We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hemlock Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Meadowbrook Inn(Blowing Rock)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boxwood Lodge(Blowing Rock)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (480)
Filter reviews
480 results
Traveler rating
331
116
23
6
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
331
116
23
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationfire pitwithin walking distancemain streetshops and restaurantsquaint hotelgreat place to stayrecommend staying hererooms are cleanhalf blockheart of blowing rockqueen roomdefinitely stay here againstaff was very friendly and helpfulenjoyed our staychain hotelspleasant stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
464 - 469 of 480 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We loved the super convenient location of the Hemlock, easy walking distance to main street (charming shops and restaurants). -ONLY used our vehicle to drive up to the Parkway for hiking trips. The owner was very friendly and shared great "tips" about stuff to see and do. From the outside the Inn is totally charming and perfect for a quaint mountain town. Although the rooms were clean and had their own charm, they really could stand some updating: curtains and wallpaper border unpleasant for anyone under the age of 70. The beds were super firm #hard, T.V.s tiny and poor quality. Some rooms lacking 2 bedside tables or 2 bedside lamps (only ONE of you gets to read at night and/or put your glasses etc... down on a table.) All in all our experience at the Hemlock was a pleasant one, it could just stand some improvements before next time. :)

Room Tip: room #9, although very spacious, had poor internet reception and poor heating system, whereas room #10 was great on both of those aspects.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melanie063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abby7987, Owner at Hemlock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Room 9 is getting remodeled in the Spring of 2013. Thank you for visiting us, hope to see you again...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Have stayed at the Hemlock about 5 times. They have always bent over backwards to ensure my visit was fun and comfortable. One snowy night the owner stayed on the phone with me for half hour to guide me to the Hemlock. It was snowing so hard I could not recognize old familiar landmarks and he vectored me safely by telling me terrific directions. I have no need to stay anywhere else. Donna and husband are great people!
Bill G.
West Los Angeles, California

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank williampg2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I hate to say anything bad about this place, because everyone we met who works here is very nice and quite informative. The place is in a GREAT location. Park the car and walk! We feel that since it is in SUCH a good location, the owner doesn't feel a need to renovate because people will stay here anyways. The bed was VERY comfortable. By far the best thing about the room. But everything else was so dated it was like walking into a time warp where there was mass confusion. Flowered wall border, plaid curtains, aztec carpets, brown paneling everywhere.
When you first walk in the place you are hit with the smell of Murphey's oil soap. Even the linens had the same smell. The bathroom also had a foul odor, but I couldn't locate it's source.
We most likely wouldn't choose this place again. There aren't many options in the area, but if we have to drive a bit to get to Blowing Rock , or spend a bit more money, that's what we'll do.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abby7987, Owner at Hemlock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Thank you for your review. The room you are referring to is a king suite, in our historic section, built in 1930's. We did restore this room a couple years ago but did not restore it to the 21st century. We chose to retain its origin. The brown paneling you are referring to is really tongue and grove ponderosa pine walls, in which we refinished instead of replacing. The room has a new ceiling, and kitchen and bathroom floors. The room has refinished solid oak hardwood floors, which are beautiful. The bed is a white wash and oak bed which look very nice with all the wood, and the mattress is new. The window is very large and the curtain was handmade in a soft olive with tiny lines of gold, dark green and wine, this looks good against the wood walls. The quilt has floral design with the same colors of the curtains and the rug has the same color of the curtain. The murphy oil soap is what we clean all the solid woods. Maybe you were looking for something more modern. This room is very, very poplar with our repeat guest. We do have a new building in which the rooms are more modern, maybe next time you can try one of those. Hope you had a good time in Blowing Rock, hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We were on our way to Asheville, no particular schedule (gotta love that!) and decided to get off the parkway in Blocking Rock. Stumbled across the Hemlock and couldn't have been happier. Casual, small, just what we needed. And everyoen was so nice, even all of the guests. Great breakfast recommendation too but I can't remember the name of the place - sorry

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Boomerandlibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

The town of Blowing Rock is still a holdout from chain motels and restaurants. It's a place where lodgings don't have room service, etc. Anyone who misses such amenities may not enjoy this destination in the first place. When you look at a map of the town, the inn appears to be a little off the main drag, but we were pleased to find it's not. You merely walk past a couple of buildings up the street and you are in the center of things. We were traveling with children and needed separate beds for them. We were able to have an adjoining arrangement that came with a mini-kitchen on one wall. From what we saw, coming and going through town, this is typical of what's available. The accommodations are like something of another era in a good way. You see beautiful flowers abloom all around. The Hemlock is rustic looking outside and homey inside. The ceilings in our rooms were quite high. We stayed on the second floor. The room with two queen beds was spacious and attractive. No problem with noise. Very warm weather for this time of year in the mountains but the a/c (in wall) worked well. The sinks were pedestal style but a small shelf unit was fine for storing toiletries. The office staff were attentive and asked if we needed anything like extra pillows or blankets. Even if I wanted to gripe I can't think of anything to grip about. Now that we've been here we know where to return. Convenience in this location is basic to enjoying Blowing Rock. Walking the town in daytime or night, trying out the local cafes and restaurants, getting a cone at the local ice cream place, . browsing the little shops, is a part of the being there. From the Hemlock it is only a few minutes to the bigger town of Boone and the Blue Ridge Parkway, Tweetsie Railroad, and the Blowing Rock itself.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank gogogirlsouthland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews