hemlock Inn many, many times! We love the historical property and the quaint feel of the rooms, the Inn, and the area. We love that it is in the heart of Blowing Rock so that we can walk to restaurants, shops, and the park. Great place with friendly staff!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Alisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abby7987, Owner at Hemlock Inn, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
It really means a lot to us to read a kind review from one of our repeat guest. We are glad you enjoy staying with us and hope to see you soon. We have several events coming up soon that you may enjoy. Blowing Rock Winterfest is first than Blue Ridge Wine Festival is in April. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We've stayed here several times each year, for the past few years. It's probably the best value option in the area. The prices are among the lowest, and the location is right in the middle of everything, making walking easy. The rooms are a little on the small and dated side, but who vacations to stay in the room? Always clean, and the staff is quick to provide anything we needed. If I had one complaint it would be that the mattress was too hard. On our last stay, we wanted to mail a postcard to my mom, and asked where the post office was. The manager quickly offered, "Oh, I'll mail it" I said I didn't have a stamp, and she said, "No problem, I've got one upstairs." She even insisted that I didn't need to pay for the postage. A small gesture, but very appreciated. So nice!

Room Tip: The murphy rooms are a good value if you're a single person, or don't mind sleeping close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abby7987, Owner at Hemlock Inn, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for your kind review of us. It really means a lot to us to hear from our repeat guest. We hope to see you soon on your next return to the Inn. Again thanks for the kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The stay was great. Blowing Rock is a small town located near several ski slopes. Hemlock Inn was very nice and was within walking distance (3 mins away) from restaurants, art galleries and other shops. Very Close to the Blue Ridge Parkway too. I will definitely go back and stay here. Oh yeah -they upgraded me when I arrived with my son. Reminded me of a bed and breakfast type place.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Erik R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abby7987, Owner at Hemlock Inn, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are glad we were able to upgrade you to a larger room for you and your son. We have a lot of families that stay with us and it is important we make everyone comfortable. We hope to see you soon. Remember our repeat guest get 10% off on their next stay. Thanks again for you nice review, it really means a lot to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngsville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2014

First off I never write reviews.. on anything, but I seriously felt it necessary to write this review. I planned a weekend away for my wife and I and chose the Hemlock Inn based on customer reviews and the pictures on TripAdvisor. I wanted something in Blowing Rock, in walking distance to shops and dining but not a chain Hotel/Motel. The Hemlock Inn seemed perfect. I must say that the room was clean, the bed was comfortable and the staff was pleasant. However, I felt like I was staying at my grandmothers house. The decor of the room was completely awful and not very 'romantic' at all. The room took FOREVER to get warm and once it did it was too hot. We were either freezing or burning up. The bathroom however, was always cold. The place is old which meant you could hear EVERYTHING. I ended up having to go to Walmart in nearby Boone a few hours after we arrived to pick up a fan for noise while sleeping to drown out what was going on around us. But even with the fan we were awakened Sunday morning at 6:45 to what sounded like movers or a heard of wild cattle. It went on for over an hour and was extremely annoying. The room we were in, as well as the other room we looked at, could seriously benefit from a coat of paint (and remove the hideous border on the wall that was never really in style), new curtains and some update wall art. Overall it's not a 'bad' place to stay, just not right for the price. I would not return to the Hemlock Inn and I would not recommend it to friends or family. My advice is to look around in the area, there are much nicer places for around the same price.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abby7987, Owner at Hemlock Inn, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for your review. We have two rooms on schedule for complete remodel for end of February. I don't know what room you were in but probably the one for remodel. We do have most of our rooms already updated , maybe you can give us another try for a different room that you may like better. You can see the inside of all our rooms on the web site. We hope you had a good time in Blowing Rock and a Happy Anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arden, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Really love staying here. Shops are within walking distance, great places to eat, and great atmosphere. Big problem however....Beds were very uncomfortable, very poor sleep for all in our group!! Stayed here last year, different room and had no problems.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mildred b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abby7987, Owner at Hemlock Inn, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We treasure our repeat guest. All of our mattaras are within three years old. We do have extra supports for the beds that are in our two room suites. That may make them feel harder. These suites sometimes really great the work out with big groups. We hope you can come and join us for the Winterfest we have coming up soon. And remember our repeat guest get 10% off on the next stay. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
0.3 mi away
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
#9 of 15 in Blowing Rock
275 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
430 reviews
0.2 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
#6 of 15 in Blowing Rock
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Boxwood Lodge
Boxwood Lodge
#8 of 15 in Blowing Rock
109 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 15 in Blowing Rock
591 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ridgeway Inn
Ridgeway Inn
#10 of 15 in Blowing Rock
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hemlock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hemlock Inn

Property: Hemlock Inn
Address: 134 Morris St, PO Box 422, Blowing Rock, NC 28605-9026
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Blowing Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hemlock Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A Blowing Rock Tradition," open all year. One of downtown's best locations. One building off main street, walking distance to shops, restaurants, and city park. Kings, queens, double kings and two room suites. All rooms have cable TV, A/C, phone, microwaves, refrigerator, coffee pot and wireless. All non smoking rooms, no pets allowed. Gazebo with sitting area and fountain outside. Come join us for your mountain adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Hemlock Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hemlock Hotel Blowing Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing