We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"AWESOME"”
Review of Hemlock Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hemlock Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Blowing Rock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Our family visited Blowing Rock on 11/8/13, our stay was very pleasant. The rooms were very warm, clean and cozy. The convience to the main street shops is "awesome", park at the Inn and walk to main street, no need to stress over finding a place to park to shop.....all within walking distance as our some of the best restaurants. I have stayed here several times and will continue to do so. ALWAYS a great experience!

Room Tip: Traveling with the in-laws we decided on an adjoining room, which was pleasant for both parties. The...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sherrie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abby7987, Owner at Hemlock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind review. We are happy you have stayed with us many times. Our repeat guest are very special to us. May sure you have a preferred guest card so you can earn points for fun stuff to do. Thanks again for your kind words, they really mean a lot to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (400)
There are newer reviews for Hemlock Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

361 - 367 of 400 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2013

We did love the location of hemlock! My husband and I typically do not write negative reviews but the bed was awful. We barely had any room to set our luggage yet we had a kitchen? We actually stayed in a room with a Murphy bed my husband got no sleep. We decided we'd spend a little more for a better nights rest! Overall I'd say 2 out if 5 stars

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jstanley1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abby7987, Owner at Hemlock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Thank you for writing a review. You stayed in one of our Murphy rooms, which is part of the two room suite. If only the two beds are reserved than the Murphy room is left. This room is usually the last to rent and the least expensive because it is small. This room only has a full size bed. If a guest is tall or large or use to a larger bed , they probably will not like this room. We do have couples that request these rooms. We also have business travelers request this room. We have had business travelers stay up to six weeks in this Murphy room. They can come in fix them something to eat in the full kitchen and go back to work. We hope you give us another try in the future, we do have many other larger rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We chose the Hemlock Inn due to reviews on this site. We stayed in room #20 which was very nice. It was clean, the beds were comfortable and the staff was great. I rate this room a 6 out of 10 due to the fact that there is no window covering other than the blinds. This is a corner room with tall windows that have no cover at the top. The street lights and the motion lights at the Motel across the street keep the room lighted all night. I will definitely stay here again, but will request any room but #20. It is the best location to restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unclecheesefl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abby7987, Owner at Hemlock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for your great review. We are happy you had such a great time in Blowing Rock. Maybe
on your next stay try room #18. It is up stairs just like room 20 but with our the big window. Room 20 is one of our most popular rooms. Most guest love the big window. We have some guest that stay with us only if they can stay in room 20. So I guest room 20 is a matter of preference.
Hope to see you soon on your next stay in Blowing Rock.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Having never been to Blowing Rock before, we booked this hotel based on other reviews! It was definitely not a disappointment. The room was well kept and the bathroom was very large. It was close to the shops, but off the main street. The only thing that seemed to be a problem was parking, there didn't seem to be enough of it. Would definitely stay here on a return trip!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coley303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abby7987, Owner at Hemlock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. We hope you had a great time in Blowing Rock. We know the parking lot was a little crowded when you were there but we had some families with extra vehicles. Being so close to ASU campus, the students sometimes come and spend the night with their parents. Hope to see you on your next return to Blowing Rock.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The staff was very friendly and helpful. They had great suggestions for restaurants nearby. The Hemlock Inn is a perfect location for walking to all the great shops and restaurants in Blowing Rock. The rooms are clean, decorated beautifully and the beds were very comfortable. You won't be disapointed choosing The Hemlock Inn.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Carla Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abby7987, Owner at Hemlock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Thank you for your great review, it really means a lot to us. We are glad that the group of girls had a great time in Blowing Rock. We get a lot of girl groups just shopping and escaping the every day mommie routine. Hope to see you soon on your next visit to Blowing Rock.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We just stayed on night but enjoyed being able to walk to the downtown area. The bed slept good and the place was very clean. The hotel is just a short walk to shops and restaurants. Great place to stay for a few nights.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Fulps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abby7987, Owner at Hemlock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. We hope you enjoyed your time in Blowing Rock. Hope you can visit another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Love this place and Blowing Rock, NC. The Hemlock Inn is locally owned (a BIG plus in my book) and is within walking distance to all the locally owned town shops and pubs. The Hemlock Inn is such a lovely place to stay for a couples weekend and/or groups because of the common areas and the "at home" feeling of the place. At the last minute my husband and I decided to take a motorcycle road trip from Atlanta area up the Blue Ridge Parkway to Blowing Rock. Not staying here before, we didn't know what to expect. We were wonderfully surprised by everything! There are no chain stores, hotels, etc.... We will definitely stay here again and next time bring a crowd!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank NotSoFunny_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abby7987, Owner at Hemlock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thank you for your words. We are glad you had such a great time. We have many small groups and couples stay with us when riding their motorcycles. Some as far away as Nova Scotia. We are here year round, so when ever you want to ride back. Thanks again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
0.3 mi away
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
#8 of 15 in Blowing Rock
285 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ridgeway Inn
Ridgeway Inn
#11 of 15 in Blowing Rock
233 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
0.2 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn
Meadowbrook Inn
#7 of 15 in Blowing Rock
361 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 15 in Blowing Rock
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hemlock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hemlock Inn

Address: 134 Morris St, PO Box 422, Blowing Rock, NC 28605-9026
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Blowing Rock
Price Range: $89 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hemlock Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A Blowing Rock Tradition," open all year. One of downtown's best locations. One building off main street, walking distance to shops, restaurants, and city park. Kings, queens, double kings and two room suites. All rooms have cable TV, A/C, phone, microwaves, refrigerator, coffee pot and wireless. All non smoking rooms, no pets allowed. Gazebo with sitting area and fountain outside. Come join us for your mountain adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hemlock Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hemlock Hotel Blowing Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing