We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Hemlock Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hemlock Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Blowing Rock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fleming Island, Florida
2 reviews
“Great location”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We chose the Hemlock Inn due to reviews on this site. We stayed in room #20 which was very nice. It was clean, the beds were comfortable and the staff was great. I rate this room a 6 out of 10 due to the fact that there is no window covering other than the blinds. This is a corner room with tall windows that have no cover at the top. The street lights and the motion lights at the Motel across the street keep the room lighted all night. I will definitely stay here again, but will request any room but #20. It is the best location to restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unclecheesefl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abby7987, Owner at Hemlock Inn, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your great review. We are happy you had such a great time in Blowing Rock. Maybe
on your next stay try room #18. It is up stairs just like room 20 but with our the big window. Room 20 is one of our most popular rooms. Most guest love the big window. We have some guest that stay with us only if they can stay in room 20. So I guest room 20 is a matter of preference.
Hope to see you soon on your next stay in Blowing Rock.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    99
    16
    5
    3
See reviews for
82
206
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Having never been to Blowing Rock before, we booked this hotel based on other reviews! It was definitely not a disappointment. The room was well kept and the bathroom was very large. It was close to the shops, but off the main street. The only thing that seemed to be a problem was parking, there didn't seem to be enough of it. Would definitely stay here on a return trip!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coley303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abby7987, Owner at Hemlock Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We hope you had a great time in Blowing Rock. We know the parking lot was a little crowded when you were there but we had some families with extra vehicles. Being so close to ASU campus, the students sometimes come and spend the night with their parents. Hope to see you on your next return to Blowing Rock.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The staff was very friendly and helpful. They had great suggestions for restaurants nearby. The Hemlock Inn is a perfect location for walking to all the great shops and restaurants in Blowing Rock. The rooms are clean, decorated beautifully and the beds were very comfortable. You won't be disapointed choosing The Hemlock Inn.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carla Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abby7987, Owner at Hemlock Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for your great review, it really means a lot to us. We are glad that the group of girls had a great time in Blowing Rock. We get a lot of girl groups just shopping and escaping the every day mommie routine. Hope to see you soon on your next visit to Blowing Rock.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walkertown, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We just stayed on night but enjoyed being able to walk to the downtown area. The bed slept good and the place was very clean. The hotel is just a short walk to shops and restaurants. Great place to stay for a few nights.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Fulps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abby7987, Owner at Hemlock Inn, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We hope you enjoyed your time in Blowing Rock. Hope you can visit another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Love this place and Blowing Rock, NC. The Hemlock Inn is locally owned (a BIG plus in my book) and is within walking distance to all the locally owned town shops and pubs. The Hemlock Inn is such a lovely place to stay for a couples weekend and/or groups because of the common areas and the "at home" feeling of the place. At the last minute my husband and I decided to take a motorcycle road trip from Atlanta area up the Blue Ridge Parkway to Blowing Rock. Not staying here before, we didn't know what to expect. We were wonderfully surprised by everything! There are no chain stores, hotels, etc.... We will definitely stay here again and next time bring a crowd!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank NotSoFunny_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abby7987, Owner at Hemlock Inn, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for your words. We are glad you had such a great time. We have many small groups and couples stay with us when riding their motorcycles. Some as far away as Nova Scotia. We are here year round, so when ever you want to ride back. Thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reidsville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I wanted an economical get-a-way for myself. I love the Blowing Rock area but usually visit with family and friends. The Hemlock was less than a block from my favorite stores and so very convenient. I felt extremely safe in this location and room was just perfect and very clean. There was also a outside area with flowers, chairs and benches for enjoying the beautiful fall weather. Would definitely stay here again.

Donna T

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank donna t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abby7987, Owner at Hemlock Inn, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are happy that you had such a great time in Blowing Rock. Yes we are located one building off Main Street. You can just park your car for the weekend and walk to shops,restaurants,and activities. Hope to see you soon. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We had a great stay in Blowing Rock. It's a quaint town with a variety of stores and eateries with friendly folks. The Helmock Inn had friendly, helpful staff and a clean, quiet room with a very large bathroom (plus great soap). It was easy walking distance to everything in town. An outdoor fire pit would make it a 5 star! We plan to return next year to do some back country motorcycle riding...and we hope there will be a fire pit available!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Itchyvermin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abby7987, Owner at Hemlock Inn, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. This really means a lot to us at Hemlock Inn. We are glad you had a good time in Blowing Rock. Blowing Rock has lots of year round events. Check our calendar of events for up coming activities. We will see what can do about the fire pit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
0.3 mi away
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
#9 of 15 in Blowing Rock
275 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
428 reviews
0.2 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
#4 of 15 in Blowing Rock
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Boxwood Lodge
Boxwood Lodge
#8 of 15 in Blowing Rock
108 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 15 in Blowing Rock
589 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ridgeway Inn
Ridgeway Inn
#10 of 15 in Blowing Rock
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hemlock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hemlock Inn

Property: Hemlock Inn
Address: 134 Morris St, PO Box 422, Blowing Rock, NC 28605-9026
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Blowing Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hemlock Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A Blowing Rock Tradition," open all year. One of downtown's best locations. One building off main street, walking distance to shops, restaurants, and city park. Kings, queens, double kings and two room suites. All rooms have cable TV, A/C, phone, microwaves, refrigerator, coffee pot and wireless. All non smoking rooms, no pets allowed. Gazebo with sitting area and fountain outside. Come join us for your mountain adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and HRS so you can book your Hemlock Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hemlock Hotel Blowing Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing